We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay in private villa near Kandy”
Review of The Weir House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Weir House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ulapane B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Weir house is a private holiday home that is rented out when the owners are absent. We received a warm welcome from Lucian who manages the home with the help of a cook and house boy who were also on hand to greet us with the best cold watermelon/lime drink of our trip.

We had our choice of 3 rooms and choose the one that was off of the living room. As with all of our hotels in Sri Lanka the lighting is dim so you may want to bring a flashlight for reading.

There is a good selection of books and a wonderful swing in the living room you can relax in. There are a lot of DVDs available and we watched several movies.

We took a long walk to the weir and also in the other direction to the main road observing the colorful village life along the way. My husband had a swim in the pool that overlooks the green valley.

The food was superb. The chef made a wonderful seafood soup in coconut milk as well as other traditional food such as 8 dish fish curry and hoppers for breakfast. We enjoyed our 2 nights at Weir house and highly recommend it for a tranquil stop in bustling Sri Lanka

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weir-House, Owner at The Weir House, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Weir House. Thank you for your wonderful comments on the food and the juice that was served during your stay. We look forward to seeing you at the Weir House again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for The Weir House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed three nights at Weir House. It was great - Lucien and his team were welcoming and informative, the rooms were fabulous as was the food and the location, tucked away in the hills, is wonderful. We enjoyed being showed around the coffee and pepper plantation,taking a dip in the river and sharing time in the sumptuous surroundings. Although Lucien didn't organise our trips while we were there, he certainly could have done, so you could easily turn to him for advice on tea plantation/factory visits and other local attractions. For me, the only downside was the weather and the fact that it made everything damp - but we wont hold that against Weir House.

Room Tip: I personally preferred the bedroom which gave onto the garden, but they were all lovely
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LokiLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weir-House, Owner at The Weir House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about the Weir House. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and liked the tours around the area. We hope we see you again some day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We cannot recommend the Weir House highly enough. From the moment we arrived at this gorgeous, elegant place, we were made to feel completely at home. Lucien and all the staff could not have done more to welcome us. Lesley's cooking was fabulous, utterly delicious. Each meal was such a treat. And Lucien's kindness in showing us around the pepper plantation, talking to us about all the plants, pointing out a deer, walking with us to the weir and generally making us feel relaxed and happy was way, way beyond the call of duty. Our stay at the Weir House was one of the true highlights of our time in Sri Lanka. We stayed 3 nights but were extremely sad to leave and wish we could have stayed much longer. Next time we will definitely go for longer and just relax into the calm, homely atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The wier house was such an amazing place to spend with our friends. we had a few extra people and they were so accommodating! the food was amazing, the staff were so kind and helpful and we had such an enjoyable stay. i highly recommend it!
amali

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amali280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Fantastic, food , ambience, service!!!!!
The team - Host - Lucien , Chef - Lesley & Jigen looked after us with such subtle & delightful elegance, and the visit to the Tea estate &factory was amazing , thanks Lucien
We only wished we had stayed for more than 3 nights!!!
We will certainly return when we next visit Sri Lanka
Peter & charlie - Australia & sandi from Brighton UK

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed 4 days, used it as a base to travel round the area (elephants, tea plantations etc). Modern house, furnished a bit chintz but great rooms & clean. Food was good - the cook went out of his way to accomodate us/kids. The house/location is a bit dark between the valleys and we didnt have great weather so everything was a bit damp. But that said, the one day we stayed at home the sun shone, we had a lovely walk round the gardens & chilled by the pool. V nice staff who went out of their way to look after us. We liked it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendog999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The only hesitation I have about recommending 'The Weir House' is that I want to keep this place all to myself once the word gets around, this place, I'm sure, will be fully booked all year round.
Everything the previous reveiwers have said is absolutley spot on and having read the guest book this appears to have been the case since the house opened its doors to guests.
The owners have done a fantastic job in all aspects from decor, landscaping and choosing the staff, the feeling one gets when one stays here is that, they (owners and staff), just want to share the whole experience with others.
I would add to the other comments that the atmosphere, as well as being calm and relaxing, is 'nurturing' without one really being aware of it.
Fantastic for birdwatchers and countryside lovers, fantastic for those just wanting to relax and be waited on hand and foot! Fantastic, I would say, for children - a pool, a river/stream,a bedroom away from the parents if wanted and a T.V. with DVD's....
Fantastic for culinary delights both Asian and Western.
Well done to all concerned I think a few other 'boutique places' should come and see how it should be done.

Linda Clark ( Shanghai PRC)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Weir House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weir House

Address: 242/8 Kandawatte, Ulapane 20562, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Ulapane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ulapane
Price Range: $113 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Kandy region, the Weir House is the perfect getaway for a family or a group of friends. The Weir House's location ensures that you can enjoy all that the surrounding areas offer -- from the cultural sites of Kandy and Peradeniya to activities such as river-rafting in Kitulgala or climbing Adam's Peak. The Weir House can only be booked as a whole house allowing you the privacy and quiet that you deserve while on holiday. The house can accommodate up to 10 guests and we offer tiered rates based on the number of people in your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Weir House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weir House Sri Lanka/Ulapane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing