We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
201
163
76
28
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
163
76
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat cave howler monkeys mosquito netting hot water dry season no air conditioning bring cash jungle lodge walking trails small pool visit calakmul special place guatemalan border jungle feeling very nice place to stay convenient location to visit in retrospect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 478 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2019

A friend and I stayed here 2 nights. I was delighted to find that the shower head had vastly improved since my last stay in 2010. Love this place---the natural setting, the birds all over the grounds, the staff like Ceferino, good food, good service. Went with guide Enrique early to the ruins to see many types of birds and also Howler Monkeys sleeping in the trees. Very knowledgeable and a great guy. Recommend him highly! You can arrange a tour with him through Reception. The room was very comfortable, though you may feel like you're "glamping" due to the many screens (no worries, curtains provide privacy). This is good for hearing the Howlers between 4 & 5 a.m., but you also need to remember to talk quietly in your room, or you might be chastised by your neighbor, as we were. Sorry! :) Only downside was that the WiFi, available only in the restaurant, wasn't working during our stay. Oh, well. Another opportunity to "unplug" and "be here now."

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BahiaChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is located about 700 meters from the entrance to the Calakmul reserve. It doesnt have proper signaling so we had to ask at the entrance. If you want to be near the site this is the best option as other hotels are in a town located 60 km away. This is relevant because from the entrance to the ruins you have to travel another 60 km and about half of the route is in poor shape so it takes time.
In the hotel you have 15 cabins, a Restaurant, a small pool and some walking trails. When we were there there was no internet functioning. You have to pay in cash. The cabins are well fitted and nice very rustic with monkeys in the trees. If you are into nature this is a great place. Food at the restaurant is ok but could be better as is the only option you have. Staff is very friendly. So again best option to stay in Calakmul and great if you really want to disconnect from civilization.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Gerafrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

We wanted to go to Merida, capital of Yucatan, for a relaxing week. Then someone knowledgeable suggested to visit Calakmul, a major "detour" if you merely want to drive from Cancun to Merida. Look at the map: Calakmul is not far from the Guatemalan border. And the "Puerta" is still 60 km (1 1/2 hours one-way) from the site of the Maya ruins We had few other options if we were to visit. But, what a gem!! First the accommodation: sixteen or so grass-roofed spacious bungalows, call them huts if you wish, as long as you remember there's lots of space. There's an outdoor swimming pool and, of course, a restaurant for the bungalow-dwellers. Top-notch! You'd have to stay a week or two to exhaust the offered variety of dishes. Just imagine: you'd spend the day sightseeing, return to the Puerta reasonably tired and then feast on what the restaurant has to offer - world class in the jungle...

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank KurtHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

It isn't luxurious, but it is the kind of place you fantasize about when you're a little kid thinking about a cozy, secret cabin in the jungle. Our family of four were lucky to be there when it was dry and relatively cool since there aren't windows, just screens. Yeah, "fresh jungle air" is oxymoronic, but we all slept well; the beds are excellent, and the mosquito netting hanging from the ceiling actually adds to the fun. Terrific shower, nice little pool, and it's the most convenient possible place from which to set out for fabulous Calakmul. For people watching, there's a really interesting selection of other guests, from foreigners of various nations to rich people from Mexico City. Added bonus, the restaurant, while not fancy, is good. Don't miss the ancho margarita but remember, before you arrive, even if you've charged your stay up front, that the restaurant is cash only.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

This eco tourist-type hotel has it all. Nice rooms that add to your trip experience, a small but nice swimming pool, and a great restaurant with fresh food with a great taste. No better way to experience Calakmul than to start here!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MarioR1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews