We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful restored barn”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Saint-Martial-de-Nabirat, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Clayroad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful restored barn”
Reviewed September 28, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had the pleasure to be staying for two weeks at the beautiful restored barn from Paul & Helen Donaghy! Peaceful and beautiful surroundings with all the facilities you need during your holiday ! Lovely hosts who do respect your privacy, but are always willing to help you an d cone up with suggestions what you could do in the Dordogne! We highly recommended this holiday spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2018
Thank you both so much for your truly kind comments.
Paul and Helen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morsnet
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Location - Great Hosts”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed for a week as a family of four and really enjoyed the quietness. The Barn had all we were looking for with Paul and Helen thinking of everything making all the difference. We had sole use of the pool which made it the base for activity - or lack of activity. Supermarket and Bakery are not far away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Great guests and we are really pleased that they had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are most grateful that you left the gite so immaculate. Thank you.
Paul and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Art-1573
Barnet, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and 9 Year old son had a lovely peaceful stay here recently.
The accommodation was very comfortable and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a quiet and rural setting though a car is essential to get about.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Thanks so much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I didn't really think we would get much of a relaxing holiday as we were travelling with a 16-month-old. I was wrong. This is the perfect place to stay if you are on holiday with young kids. The barn comes complete with a big box of toys, stairgates, high chair, cot, baby swing and other baby essentials.
Of course, with the temperature hitting 40 degrees while we were staying there, all we really cared about was the pool, which was amazing.
Paul and Helen are fantastic hosts, very helpful and friendly and really have thought of everything.
The cottage is a five minute drive from the nearest village, but that didn't bother us. It was a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.
And there are so many amazing things to visit in the area: dramatic castles, beautiful gardens, pretty towns, all within a 20-minute drive. The furthest we travelled was a journey of an hour to reach the Foret De Singes, where you could feed popcorn to monkeys!
We will remember our pleasant evenings sat at the outside table sampling the local vin rouge for a very long time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggienma...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful restored barn - Perfect location”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned home after staying at Les Cordonniers for 2 weeks. This lovely renovated barn had everything you could possibly need. The property description on Trip Advisor is perfect, as is the location. The owners Paul & Helen live in the farmhouse and were available anytime if needed but at the same time were not intrusive. They are a lovely couple who went out of their way to make our holiday enjoyable & memorable. Helen even giving us some freshly baked cakes and home grown veg and Paul taking my husband on some sight-seeing cycle rides whist I relaxed by the exclusive pool. Even Bella their dog, took us on some local walks and Thomas their cat joined us every evening after smelling our BBQ. Paul, Helen Bella & Thomas - all brilliant hosts! Stunning scenery and local villages/towns with a short drive. Ideal location on the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikandnat
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific place to stay!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have 3 children 4 and under and it was fabulous for all of us. Paul and Helen were very helpful from the very beginning and really generous and hospitable. The kids really took to them and enjoyed becoming friends. They bent over backwards for us in providing all that we needed and information on the area.
The Gite is full of character and has everything you would need.....even with a young family. Loads of toys, books and a craft station!! Also stair gates, high chair, outdoor toys, swing and slide and the pool was very safe. The gite is in a tiny Hamlet surrounded by farmland and really very peaceful. The area itself is beautiful and has lots of things to do and see within a short distance drive. Its a great area to cycle and canoe. Near by Roque-Gageac has a good one hour boat trip taking in some Chateaus and The Gardens of Marqueyssac was great for kids with play areas and a mask making station. Fabulous toy shop in Domme! We would HIGHLY recommend staying here. We would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed and peaceful place
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing