We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, nice location and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place, nice location and friendly service.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Overall a great hotel and nice place to stay out. Location is perfect.... Campeche is a small town and the hotel is close to everything (<10min walk).

Staff were super friendly, spoke good english and gave good suggestions.

Our room (1) was great and overlooked the pool. Good size, comfy bed, nice bath, etc etc etc etc.... perfect.

There's free WIFI onsite and a desktop you can use.

Very serene courtyard with a nice pool to relax in.... felt very romantic (esp at night).

Skipped breakfast here (too pricey 200-300 pesos pp), and instead ate at a local dinner (La Parroquia) where it cost us 75 pesos pp with good food and lovely "local" ambiance. Had dinner at La Pigua and really enjoyed it.

City is beautiful and definitely shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnUkPlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    54
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
53
131
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I work in the hotel industry, and can be a little picky.

this hotel is exactly what I like. A boutique hotel, with personal charm. We asked for directions, and a car drove in front of us, literally to the door. It´s right behind the "muros" where one entry is. It might be a good idea to get good instructions, in case you don´t speak Spanish.
The personell is very amicable. We got a beautiful upgrade to a junior suite, which was lovely.
The hotel, and the rooms are colonial style, low-key luxury, yet authentic.
the only hiccup was the AC wasn´t switched on when we arrived and it was very HOT! Let them know your time of arrival, and if it doesn´t seem to work, get maintenance to help - the room is very high in ceiling so it takes time to cool down.

The pool, garden and restaurant area is beautiful, and we had great fun taking beautiful pics.
The food is wonderful (we had a great BKFST). As it had rained the night before, I got completely bitten by mosquitos (non-visible ones!) during BKFST ,and during check-out. If I would have been warned, I would have used some spray.

It´s an expensive choice, but I think it´s well worth the money as it´s a memorable experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KajsaTroften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Puerta Campeche is an absolutely lovely hotel located smack in the heart of historic Campeche (the "old, cultural" part of town, featuring the lovely preserved houses, the fort, etc.). The design of the hotel ensures an intimate and luxurious experience without resorting to the "big box" feel of a large chain hotel. Starwood has made a concerted effort to maintain the architecture and feel of a number of these haciendas in the area, and in Puerta Campeche, it very much pays off.

Our room was lovely, clean, well appointed with all modern amenities (A/C, cable TV) and an enormous stone bathroom. The layout is a bit strange in that the bathroom was the most stunning part of the suite (it had a skylight and received beautiful light), rather than the bedroom, but that's a minor quibble. There's a lovely (though somewhat overpriced) restaurant on site, as well as a gorgeous, small pool and wonderful rooftop balcony to enjoy drinks. Relaxing on the outdoor porch of the hotel restaurant, drinking a glass of wine and watching the sun set over Campeche was an incredible experience. The location of the hotel also affords it a fabulous view of the historic fort next door. I agree that the staff, though super warm and friendly, probably lacked some of the "snap to it-ness" one would expect of similar level hotels in cities, but I would attribute this partially to the fact the life in Campeche moves at a slower pace period, and all businesses and restaurants I visited throughout the area during my stay bore this out.

I'll be staying at Puerta Campeche again during my next trip to Campeche, and would definitely recommend it. As others have noted, this is truly a gem!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This place is a real gem. The staff extremely friendly. The room although slightly on the small side was very nice. The pool area was interesting with lots of small pools within a big pool. The restaurant area was clean and lovely and the restaurant served superb food. The last evening we found out that there also was a roof restaurant. If you happen to be a runner it is well worth getting up early in the morning and have a run along the sea front.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobweblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very nicely renovated colonial style hotel. Ideally located to explore Campeche by foot.

Some staff members missed the appropriate experience one would expect in a hotel like this, but made up for that with enthusiasm and willingness to help. Overall, the service provided by the staff was great. The cocktails served at the pool side were particularly appreciated.

We stayed at this hotel during low-season which meant that dinner options were limited: restaurant closed early or was not open at all in the evening. A little setback but with restaurants in the city-centre at walking distance no major problem.

Overall, a very nice hotel, certainly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan_R282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Johan_R282,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are working closely with our Human Resources department to provide adequate training to all our staff, and improve our quality of service because we know that guests who choose our hotel have high expectations and our main desire is to fulfill these expectations. I appreciate taking the time to let us know about your experience at the hotel.
Best regards,
Roberto Otálora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent a week in Campeche for our wedding and were able to stay at Hacienda Puerta Campeche, Hacienda Uayamon and Castlemar. Even having sampled several hotels,I'm still undecided if the 15 room Puerta Campeche is worth the price tag. At check in we were greated with Chaya (local green fruit and veggie juice) and delightful Spanish music playing in our room. It is a gorgeous romantic property with a lush garden around the pool. The pool isn’t like anything you’ve ever seen and it's relaxing sitting in a chair poolside when it’s all lit up in the evening (must pack bug spray). The beds definitely meet luxury hotel standards and the rooms are large and spacious with tons of closet space. Our room, only had a standing shower no tub, which was a bit of a bummer, but it did have two chaise lounges perfect for having an en suite couples massage if we’d had the time. The breakfast which will cost you about $20US per person is delicious. They bring you fresh squeezed juice, a basket of mixed fresh breads, and a mixed fruit platter with honey, including whatever meal you order. All of it was incredibly fresh and yummy. Some of our wedding guests had breakfast included in the price of their room which I recommend. My husband and I did feel like the service was slow and it took awhile to have our requests met. We had scheduled to have drinks with our guests on the rooftop lounge and none of the cushions were out on the furniture. My husband and his groomsmen had to set up the area on their own, even after we had asked the staff to have it ready.
Location wise Puerta Campeche is right up against the land gate or back side of the fortification wall so it’s a longer walk to the town square, but definitely do-able. You are literally feet away from the light and sound show at one of the forts and can even sneak a peek of the show from the rooftop lounge. Just past the wall is a large open air market definitely worth a visit. They sell all kinds of local produce I’d never seen, meat, baked goods, flowers, even electronics and shoes. The hotel is also about a block away from the café and dessert house Chocol ‘Ha which you must try late night.
If your used to paying big city prices for a room ($250-300US) then Puerta Campeche is beautiful. If you’re traveling on a budget there are other great hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rms294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear rms294,
Thank you very much for your detailed comments and for letting us know the experience you had in Hacienda Puerta Campeche.
Best regards,
Roberto Otálora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a fantastic suite, enormous bedroom, luxurious bathroom and a huge separate dressing room. The grounds and pool are amazing, it is a little cold but a welcoming refresher after an enjoyable morning exploring the pretty streets of Campeche. Food was a little variable - breakfasts were always good and we had an amazing lunch, but an average dinner. Overall a lovely hotel in a lovely town, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suites are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Richie1974,

We appreciate your comments, as well as we are pleased you had enyojed your stay at our Hacienda.
It is importatn for us to know what all our guests have to tell and thus we can improve for your service.

Thank you for recommending us widely!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hacienda Uayamon, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#3 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Calle 59 No 71 por 16 y 18, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Campeche
#7 Romantic Hotel in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Puerta Campeche is an architectural relic dating from the 17th century located just a 20 minute drive from Campeche city’s airport and in the historic center of this city, declared Cultural Heritage by UNESCO. This site is currently the ideal starting off point for adventure into the adjacent historical areas. The walls of these idyllic colonial houses are ocher and orange painted. Its 15 guest rooms and suites combine the comfort of state-of-the-art technology and traditional ambiance. Surrounded by stunning views of the gardens and the pool, the restaurant offers a sophisticated menu consisting of delightful dishes prepared with fish and sea food from the Gulf of Mexico. A terrace lounge enclosed in a charming environment welcomes guests in the evening with captivating cocktails and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Hotel Campeche
Campeche Hacienda Puerta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing