We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just in the door of Campeche! I would say best hotel inthe place!
A real hacienda! Fantastic pools! They kept the structure and gave it a modern taste!
Restaurant excelent!
Rooms super hi quality! Full luxory!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaMartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 254 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is situated in the old town a few minutes walk from the centre. The walk to the centre is wonderful; which ever route you take passes brightly painted houses.

The room was a good size, large bed, fridge, flat screen TV, painted in bright colours. The natural light came into the bathroom through a huge skylight, rather than the bedroom part which was dark and opened up to the pool area which did mean we didn’t get any traffic noise whilst in bed. As the gardens and pool area are delightful, who needs natural light in the room when you can sit in rocking chairs outside your room. We also had separate air con in the bathroom area and also the bedroom part.

Other: Free Wifi, no gym, and a weird pool(s?). We both had a free 20min massage one day.

The hotel itself did seem to lack any atmosphere, though we were the only visitors the first night and the next day another couple turned up (ooh, the excitement)! It did mean that the lounge on the roof was closed, and the restaurant and bar generally empty, the food and drinks did seem expensive. Also the hotel was quite expensive for what you got.

Try breakfast at Marganzo just off the square, that’s where the locals go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto o, Director of Operations. at Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Cazywaz:
Greetings from San Francisco de Campeche,
Thank you for choosing The Haciendas Luxury Collection while your visit to Yucatan Peninsula. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review. I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to all of our staff.
In regard to your comments about your dining and bar experiences, thank you the feedback which I will share with our Food & Beverage team and the Chefs. I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced in the terrace bar lounge and rest assured I will address the matter. At certain times of the year we do open our terrace sporadically, however, that being said, there should always be the option to have it open for you during your visit, even for breakfast. Thanks again for bringing that to my attention.

We truly appreciate your recommendation of our lovely Hacienda, and I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Roberto Otalora
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Puerta Campeche is in a great location inside the old city walls of the Centro district. The gardens and pool are beautiful, and the staff welcoming and helpful. However, the rooms are very dark. We asked to be moved because our room had no windows, and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. Even with two large windows the room was still very dark and gloomy and definitely not somewhere that we wanted to hang out in between walks around town. I'm surprised that Starwood Hotels would not renovate with brighter floor and wall colours. Drinks are unbelievably expensive. $14 for a margarita!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CalgaryGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto o, Director of Operations. at Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Calgary Goose,
Greetings from San Francisco de Campeche,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a sincere review. I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to our Operations and Executive Team.

In regard to your comments about your room experiences, thank you for the feedback and we are improving all our rooms furnishing as also indoor lightning. I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced in this area and rest assured we are addressing the matter. Thanks again for bringing that to our attention.

We truly appreciate your recommendation about Restaurant pricing and I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Roberto Otálora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment. The "luxury" was not to be found for either us or our friends. Our room was just behind the pool and smelt of damp and the bed sheets felt damp too. It was obvious the room not been aired at any time. Our friend's room was upstairs and very noisy. The rooms are dark and their layout very open plan. We unsually don't have a problem with such set-ups but this went a bit too far. There is no separation at all. The doors to the toilet and the shower are salon doors so that one could hear (and yes smell) everything!!!! The showers didn't have any pressure and had no hot water (luke warm) No hair dyer, no slippers (floor was not really clean = black feet), no water bottles (or refills), no plugs, no night service. The whole place has no soul. At the reception you have to talk through bars. A man-made barrier to making guest feel comfortable. The restaurant, the bar and reading room are lifeless. No decorations. Nothing appealing about them. No service. The plates, cultery, salt and pepper etc were all of a terrible state. The breakfast we had was so awful we wrote a complaint on the bill. No reaction from mangement while we stayed there. In fact no General Manager could be seen or found at all for the whole of our stay. The upstairs lounge (above bar) area we discovered by chance but there was no service. And then we found a sun lounge area which was so filthy it bears no words. Tried room service but no one picked up. Tried reception the same thing. Then when my husband went to physically order he had to wait over 45 minutes until being helped. He was furious. Then our used dishes were left outside our room (near pool area) for over 48 hours. Pool area different but cold water, uncomfortable chairs and no service. The internet connection was extremely slow and didn't work in the pool area at all. And so on and so on. We were very happy to leave and told reception so. A day later at our next hotel, a sister hotel to Campeche, we got a letter from the group's director of operations apologising for our bad experience and thanking us for our comments. He would be looking into the matter. We were offered 2 free nights at Campeche but let's be honest this is a empty offer when the director knows we wouldn't be visitng mexico again in the near future. The GM of the sister hotel understood this and offered us free massages, which was much appreciated. So alot of work needs to be done to get this hotel back up to the standard it claims to be, especially for USD 400+ a night!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hellbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having said that this is a lovely hotel in historic centre. Staff are lovely and the pool is a delight but the food and drink are soooo expensive although the food is very good. We had a room on the second floor and it was delightful...gorgeous furniture and very light...this may have only be relevant because our previous hotel was so dark! Everything is a few minutes walk away and the staff all speak good English which again was a revelation after where we had been.

Room Tip: Room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

You must fully prepay the whole stay upon reservation. Then you can change.

We like : undescriptible back-in-time atmosphere in this restored to perfection Hacienda. From beautiful tiled floor to bright pastel cartoon painted walls, everything you might have expected from Starwood Luxury collection, is right there, and even more than you have dreamed of.
The nicest pool side on earth.
All time polite and efficient staff.
Reliable wifi included. Amenities.
And an excellent restaurant : La Guardia restaurant, open to the patio.

We did not like :
La Guardia restaurant, open to the patio.
As always, in any part of Mexico, fridays and saturdays are party nights. We experienced happy people chatting at the restaurant on friday night, till late, then again a live band playing there up to midnight on saturday night to another group of happy people. Beside that, superb stay from A-2-Z. May be sensitive ears should ask for hideaway rooms. But we don't see where these rooms can be located as it seems that all rooms face the patio, where the restaurant is.
No kettel.

So if you come to this beautiful UNESCO city and then stay in style at the Hacienda Puerto Campeche, you'd be rewarded every second.
And pay accordingly, of course.

Room Tip: Sensitive ears should avoid weekend stay. Or ask if there is a party going on during your stay, sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Overall a great hotel and nice place to stay out. Location is perfect.... Campeche is a small town and the hotel is close to everything (<10min walk).

Staff were super friendly, spoke good english and gave good suggestions.

Our room (1) was great and overlooked the pool. Good size, comfy bed, nice bath, etc etc etc etc.... perfect.

There's free WIFI onsite and a desktop you can use.

Very serene courtyard with a nice pool to relax in.... felt very romantic (esp at night).

Skipped breakfast here (too pricey 200-300 pesos pp), and instead ate at a local dinner (La Parroquia) where it cost us 75 pesos pp with good food and lovely "local" ambiance. Had dinner at La Pigua and really enjoyed it.

City is beautiful and definitely shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnUkPlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
475 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hacienda Uayamon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Uayamon
0.3 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#3 of 25 in Campeche
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#5 of 25 in Campeche
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche

Address: Calle 59, 71, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Campeche
#7 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
Price Range: $250 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche is an architectural relic dating from the 17th century located just a 20 minute drive from Campeche city’s airport and in the historic center of this city, declared Cultural Heritage by UNESCO. Our hotel in Campeche, Mexico is currently the ideal starting off point for adventure into the adjacent historical areas. The walls of these idyllic colonial houses are ocher and orange painted. Its 15 guest rooms and suites combine the comfort of state-of-the-art technology and traditional ambiance. Surrounded by stunning views of the gardens and the pool, the restaurant offers a sophisticated menu consisting of delightful dishes. A terrace lounge enclosed in a charming environment welcomes guests in the evening with captivating cocktails and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Campeche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Hotel Campeche
Campeche Hacienda Puerta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing