We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great pool, lovely courtyard”
Review of Hotel Castelmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castelmar
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good location, great pool, lovely courtyard”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a peaceful hotel with a lovely relaxing courtyard garden/breakfast area and lovely pool area which is a real sun trap! We stayed in an 'internal' room which was situated around the central courtyard area. These rooms all have seats and tables outside the rooms so you can enjoy the atmosphere of the old colonial building and central courtyard right outside your room. The rooms are a little dark, but that is more to do with them not have an external window than because there was anything wrong with them. And being in these rooms we didn't have any of the noise problems that people on the street side have mentioned. The buffet breakfast was good. There isn't a bar but the restaurant/bar directly opposite will bring beers to the pool/courtyard for you. It is also definitely worth popping in there for some of their mexican snacks. The hotel is really well located for both the old town and the sea front.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerynarration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    247
    67
    15
    10
See reviews for
103
357
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice Hotel in a good location. We got a spacious room, anyway without windows, as we asked a quite one. Clean and nicely decorated. The aircon wasn't really cooling down. We report the problem to the reception and went for lunch. As we came back, we were told the aircon wasn't working normally and we got straight awy a similar room. Perfect!
Clean, nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moreno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Drove up the coast to Campeche from Frontera and, from the malencon, dropped right into Hotel Castelmar. Loved the guarded parking across the street. Free apart from propina to guard. Hotel set around marvellously landscaped interior patio. Our room was second floor. 950p cash. Huge, old wood doors, colored glass transom windows, tile floors - the best of mexican design. Good WIFI. Husband ate breakfast at hotel next morning - think was about $6 - and reported terrific Huevos Motulenos. Fantastic location - right in the center and a couple of blocks from the malencon. Restaurant Manzano a block away and great casual dinner choice. Also, if you're just there for an overnight, take the Campeche trolley tour - good value and a great opportunity to get a feel for the town. Also, Campeche State Artisanal shop, couple of blocks from hotel had some very good quality crafts from Campeche state. Sweet town - like Merida 20 years ago. Also, see my review on La Pigua restaurant - extremely good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fls35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is the colonial style so If you want to feel part of the city it is a good choice, it is closed to the boulevard and 2 blocks from the historic town, so you can walk at night and dinner at the town, take a coffe, and also in the afternoon look the sunset in the ocean at the boulevard.

Room Tip: You can choose a room not near to the balcony, it has a nice view but a little noisy at night and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Lovely colonial building with some modern touches such as a pool in which you can actually swim. Comfortable room and beds. Beautiful tiled floors and walls. Extremely convenient for the town. Very helpful staff. Breakfast not included but reasonably priced, or there are lots of cafes nearby. We thought it might be noisy at night as they have old fashioned shutters but the streets were very quiet after about 11pm so no problem.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would be quieter but we didn't find it a real problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephandAlan60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Yesterday evening we arrived in Campeche, coming from Merida. It was easy to find the Hotel Castelmar. Even though our reservation stated that the hotel doesn't have parking spaces, we were pleasantly surprised that they have private parking places 10 meters down the street. We were friendly welcomed by the hotel staff and the building is very impressive. Our room is very big and has two double beds ( that are on small side, but you could also call that romantic). This morning we had a great breakfast, with nice eggs with chorizo and a perfect coffee. Great hotel, definitely worhwhile!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Because it used to be a soldier's baracks, Castelmar has a unique, authentic style. Big rooms, very high ceilings, very thick walls, old furniture. In the back area there is also a nice, quiet swimming pool, ideal for the hot siestatime. The location is very good. At the edge of the old city centre, just a few minutes walking. It's also nearby the sea front, ideal to go watch the sunset. Can't think of a better place to stay in Campeche.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#6 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelmar

Property: Hotel Castelmar
Address: Calle 61 nr 2, between calle 8 and 10, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
#5 Family Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelmar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Campeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing