We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, charming property.”
Review of Hotel Castelmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castelmar
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect location, charming property.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights on our way down to Palenque. We had never been to Campeche and looked forward to seeing it. The hotel was not difficult to find with the mapquest directions I had. As mentioned the one ways are a bit confusing, but with a map and directions, not impossible.

We booked a junior suite and had a lovely colonial room on the corner facing the sea. It had windows on both sides of the corner and afforded a small but lovely view of the malecon and the sea on one side, and the street scene on the other. There were floor to ceiling shutters on the windows, and on the sea side, a small balcony. We did not have any problem with street noise, and on both nights we were there, there were Christmas events going on in the Historic Center and lots of people and traffic.

We had a king size bed, that while hard, had good linens and pillows. The bath was modern with a walk in shower with glass walls. The room had cable tv but no refrigerator, etc. The hotel does not have a bar, if you want a drink go across the street to the little restaurant and the gregarious owner will take care of you. Will even let you take his glasses and bottles with you as long as you bring them back.

Check in was easy, parking is just down the block and is secure and free. There is a small pool but we did not use it. Breakfast was available, but we chose to go back toward the Merida highway to the strip of restaurants on the gulf that serve seafood. OH MY. We went both mornings, unbelievable. Not all of them serve breakfast, but some do and it was to die for. Fresh shrimp cocktail anyone??? Fresh shrimp omelets???

Highly recommend for the price point and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    247
    67
    15
    10
See reviews for
103
357
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Once we'd navigated our way round the one-way streets of the walled city to find the hotel's car park, it was great to set out on foot to explore the historical centre. One night in Campeche between driving up from Calakmul and heading onto the Ruta Puuc suited us well. The hotel was excellent value when booked online. We went for a standard room which turned out to have two doubles and be on the upper floor looking down to the courtyard below. The shower was spacious but crammed a little too closely to the WC. A spacious and cool room, but also with fan and A/C if you wanted to use them.

We opted to have breakfast somewhere else in town, but the sunny courtyard of the hotel also looked appealing. The only downside was that the safe in our room had a key, not a code, and we had to go down to reception to sort out paperwork to get the key and pay a deposit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quirky_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatley, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January, based on my sister's and my stay a couple of years ago. The stay was just as nice as before. The front desk staff and the porter staff were extremely helpful and parking close to the hotel is free. Our room (2nd floor) was extremely large, with a big window and double doors opening to the sun-filled central courtyard. Air conditioning was quiet and efficient, although the ceiling fan did squeak a lot. The shower bathroom was large and hot water was immediate. The furnishings were very Spanish colonial and visually perfect. Beds were extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast was approximately $8/10 US, which for what was offered, was a bit high. But the fruit, juice, coffee, breads, cereal were fresh. Bigger breakfasts could be ordered. I'd say this is a very fine renovated casona hotel and would recommend it completely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Castelmar for 2 nights and found the location in historical Campeche just excellent. Our room was on the second floor, corner suite, with 2 balconies and a view of the Gulf. Yes it is noisy and I slept with earplugs but it was worth it to be right in the heart of the walled city. The room was large with king bed and there was lots of hot water in a big shower. Everything was very clean and our room was refreshed several times a day with fresh towels, bed turndown service and chocolates! Unfortunately the front desk manager during the day was not friendly or helpful at all. We arrived by bus in mid-afternoon, hot and tired and hungry. No check in allowed until 3pm which is understandable but how about a suggestion on where to eat or a map of the area or even just a welcome? We were pushed out onto the street - it was very hot, 35 Celsius - and told to return in 3 hrs. It took some wandering to sort out where we were (kind of fuzzy headed from an early morning and bus ride from Merida) but we did manage to find paseo grand which is closed to car traffic and has some wonderful eateries. Eventually we checked into our room and it was a more than pleasant surprise. Wifi is available in the lobby areas which are comfortable but not in the rooms or at the pool. The pool is very cold but just what we needed to refresh and it was clean. The front desk manager did not tell us about breakfast in the courtyard but we did discover it ourselves - pretty basic continental for 60pesos. Overall I would highly recommend Castelmar in Campeche.

Room Tip: 216 has views and 2 balconies on the second floor corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels that I have stayed in in Mexico, and I haved stayed in a lot over the last 25 years. The original details of the historic building have been wonderfully preserved. The original pasta tiles are extant throughout the hotel--in the lobby, the hallways, and the rooms. The swimming pool is clean and well-maintained, with four lounge chairs and a table on the side. It is a nice place to relax in the afternoon. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmalo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights recently as we travelled throughout the Yucatan. The street noise in the rooms are just plain loud! I compare it to literally having a bed right on the sidewalk it's so bad. Also,
-The bed was short. I'm 5'8" and my feet hung off the end
-The pool was dirty. There was a grimy film on the surface and it needed vacuuming.
-We asked the reception to book us a tour to Edzna, they initially said $700 pesos, which, after we returned from dinner that night, had suddenly become $800 pesos and left us no recourse to cancel the tour because we were on a time schedule. Also saw the same tour offered for half that at a later time.
-Initially we had booked for 1 night with an option to stay a second. We were moved to another room the second night, no big deal. However, even though the Hotel already had my credit card number, we received a call at close to 11PM in our room asking us how we'd like to pay for our 2nd night. Really? Are you that desperate? This couldn't wait til the next morning? My wife and I are both close to 40 and working professionals,not some sketchy backpackers. Not only were the rooms very uncomfortable, but they way we were treated left us feeling very uncomfortable.

We definitey would NOT recommend Hotel Castlemar!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouseindahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Although the hotel itself is nice, and being in the historic center and offering free parking are definitely worth being mentioned, the reason why I cannot recommend this hotel are the rooms. You have to sleep with earplugs because the noise of the street is so annoyingly loud (also at night). Then there is this glass above the door of your room, letting the light of the brightly lit hallway in your room. I have never complained about a room at the reception before, this time I had to! It resulted in some less light in the hallway making things a bit better. But summing things up, there is no comfort to this hotel where the most important thing you would like to have are a good nights rest and you can't because it's loud and light! I might get a rude comment from the owner for this, but my reviews on trip advisor have always been and will be fair and balanced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjamandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#6 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelmar

Property: Hotel Castelmar
Address: Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
#5 Family Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelmar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Campeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing