We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place if travelling round the Yucatan”
Review of Rio Bec Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Bec Dreams
Ranked #1 of 2 Calakmul B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place if travelling round the Yucatan”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The combination of Calakmul and Rio Bec Dreams was the highlight of our 2 weeks travelling around by hire car- as voted by our 3 teenage kids aged 18,17, 14 - 3 hours from Campeche and 4 hours back to Playa, We did not have time in 2 weeks to go all the way to Palenque (but we were told Calakmul was better by a Chilean backpacker who we gave a lift to and from the ruins.) It was amazing to be able to climb the ruins and the view from the top was priceless.

The food and accommodation was excellent and Rick and Diane were great hosts, i would recommend that you stay two nights here as it takes another 90 minutes to get to the ruins, and you don't want to rush the great breakfast! Rick and Diane gave us an excellent map to help guide us around the site as there were very few people there, they also supplied us with a packed lunch. Accommodation was in separate huts with a veranda and it was all enclosed within netting so there were no bites. There was also purified water available as well as tea and coffee in the rooms. There was a great atmosphere and i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    83
    37
    29
    15
See reviews for
56
188
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here recently at the end of July 2013. Great place, Rick and Diane are very friendly and welcoming, as are all the staff. Food is great, more european which is a good break from constant tacos elsewhere. Th location is great for the Calakmul ruins, which are amazing, a must-visit! They even have their own guide to the ruins which they happily lend out. We stayed in a cabana, which was lovely, no air-con but lots of fans and very comfy beds. Only negatives were mosquitoes, which nothing can be done about really!! Overall a brilliant stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we had 5 weeks to drive around the yucatan and rio bec dreams fits ideally into any similar trip...to cross from tulum through to palanque is 8 hours at top speed and the drive is far better broken up into 2 days with a stop at rio bec (with the option of checking out calakmul and multiple surrounding ruins)
rio bec is just off the main highway (we slept very well, no traffic noise at all) at kilometer 42 posting
we stayed twice in two different cabanas both extremely comfortable, fully insect proofed, great mattresses, kettle with tea coffee and amenities in rooms
the menu is fantastic, we ate very well and spent a few hours rambling to kate and the owners at the bar about this part of the world
excellent stay, thanks very much

Room Tip: we stayed in a cabana with private shower as well as bathroom and it was rad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seventh-Star
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this location back in January and was a bit skeptical of the location as it took us seven hours by bus and another fifteen minutes by taxi to get to. However, after a good nights sleep, a really good breakfast (served on location) and a friendly chat with one of the owners it became evident that this was going to be a great start to our vacation.
Diana, one of the owners and her friend, Dan, guided us through some of the best, and non-touristy sites in the Yucatan Peninsula. We saw Calukmul, Balumku, Becan, Hormiguero and a few others. We were even able to chat with an Archaeologist and check out some un-touched ruins. The information that these guides gave us was priceless as one could never gather this information and be able to touch, smell and experience what it could have been like during the height of these civilizations. And to top it all off, Diana, who not only is one of the owners but also the Master chef at Riobec Dreams catered to my dietary needs. We're definitely planning another trip to the area, to see even more and will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFGuyUxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great place with very friendly staff. Food is a nice change from the daily guacemole and chips else where! Junglalows are clean and nice. It' along the highway but isn't everything in Mexic ;-) Highly recommended by us, a family with kids of 11, 9 and 1 year old.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolpallandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Rio Bec for 1 night before visiting the ruins at Calakmul and would thoroughly recommend to anybody visiting the area! The hotel is somewhat out in the wilderness and so you shouldn't expect luxury here, however the beds are very comfortable, the cabanas spacious and the decor charming. The best thing about this place, however, are the lovely owners and managers of the hotel. Dianne and Kate were extremely knowledgeable of the area (both in terms of the wildlife and history) and their immense enthusiasm really does make this a special place to stay. It's a small set-up and so people seem to congregate around the bar, where Dianne and Kate were more than happy to help us identify the vast array of wildlife that we'd been lucky to see and to explain the history of the surrounding area.

Most people visiting Rio Bec are interested in seeing the ruins at Calakmul, so it's worth mentioning that the hotel is approximately a 25 minute drive from the highway exit (which leads you to the ruins). From there it's about another 15 minute drive until you get to the Calakmul camp site (initially we were under the impression this was right next to the ruins and had planned to stay there as a result, but this isn't the case), and then another 1hour and 15 until the ruins themselves. Definitely worth getting up early to be there soon after opening if you can.

All in all this is a fantastic place to stay and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked this accommodation after I read several reviews on TripAdvisor, however, we were extremely disappointed at what we found.

Firstly, Rio Bec Dreams is not in the midst of the jungle, as wrongly advertised. It is right next to the main road where lots of traffic passes event late at night. As the cabins do not have any windows, you can hear every noise. I don't mind noise from wildlife but lorries (trucks) are very loud and not something you'd expect in a jungle.

The cabinas must have been lovely when they were built newly but now they are falling apart. Several walls have massive cracks and it is just a question of time before they collapse. There is no bathroom door and the evidence of sewage was constantly present in our room (our bed was next to the bathroom). We reserved a cabina with an extra single bed as, often, the double beds are tiny and we preferred to have an extra bed in the room. However, this bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced on the whole trip, with no mosquito net above it.

The greeting was friendly when we arrived but I would not call it 'warm'. I too find the cabinas overpriced and I too believe that breakfast should have been included.

I have to say that I was positively surprised of the food which was really good but very pricey. However, I believe that tips should be voluntary and not included in the bill, as it should be the customer who decides whether or not the service was satisfactory.

In summary, I would not recommend this place as it was the worst of accommodations we stayed in during the whole trip around the peninsula.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Ross2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calakmul
1.3 mi away
Chicanna Ecovillage Resort
Chicanna Ecovillage Resort
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
419 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Maya Balam
Hotel Maya Balam
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Maya Calakmul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Casa Ka"an
Casa Ka"an
#1 of 2 in Calakmul
30 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mirador Maya
Mirador Maya
#2 of 3 in Xpujil Town
25 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cabanas chaac calakmul
Cabanas chaac calakmul
#2 of 3 in Xpujil Town
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Bec Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Bec Dreams

Property: Rio Bec Dreams
Address: Carretera 186, Escarcega-Chetumal Km. 142, Calakmul 24640, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Calakmul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Calakmul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the trees and orchids of our low jungle, Rio Bec Dreams is just 20 minutes from the Calakmul road. We offer 3 large cabanas and 4 smaller jungalows each with its own private bathroom and deck. Quality linens and comfortable beds combine with evening breezes to give you a great sleep. Jungalows have a double bed or 2 single beds, cabanas have a queen bed plus 1 or 2 single beds. Our professional staff is here to provide daily housekeeping, answer travel questions and provide restaurant and bar service. Our restaurant serves European, Indian and British cuisine plus a bit of Mexican and is renowned in the peninsula. Our bar is the focal point of guests' interactions. Our central garden area has mature bamboo and a dipping pool, it has been called an oasis. Safe, free parking is close to your accommodation and lit all night. Subtly lit concrete pathways keep your shoes clean and dry in the rainy season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rio Bec Dreams Hotel Calakmul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing