We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and excellent food”
Review of Sotavento Cafe

Sotavento Cafe
Ranked #11 of 176 Restaurants in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We stayed in the attached hotel and visited the cafe for brunch and dinner (we missed the 11:00 cut off for the breakfast special which seems to rotate daily).
We loved the eclectic art (paintings, sculptures and masks) in the cafe - great ambience. We encountered the morning and afternoon staff - they were all first class! The food was good and the coffee was excellent!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank NorthVan_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2019

This place encourages you to slow down. We went several times for coffee and artisanal hot chocolate. The desserts are good, as are the breakfast choices. There's art on the walls and a great group of servers who don't seem to mind how long you occupy a table.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank sansoucis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

Breakfast went like this:
We order a breakfast set... 5 mins later orange juice arrives; 5 mins later coffee arrives; 10 mins later fruit arrives; 10 mins later toast arrives; 10 mins later butter arrives; 15 mins later scrambled eggs arrive... then we realize we have no cutlery...ask for cutlery... 5 mins later still no utensils (guy forgot). It was a joke, especially because we were the only table.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank pbkty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

We ate here three times during our stay in Cempeche, each was excellent. Fruit smoothies were the best. Food was top notch.
Coffee abounded.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

The place itself has an interesting and a bit odd decor, similar to the Socair hotel, to which it belongs. Being mainly a coffee shop, their different coffee and chocolate drinks may be good and recognized in town, but in my experience, this is definitely a bad restaurant for anything else.
Not only did they take over 40 minutes to bring our dishes, a simple linguini Alfredo and beef fajitas, even though we were the only patrons, but the pasta was barely warm, and the beef overcooked.
To top it all, a couple hours later I got food poisoning and had to empty my stomach 3 times, crouching inside of an airplane bathroom. A very uncomfortable and disgusting experience that I blame entirely in this restaurant. It must have been that the cream or the cheese in the pasta were bad.
It is not a place to eat any food other than a plain sandwich, and even then, I have my doubts...

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank xraleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotavento Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sotavento Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing