We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel francis drake....comfortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Francis Drake
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Reviewed March 15, 2013

hotel francis drake is in a great location in the historic center, near the malecon and near restaurants and convenience stores. it is clean and comfortable and staff is friendly. breakfast is served in the dining room and is adequate. it opens at 8am and runs out of food by 10 so arrive early!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumbosdad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is well-located, it's comfortable, it had all the amenities apart form the internet, breakfast was ok too. I agree with other reviews -the staff was NOT interested or helpful, too busy with facebook I suppose. It's good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Cold water during out 2 night stay despite making representations to the staff who did not or could not be bothered.
Centrally located and nice room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwatson462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three days, great location, the room and bathroom look great, indoor parking is available but for only three cars so you have to be lucky to park inside.

Apart from the dying cockroach in the bathroom, the hing that bothered us the most was the lack of wifi internet. The hotel promises wireless internet, but as we got our room, the password provided did not work. we could connect only if we got out of the room and sat in the reception area. When asked about this, the staff shrugged his shoulder and said internet signal is probably weak and no attempt was made to fix this problem. On the last day of the stay, staff saw me using the laptop in the reception area again and said they'll fix the problem "in the future". No attempt was made to fix this problem "in the present".

Didnt try the restaurant and I wouldn't bother, plenty of delicious dining around

Did not have a single crib for our one year old, very strange !

Room Tip: check if internet is available in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enshalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Classic style hotel, 15 minutes away (walking) from the city center, large & clean rooms, CRT TV, free Wi-Fi (with some connection problems), the rooms have a “cold” atmosphere (even the lights are “cold”!), no warm water at the bathroom, the minibar fridge makes noise (we unplugged it during the night), balcony door badly insulated. Basic breakfast (no buffet, fresh juice, omelets (with ham, cheese or bacon), tea or coffee – this kind of breakfast was quite “common” during our travel in Mexico). The Campeche city center is nice, safe, with lovely streets / colorful houses.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mircix2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The room and location were OK. The bathroom far too small and made worse by no hot water the whole of our stay. We complained 3 times in 2 days and were promised it would be fixed but it never was. So Cold water for 2 days. The staff ar very surly and unhelpful. The included breakfast is adequate only.

Room Tip: Find one with hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surreynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The location was perfect, right in the old town. Lovely streets and houses all around us. It has the Benefit of a hotel parking righ next to the hotel. However, the room was pretty miserable. We had a junior suite which divided the room in two. It does give you some extra space to unpack but it has a dirty old sofa and very bright lighting, it was just miserable. The bathroom is very small and The position of the loo probably the worst we have seen in a long time. The sheets were itching and the blanket was old and falling apart. Streets rather noisy at night. The breakfast was ok but nothing special and the service overall quite unfriendly. We would not go back. But the location is a big bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graciaamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#5 of 25 in Campeche
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya Campeche Hotel
Maya Campeche Hotel
#8 of 25 in Campeche
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#10 of 25 in Campeche
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#11 of 25 in Campeche
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gamma Campeche Malecon
Gamma Campeche Malecon
#6 of 25 in Campeche
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francis Drake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francis Drake

Address: Calle 12 No. 207, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range: $38 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Francis Drake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis Drake hotel has an excellent location in the historic center of the capital city of the state of Campeche declared "Cultural Heritage" in the commercial and financial area, just five blocks from the zocalo, 10 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes bus station connected by shortcuts. We offer comfortable facilities and the best service of modern hospitality. This is a new hotel facility with a colonial architectural style, and one of the few hotels in this category in the city center. Standard room: 2 Double Beds or 1 King Size (specify when booking). Junior Suite: 2 single beds with 1 King Size Bed, 1 Double bed with 1 King bed and 2 Double Beds, living room with sofa bed, desk, Internet Connection To *. All rooms have flat screen TV with cable, air conditioning, minibar, telephone, hair dryer and vanity mirror in all bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Francis Drake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Drake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing