We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
190
153
67
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
153
67
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat cave howler monkeys hot water the reserve entrance gate an early start jungle lodge mosquito net who cares visit calakmul limited menu archaeological site no air conditioning jungle feeling nature walk small pool other travelers
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 447 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018

This is the perfect location for experiencing Calakmul at its fullest. Close to the bat cave, Calakmul Biosphere reserve and Zona Arquelogica (amazing Mayan ruins). Book guides from the hotel to get the most out from your excursions.

The hotel have a simple standard, but big rooms. No air con, but fans and mosquito nets for windows. And big mosquito nets over the beds that I would recommend you to use.

The restaurant serves great food. The walls are again made out of mosquito nets, which gives a feeling of eating in the middle of the jungle. You can experience wildlife just sitting there. We had 3 foxes playing just outside both nights we spent there.

There is a small pool with some sun beds. But the WiFi has more to wish for. There is supposed to be WiFi in the restaurant, but it almost never worked. If you went there when no one else was there you could get 5 minutes of super slow internet connection.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ulrika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

The cabins are designed in a very clever manner, with mosquito net instead of windows, which makes it airy and allows to hear the jungle noises day and night. We also spotted lots of animals just looking out of our cabin (monkeys, birds, foxes...). Beds are very comfortable and also have a mosquito net, although we had no bug at all inside. Bathroom is very nice, and toilet products too. I loved the way it was decorated. No problem with hot water or electricity, which I found quite remarkable in such a remote place. There was free wifi (rather unstable) but I didn't even expect to have wifi at all, and to tell the truth the wifi is a lesser concern to me when I'm on holiday. We hired a guide through the hotel to visit Calakmul, he was very knowledgeable, patient, and spotted a lot of animals for us. Breakfast and dinner were good. Pool is small but refreshing after a day of hiking through the ruins. The only improvement I would suggest would be to repair the roof leaking in some places (after a heavy storm), but I guess this is on its way. We had a very pleasant stay, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank schtroumpfette43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

... because noise from the nearby street can be heard and I did not have the jungle feeling. The jungle lodge is basic, but clean. Toilet and bathroom are inside the lodge. The offered food was average, but overpriced. If you like to live next to nature, than this is the place for you.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Prinz_1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Very nice place, a series of cabins beneath the trees were you can spot monkeys. There are no glass in the windows but mosquito nets so you can hear and fell the jungle but without any unwanted insects. Is the best option to visit Calakmul since it’s right on the entrance to the protected area. The restaurant needs to improve but it was ok, maybe a simpler menu would work. It’s worth to note that there are not that many places to eat nearby. Gary was nice and helpful with tips on getting the most of your visit.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank MexMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

It's simple but spacious cabins in the Yucatan forest with a surprisingly good cuisine throughout the day. Try the espresso flan! Still 1 hr drive away from the Calakmul ruins but you don't get any closer than this. You're that close to nature that you'll hear and see lots of birds. And in the morning or evening we'd spot agoutis straying around the resort.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michawow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews