We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Jungle”
Review of Rio Bec Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Bec Dreams
Ranked #1 of 2 Calakmul B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2014

When touring the southern Maya route of the Yucatan, this is THE place to stay! the atmosphere is minimal jungle and the access to Calakmul, the Bat Cave and Becan ruins is easy to get to from Rio Bec Dreams.

Room Tip: lovely owners who make the stay extra fun and they are very accommodating and helpful with info abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEADSHOTSphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice place "in the middle of nowhere" run by a friendly Canadian couple. We stayed for 2 nights to visit Calakmul Maya site. The place offers a nice restaurant and bar with freshly made food and cocktails. It´s quite expensive though due to its remote location and no options nearby. And they only take cash (due to unreliable signals).
We had a nice cabin with 2 bedrooms, sitting area with coffee maker and nice bathroom. At the bar there is wifi.

Unfortunately there aren´t many accommodations options for a visit to Calakmul. From Rio Bec it´s around a 2 hour drive!!!! It´s a bad road, so don´t be fooled by the kilometer distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We arrive late, the only room available was the most expensive, it was ok but not a good value for money.The greeting was not the best, in that area there are no many places so the owner told us that there were no many options and we needed to get what they have.
Restaurant was not good and also overpriced, portion was poor too.
We chose this place cos was close to Calakmul, I would suggest to stop in some place in Escarcega if you come from Campeche if you wanna go to Calakmul or Xpuhil if come from the other side

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We (2 adults + 1 child) spent two nights there. It's hard to describe it but that place has an unique charm. It's most likely a combination of location and the owners' effort.
Very good starting point when you want visit places around. We would stay here again.

Pros:
- Nice location among trees - it was not absolutely silent but the road wasn't a problem (we love silence). Wild life around.
- Cabanas built in certain distance from each other
- Pleasant cabana Calakmul
- Great breakfast - we took American style eggs (scrambled eggs with tomatoes and champignones)
- Helpful, kind owners and professional service

Cons:
- Lack of mosquito net. There was a mosquito-net-like curtain of decorative nature around the bed
- Shower with a weak flow

We would like to give more than 'Average' but less then 'Very Good' but it doesn't exist on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Rio Bec Dreams is a gem in the jungle. Diane and Rick are warm, hospitable, helpful, fun, and extremely knowledgable about the sites in the region. They have created an oasis of warm hospitality and service. The food is excellent and the staff is stellar.

Room Tip: The cabanas in the back of the property are ideal for sleep time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've stayed at Rio Bec Dreams almost every winter since 2008, and am as excited about the place as I was the first time I was there. I just spent 4 nights there in January. Among the reasons to visit: There are several wonderful ruins nearby (Calakmul, Becan, Hormiguero, Chicana, and others a bit further away), the birdwatching is absolutely marvelous in the area, but even more wonderful is the inn itself.
I love staying in the "Jungalows", particularly La Luna. Yes, there is some noise from the highway, but for me it is not a factor. The rooms are spotless and as comfortable as any I've stayed in in Mexico, and that's quite a few. The hosts are delightful and knowledgeable, and offer personally guided tours of the area. And the evenings are, for me, one of the main reasons to visit Rio Bec Dreams. Guests assemble at the small bar for a drink or two before dinner, and the camaraderie is as good as the best of English pubs: There is an international mix of interesting people (It seems that only interesting people stay in a place deep in the jungle like Rio Bec Dreams.), and conversation is relaxed and intelligent. Dinners are fantastic. Diane is an amazing chef, and the food is better than any other place in the southern part of the peninsula. I don't remember having any Mexican food here; It is Western/French cuisine done beautifully. If you find yourself in the area, do yourself a favor and stay at Rio Bec Dreams.

Room Tip: Not all "Jungalows" have both shower and bathroom. Inquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

There are not many places to stay in this area but who cares if you have to opportunity to stay in Rio Bec dreams. We loved this place! We had the bungalow with two bedrooms, traveling with our 3 year old boy, and really enjoyed the cosiness off it. The super clean yellow tiled bedroom, the soft towels, the parrot-curtains matching the soft sheets… We even had night lamps next to our bed! In the middle of the jungle?!! It's all about the details and Diane and Rick surely have eye for them!
The food was incredible! We bought lot's of stuff before coming over, thinking we were far away from society, but the food was amazing! All the meals are home cooked and more western orientated. And so delicious! The breakfast is the best we had and our little boy still talks about Rio Bec dreams… He still miss the little cat LJ :-).
The Maya city of Calakmul was one of the highlights of our trip! So mythical. So authentic. Instead of load of tourist the place is empty. The view on top of the big pyramid is one I will never forget...You see the monkeys jumping from one tree to an other. You have birds everywhere… I read people complaining that it's a long trip to drive?! It's a 1,5u drive into pristine jungle: you see and hear the wildlife. You have the smell of nature all around you? Birds everywhere. Can't understand people who find this boring? Any way: don't hesitate! Really can recommend the place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladymorpheus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calakmul
1.3 mi away
Chicanna Ecovillage Resort
Chicanna Ecovillage Resort
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
434 reviews
4 mi away
Casa Ka"an
Casa Ka"an
#1 of 2 in Calakmul
42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Maya Calakmul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.7 mi away
Campamento YAAX'CHE
Campamento YAAX'CHE
#2 of 2 in Calakmul
78 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mirador Maya
Mirador Maya
#2 of 3 in Xpujil Town
26 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Maya Balam
Hotel Maya Balam
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Bec Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Bec Dreams

Address: Carretera 186, Escarcega-Chetumal Km. 142, Calakmul 24640, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Calakmul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Calakmul
Price Range: $62 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the trees and orchids of our low jungle, Rio Bec Dreams is just 20 minutes from the Calakmul road. We offer 3 large cabanas and 4 smaller jungalows each with its own private bathroom and deck. Quality linens and comfortable beds combine with evening breezes to give you a great sleep. Jungalows have a double bed or 2 single beds, cabanas have a queen bed plus 1 or 2 single beds. Our professional staff is here to provide daily housekeeping, answer travel questions and provide restaurant and bar service. Our restaurant serves European, Indian and British cuisine plus a bit of Mexican and is renowned in the peninsula. Our bar is the focal point of guests' interactions. Our central garden area has mature bamboo and a dipping pool, it has been called an oasis. Safe, free parking is close to your accommodation and lit all night. Subtly lit concrete pathways keep your shoes clean and dry in the rainy season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rio Bec Dreams Hotel Calakmul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing