We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations in historic city”
Review of Hotel Castelmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castelmar
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
East Marion, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodations in historic city”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was chosen for us as a package trip with Campeche Tarpon and we could not have been more pleased. The staff was pleasant. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable bedding and air conditioned. The pool was welcoming after a day of fishing in the sun. The hotel is within walking distance to museums and restaurants. I loved the decor of the hotel and if we find ourselves fishing for baby tarpon in Mexico again, I would hope to return to Hotel Castelmar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdweave02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    254
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
108
361
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Gorgeous colonial setting in a very beautiful city. Spacious even if I took the less expensive standard room and I will return as a base for visiting the Campeche ruins next year. My only issue was lack of hot water even after leeting the water run over 5 minutes as instructed by the concierge it was tepid at best. We had no problem with the WI-Fi and though the breakfast is simple it was OK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful traditional style hotel in the historic central part of Campeche. The front desk staff spoke very good English (great since my Spanish is very poor).

The rooms seem to be all furnished differently in older or antique furniture. The air conditioning worked well and the water for showers was warm. The mattresses are extra firm, but still sleepable. Our room lacked exterior windows, but was very spacious with very tall ceilings. All the rooms seem to open onto the central courtyard. The plant filled courtyard is lovely. We could only access Wi-Fi from the courtyard.

The pool space is attractive and nice in the heat of the day (although not as plant filled as many are in Merida).

The hotel is in a great location. Parking is slightly down the block and mostly shaded. It is easy to walk to shopping, restaurants, the Malecon, and the Trolley. The central historic area of Campeche is relaxed and beautiful.

We agreed with other reviewers that breakfast is a bit lackluster.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60004Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Capeche is such a beautiful city to visit.... and this hotel was a very good base to explore. The rooms are big and the courtyard for breakfast is very pretty as are the hallways. The breakfast itself is a bit limited but fine. The pool is tiny - but good for dip of you're hot!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Campeche has the feel of a small Cuban town - without the old cars - and this hotel has the feel of a Casa Cubana. It is gorgeous with the rooms set around a leafy patio and a small pool off to one side. The rooms vary and are not ”perfect” in every regard but overall it is great little place, that wins on location, character and price.

(However I can’t comment on the breakfast as it looked rather feeble and I avoided it.)

Room Tip: They are all different so ask to see another if you don't like the first one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is fine, but we had reserved a double room, and it came with one double-sized bed, which was small. But the room itself was fine - air conditioning worked, the bathroom was small but fine, with products. The breakfast was decent. The pool was super small. Front desk was a bit absent-minded - I emailed three times with questions and got responses 3 days later that never answered my question. I ended up just booking through a booking.com-like site, but would have probably fared better elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second visit to Campeche and my second stay at the Hotel Castelmar.For a brief visit with the plan of taking in as much of the Centro Historico charm of Campeche, as is possible, there is no better location or property.

It is close to all the Centro attractions and a number of shops, cafes and eateries. The property is a well-maintained & well-restored piece of local history.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room since they are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#10 of 25 in Campeche
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 25 in Campeche
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelmar

Property: Hotel Castelmar
Address: Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Campeche
#4 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
#5 Family Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelmar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Campeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing