We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Amazing!!! Truly breathtaking part of the world only a few get the privilege of visiting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours

Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Calakmul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We at Ka´an Expeditions are committed in creating unforgettable experiences of interpretation and interaction with the history and nature of the region of Calakmul.Our bilingual certified naturalist guides will show you around the archaelogical sites of once the most important region of the Mayan culture, while spotting the wildlife of the 2nd most biodiversed area in the American continent, only after the Amazon.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing!!! Truly breathtaking part of the world only a few get the privilege of visiting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and go! It's a pain to get there 4 hours from playa and 5 from cancun but well worth it! September is the rainy season but it was nice and cool and the jungle was beautifully lush! Nico is fantastic well worth the effort! Take strong mossie repellent, apply liberally and often!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCTravelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Great tour guide, knowledgeable and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a couple of days camping and doing expeditions, both organised by Nico last November (only dis-organisation has prevented earlier review posting!!!). He was really easy to deal with, took us to lots of places that many tourists do not get a chance to see and really helped us with our transport to and from the Calakmul region which is a fascinating part of Mexico. His knowledge of the regions fauna is extraordinary and made birdwatchers out of us even though we live in Central London! We cannot recommend him and his company enough.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oli239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calakmul hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

very nice day hike with good explanation of the sites and well timed. Good food. Should have been a two-day visit but the roads where flooded.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico F, Propietario at Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We give our best on all of our tours, but the weather sometimes can overpass us, and theres not much we can do.. Anyway we are glad that you enjoyed the one day tour to Calakmul.

Hope you come back sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“A great tour in Calakmul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited Calakmul on March 17th of 2013.
We spent a great day with our excellent guide Nico who knows a lot about history and nature! The view from the top of the temples is just impressive!
We really recommend Ka'an expeditions! Thanks again Nico :-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico F, Propietario at Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Your comments are very important for us!

Thank you very much for trusting us during your stay in Calakmul!

Hope we can receive you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect combination of history and nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We took a Calakmul trip with Nico and were very satisfied with the whole day. Nico if very educated in Mayan history and also on birds and other nature. He explained us many interesting details about the ruins, history of mayas and also the today's life in Campeche and Mexico. I can only recommend his guided tours. Although I think that birding around Calakmul ruins was not as good as some other areas Nico recommended to us fo next day, we saw some great birds like Ocelated Turkey and King Vulture. I only missed Toucans. May be next time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico F, Propietario at Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
There´s something about nature, and its that its undecipherable. You never know. Some times you have good days with a lot of wildlife spottings, and some other days when you dont see much. But every day is special, theres always something special to remember.
Thats what we love about nature, you never know, its always a surprise.

Thank you for your comments, they are very important for us!
Hope you come back some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours also viewed

 
Xpujil Town, Campeche
 

Been to Ka'an Expeditions - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing