We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, location and serviceability. As long as you don't need luxury, a great, solid pick.”
Review of Hotel Castelmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castelmar
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charm, location and serviceability. As long as you don't need luxury, a great, solid pick.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Castelmar a few weeks ago during a trip to Campeche. Castelmar lies in an almost ideal spot from which to explore Campeche, literally right around the corner from the town's main square. The hotel is very charming in appearance and its main attractions actually lie in its common areas; the hotel features a lovely main courtyard with tile floors evocative of the old hacienda style. Our suite featured a charming balcony that opened up on the street. One exception to this however is the pool; when we visited, there was an extremely unpleasant smell throughout the entire pool area and we never saw anyone attempt to swim in it during our stay.

Despite the outward charm, be prepared to deal with a few inconveniences, all fairly minor. First off, our room was very poorly lighted and the curtain and curtain rod were so flimsily hung that when my husband attempted to open them to let some light in, the entire curtain rod fell off. The sink was inconveniently located outside of the bathroom (this seems to be a common architectural feature among hotels in the area). Despite the spaciousness of our room, the bathroom was miniscule and very difficult to navigate. I would have happily forgone some room space for a larger bathroom. No hairdryer or iron, but the hotel does provide the standard toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, etc.) which is nice.

At the end of the day, for a hotel as affordable as Castelmar (rates were running about $60 to $70 USD a night when we booked), Castelmar is a great option for a traveler looking for an affordable, clean hotel with charm. I have stayed at far worse hotels at similar or higher price ranges and ultimately, Castelmar is good value for the rate.

Room Tip: Recommend the street facing suite. We didn't experience any noise issues and these rooms have ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    254
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
108
361
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our arrival in Campeche was not great. Despite our best efforts we spent about half an hour driving round the city looking for the hotel. Then, suddenly, as we drove round the one-way system for a second time we were stopped by a man shouting "Castelmar" at us. No, it wasn't a holdup - it was the parking attendant from the Castelmar who had somehow identified us 2 frazzled Brits as customers of his hotel. He pointed us to the the car park and before we had stopped 2 porters had arrived to take our luggage. This was just the start of the excellent service we received during our 2 night stay at this characterful hotel
The hotel is housed in a former army barracks, with a large open courtyard in the centre. The rooms are situated on floors that run around the courtyard and it appears that when they converted the building they tried to keep as many of the original features as possible, which is what gives the building it's colonial feel.
Our room was comfortable and clean, but a little on the small side and it lacked wardrobe storage space. Also it overlooked the street which ran alongside the side of the hotel, Calle 8. This got noisy quite early in the morning, which woke is earlier than we would have wanted.
However, for the quality of service alone this hotel is a good choice for a short stay in Campeche.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook Calle 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were blown away by the beautiful character of this hotel. Adorned with different tiles and paintwork. It is unique in style and our room which was on the first floor in the corner was large and comfortable. The disappointment was that despite asking for a room with a king size bed we we given one with two small doubles which isn't so comfortable for me and my 6'3" husband. The staff were all friendly and helpful but we did have a problem with hot water. I had a quick hot shower on arrival but that was really the last very hot water we had for our two night stay. The rest of the time we had to settle for lukewarm. Despite this, I would still recommend this hotel as it is in a good location in the old town and full of character.

Room Tip: We didn't ask as they had already said the hotel was full but if you want one large bed rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel served our purpose very well, we stayed for one night to explore Campeche, the room was comfortable enough, , bathroom a bit small considering we stayed in the room with four, but very nice value for money, pool was to crowded.
I would recommend .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cheap, beautiful and outstanding location! What else can you ask for? The breakfast (not included) it can be better however you have the "marganzo" about a block away. I'll return for sure.
Once in Campeche, do not forget to visit the San Francisco neighborhood to have a real Campechan dinner.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have travelled the world for the last 10 months, and stayed in all sorts of plces, but this one, despite being one of the most expensive, is the most unfriendly, and moneygrabbing we have encountered.
We arrived in the evening, after travelling all day on a bus, and instead of welcming us to the hotel, the reception staff started immediately asking us to pay the total for the 2 rooms for 3 days we had booked, before they would hand over the keys. As we are using only a cash card, and don't like to travel on buses with so much cash, we had to tell them we would need to go to an ATM the next day. They then asked for the forst night's payment, but thee amoun t they were asking for was wrong. We had booked with Hostelbookers, and therefore already paid a 10% deposit. At first they tried to tell us the difference was because of tax, then that we'd paid something like $45 "to an agency for the booking" (absurd!) Finally we paid the amount requested and asked for a copy of the bill to look at overnight. In the morning the manager agreed they had only deducted 5% and together we agreed the correct amount owing - IN DOLLARS. Later in the day, as we walked in the door, instead of handing us our keys, the first thing the receptionist said was "and your payment?" We had to collect some of the cash from the safe, so we came back down later to pay. I could hardly believe my ears when he said " we can't accept dollars" Then when we told him we'd agreed it in dollars that morning with the manager, they tried to tell us the rate had changed and we 'd have to pay more (siince that MORNING!). All this, and never once had we been welcmed, offered any information, maps, anything. Just asked for more money than we were supposed to pay.
Despite the lovley building, etc, that everyone talks about I definitley would NOT recommend this hotel, for the above reasons.

Room Tip: Just don't book on Hostelbookers or try to pay with cash, or expect to pay the price you origina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W2me, E-commerce Sales Manager en Hotel Castelmar at Hotel Castelmar, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Alison,
in most hotels in the World when you arrive, you must pay cash, or signing an open voucher with your credit card.

We are a serious hotel with a good reputation, 91% of the comments you can read on Tripadvisor are very good or excellent. Also good comments in the online travel agencies.

You behavior was rude in Front desk, even other customers complained. You threatened the hotel staff to publish a bad review on Tripadvisor, something you did. And all for a difference of $ 12 U.S. dollars, which you never paid.

We try our best to satisfy most of our guests.

Castelmar Hotel
- Winner of Certificate of Excellence 2012, Tripadvisor.
- Expedia Insiders' Select list 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at the Hotel Castelmar while investigating Campeche as a potential retirement spot. The hotel is located very near to the Puerta del Mar and just a 5 minute walk to the Malecon, right in the historic center of Campeche. As shown in the many pictures posted in TA, this is a beautifully restored Colonial building, with an open air center courtyard where breakfast is served (we did not partake of the breakfast). There is no elevator but the bellmen lugged our two suitcases up the stairs to our room (we were in 214). The floors are all tiled and the woodwork throughout the hotel shows great craftsmanship. Our room had a small balcony looking out over Calle 61 and we really didn't notice much noise at night.

The room was very clean, the bathroom was modern with a nice walk in shower. It did take some time for the hot water to arrive and then I never even had to put on the cold water to temper it in the shower. The AC worked fine as did the ceiling fan. My only complaint were the beds - we had 2 double beds, and they were both as hard as rocks. We both woke up with sore shoulders and backs - of course, we are used to sleeping on a foam mattress, so if you are used to regular firm mattresses, this may not be a problem for you.

The taxi ride to the hotel from the ADO bus terminal was 40 pesos. The hotel arranged for a taxi to bring us back to the bus terminal for our next leg of our journey. The pool was small but refreshing after a hot and humid day of exploring Campeche. The overall service as very good. We were able to walk pretty much everywhere in the historic part of town quite easily from the hotel, with the main plaza only a few blocks away. There were several good restaurants and coffee shops (the Italian Coffee Shop) nearby as well. We went to Chocol Ha one night for dessert - yum! We also ate several times at El Bastion and the first night was ate at Marganzo - all quite good and reasonably priced - and key for us, they took Visa! All in all the Hotel Castlemar lived up to it's TA ratings and I would recommend it to anyone planning to stay in Campeche.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#10 of 25 in Campeche
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 25 in Campeche
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelmar

Property: Hotel Castelmar
Address: Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Campeche
#4 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
#5 Family Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelmar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Campeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing