We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights camping at the Castle Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pengenffordd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Pengenffordd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two nights camping at the Castle Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Three of us camped in the field for a couple of nights this weekend. Facilities are exactly as advertised - basic and straightforward but clean, tidy and good value. We didn't eat in the pub as we like to cook our own grub as part of the camping trip, but the menu looked tasty and varied. On both evenings we had a few drinks in the pub. There's a great atmosphere, the beer's good and the customers and the landlord are all really friendly.

Nice big warm fire, good interesting conversation and decent drinks. Not quite sure what else you'd want really? Second time we've stayed this year, just as good the first time. Really nice walks right out from the campsite. This is a place with a real personality and not just your usual identikit place.Thanks for a really enjoyable weekend. Cheers, Alex.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Alex, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you and your friends in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was part of a team who came to this area to support a major scout event in the Black Mountains.
Although the Hotel is not normally open at all times in October, we were made welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The place is very clean, several ales at the bar and some history for this establishment, just downhill from the oldest castle in wales.
The food was excellent, freshly cooked and when we had to go up in the hills at 5 o'clock in the morning, the hostess was up with coffeee, toast and bacon rolls.
I'm looking forward to going back there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

We really enjoyed your groups stay with us, and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in the Bunkhouses as part of a large party of Scout Leaders (I was in the RAYNET Group). Our hosts were fantastic and the full breakfasts were just the thing we needed on those wet and windy days. The evening meals were legendary, especially the pies and anything served on the lava stones, and the local ale really went down well after long days in the hills. Considering there were 28 of us (when complete) the food never took long to arrive and our hosts willingness to feed us all bacon sandwiches and bucket loads of hot tea at 05:30 on the Saturday and Sunday mornings was so much appreciated!

Great bunkhouses which are very warm and comfortable, nice wet rooms which were much appreciated after cold and wet days on the hills, and clean bedding made for a pleasant stay.

Very well done mine hosts. I will look forward to a return visit perhaps in the B&B.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your very complimentary review.
I'd like to say that we found your entire group very easy to cater for, you were considerate and very appreciative. Many thanks for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent cannot fault the hospitality we received, the room was spotless and clean towels daily! The food was excellent and the fire was lovely in the evening. Our hosts could not be more accommodating and every effort was made to ensure we enjoyed our stay. When the weather turned Jill was full of ideas for days out. There is a variety of accommodation on offer, from B&B rooms to a Bunk House and camping. There are some lovely walks on your doorstep and this makes a great location for activity breaks in the Brecon Beacons, whether that be walking, canoeing, mountain biking, horse riding etc etc. In addition Brecon and Hay-on-Wye are only a short drive away and will keep you occupied for a few hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We particularly value the views of customers who have stayed with us, eaten with us and drank our ales, and then gone to the trouble of posting a review of their experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I first ate here about 18 months ago as part of a walking weekend where we camped on the adjacent site.

We were looking for somewhere to eat last night while staying in Abergavenny and the castle sprang into my mind (with a little help from Google to remind me what it was called!

When phoning to enquire about the sizzling steaks that you cook on a lava stone I was told apologetically that the choice was limited to sirloin or lamb. We decided to give it a go and were welcomed by a roaring fire in the bar and a friendly host.

Despite my wife changing her mind after we had ordered we soon received a lovely piece of sirloin along with hot lava stone, chips and salad etc and my wife's steak pie with jacket. Very good food in relaxed environment that welcomed us and our dogs.

I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutland1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Our locally sourced steaks continue to be very popular with all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As always, we have a great time when we visit your fantastic pub. Great news (for those who don't know), but they have finally been granted planning permission for the already existent patio. Ahmed is indeed a happy bunny, and quite rightly so.

My mate Paul and I love this place, as the food is top drawer, the beer is ace, and the choice of optics always favourable. All they need now is Martini, Bitter Lemon and Gold Label to make The Castle Inn truly World Class.

Keep up the great work.

Julian

Room Tip: No pool or Fitness centre, but if they did it would be 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Julian, we are really pleased that yourself and Paul enjoyed your stay with us. It was very kind of you to make the time to write a review. We always enjoy your stay with us - who knows there maybe kippers for breakfast next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have to say this is a fantastic pub. We normally come up from Devon every Autumn and stay in the cottage down the road as a large group, and the location of this pub couldn't be better as it's virtually at the end of the drive! I first found this place on my Stag do 5 years ago (haven't tried the top shelf since then, things have been a bit more civilised!). There is a good size car par next door, with some fantastic walks over the Brecon Beacons from the footpath. As soon as you enter, you are greeted with a warm welcome by a great bar team (usually a fair bit of banter too :). They have a great selection of ales to get you started, a big log fire to warm you up after a hefty trek and a decent size area to eat in. The owners were always lovely and let us sneak our friends Border Terrier in if he was quiet and well behaved (at their discretion depending on how busy it was). The food is proper, local hearty meaty stuff. Really well cooked (you decide how you want your steak done as it comes out on a sizzling 400 degrees lava stone :) Good hearty puds, and a great way to get together if you have a group of friends (even have a few games/books on the shelves to browse if the weathers duff). Crickhowell is a lovely place just down the road (good butchers), with some nice coffee shops, and a dept store too. The boys normally go shooting at Woodland Park Shooting Ground, and the girls go to the spa at Peterstone Court. Good area for Salmon/Trout fishing on the Usk too, nice stretch at Crickhowell. Sadly our friends (crazy blonde Devon lady with the border terrier/tall solicitor) have split up, so we haven't been here for a couple of years. Hoping to come back soon though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleinn96, Owner at The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the trouble of writing a review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pengenffordd
8.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
14.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.8 mi away
Pen-y Bryn Guest House
Pen-y Bryn Guest House
#1 of 4 in Llangorse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse

Property: The Dragons Back & Bunkhouse
Address: Pengenffordd, Pengenffordd, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 0EP, Wales (Formerly The Castle Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Pengenffordd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pengenffordd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragons Back (formerly The Castle Inn) is located at over 1000ft above sea level, (the highest pub in the Brecon Beacons National Park ) in a beautiful valley in The Black Mountains. We also have bunkhouse accommodation for up to 28 guests with a brand new dining kitchen for the use of bunkhouse guests, & a small camp site. We also have a shepherds hut with it's own private bathroom and access to the dining kitchen. We serve excellent home-cooked food at reasonable prices, well-kept real ales are always available & we have a lovely log fire to keep you warm. You can go on stunning walks/rides straight from the door. If you can do it outside, then you can almost certainly do it here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Pengenffordd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing