We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad breakfast”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good location, bad breakfast”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I just went there for one night, because I was going to run the Marathon of Campeche. The location of this hotel is very good, is right in the malecón, ocean view, but the only thing that I didnt like was that when I booked the hotel the offered Breakfast but when I arrived they gave me the famous "continental breakfast" wich only includes fruits, coffee and juice; when I asked for eggs or something else they said that it was not included even when my reservation said it.

Also the WiFi was very bad, didnt work very well and when it worked was so slow.

Anyways, the location is good, the pillows a little hard, and the pool not so clean.
In general, i think that the hotel is a little bit overpriced. For less than that price I rather to stay in one of those big chains like hollyday or Ibis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudasaidFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    171
    108
    25
    7
See reviews for
132
147
12
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent one night at the Ocean View Hotel, and appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and helpful staff. We had a ground-floor room with windows opening to the pool area, where hummingbirds and butterflies visited the flowering shrubs.
The bathroom was upgraded and spotless, and there were three English channels on the flatscreen satellite television. Breakfast was hot dishes and wide selection of fresh fruits and great coffee, all included. Free parking and convenient location across from the seawall. A little far to the walled Campeche town, but close to casinos and restaurants. The wifi signal was free, and strong. Great property, great value.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms were quiet since they had no street noise, but no ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were travelling as part of an escorted group, ie tourist !. Personally, this hotel did not meet our needs. I found it to far away from the city centre. The hotel does not have a bar and I don't think they served dinner. The rooms were on the small side & the pool was not that great. On the plus side the breakfast and the business centre were very good. Stay if you have business in the area, if your visiting Campeche as a tourist, I would pick a hotel closer to the centre

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Although this hotel is by the ocean, only a few of the rooms have an ocean view: our room overlooked the swimming pool, which was pleasant enough. The hotel seems fairly new and the rooms are spacious and the facilities all worked as expected. The staff were friendly and gave us instructions on how to find a Post Office (Correos) in Campeche and supplied us with a map. There is a little hotel shop, which had a sign for selling stamps even though the receptionist said they were not available! There is also an Internet room as well as free wi-fi. The town is a pleasant twenty-minute walk along the sea front.

Just around the corner from the hotel is a massive Walmart, which is useful for food, medicines, gifts, etc. Turn right from reception, right again onto the big road and then further down to the left, you will see it.

We had breakfast at the hotel, which was a buffet and was very good. There was quite a large choice: muffins, yogurts, cereals, fruits, a toaster, eggs, and it was all fresh and tasty.

They do not exchange British pounds in this hotel but will exchange other currencies such as American dollars although the rate did not seem very good.

We enjoyed our one-night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our stay here was just one night. The hotel itself is pleasant and does indeed have an ocean view. However, this is only the case for a handful of the rooms, so don't take it for granted that that's what you'll get.

KFC, McDonalds and Burger King are right next door, while the main town of Campeche is about a 20 minute walk away along the seafront.

Our room was functional and had TV, shower etc. which all worked as intended. Other members of our party did have some issues - one had a leaky bathroom sink and the other apparently found bedding that wasn't clean. Both were resolved speedily.

While there's no bar facilities in the hotel, we were able to get a drink by the pool when we returned after dinner in the evening.

Breakfast was also adequate. A good mix of cereals, fruit and cooked options all available as a buffet.

Free wifi was available in communal areas and worked in some rooms.

A good option if you're visiting Campeche.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Ocean View is located on the Malecon of Campeche, and is ideal for a clean, well-run traveler hotel. Nothing about this hotel is outstanding, but everything works and is functional. Forget the name, "Ocean View" from your window of the hotel, but you will have a nice view from the front of the hotel. The price included buffet is OK, but not memorable. The staff is very accommodating. I had hoped for more interesting local museums about the English "pirate" period of Campeche's history, but I was, sadly, disappointed.

Room Tip: I wouldn't know how to get a really good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeiningen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A very nice hotel that is a bit outside of town. Great views of the boardwalk and Gulf. It is a bit far to walk into town.It is located in the section of town with all the western ammenities like walmart, mc donalds and KFC.

Room Tip: Get thier early if you need a parking spot as they are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Tagliaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gamma Campeche Malecon
Gamma Campeche Malecon
#8 of 25 in Campeche
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Campeche
Holiday Inn Campeche
#14 of 25 in Campeche
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#3 of 25 in Campeche
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: Av. Pedro Sainz de Baranda | Joaquin Clausell, Campeche 24010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Malecon in Campeche, one of the main tourist areas of the city, 15 minutes by taxi from " Alberto Acuna Ongay " International Airport , 5 minutes from the Historical Center and 2 minutes walk from the Convention Center " Campeche Siglo XXI " , Artisan Bazaar and major restaurants . It offers guests spectacular sea views from our comfortable rooms. We are also the only hotel with tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing