We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the center of Campeche” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Socaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Socaire
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Certificate of Excellence
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the center of Campeche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very well situated, at only one and a half blocks from the center. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nice, with very comfortable beds. Campeche being a very hot city for a good part of the year, it is great that they have a pool. needed after a day of touring to cool off and relax.

The restaurant was new, so they would need a little time to get their act together. It is not bad, but nothing to rave about. With time, to see. Will stay there again next time in Campeche

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    128
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
193
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was easy to find and was in a very convenient location for exploring this beautiful city. After the constant "hawking" of vendors and restauranteurs in Merida, the quieter Campechanos almost seem rudely inattentive, but that couldn't be further from the truth! The staff here were so attentive and thoughtful, but they were wonderfully inobtrusive. The room was spotless and well appointed, although we did also notice the lack of cross ventilation. The skylight in the bathroom provides wonderful light, but close the door if you need darkness for your afternoon siesta :-)

My family agrees this is a definite recommend and say hello to Gabriel in Sotavento!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Socaire for one night in May 2013. Lovely hotel in a great location. Really lovely staff, very comfortable, clean and quiet with excellent shower and wifi connection. Breakfast available but not included. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We really love this hotel! The staff is attentive, very friendly and allways smiling! There is a nice cafe with light food and many smoothies, frappe's and coffee's reasonably priced. The lobby has comfortable furnishings interspersed with antiques. The pool is sparkling clean and refreshing. But the best feature is the room! It is large with a wonderful pillow-top mattress and lovely furniture including an armoire, desk, rocking chair dresser and nightstand. The bath has a nice size stone countertop. Recommend staying here!!!

Room Tip: 7 rooms surround a central courtyard-each would be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a clean little place in a good location. The room we had (Room 4) was very small with little space around the bed, but the bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. Towels were good and they offered nice pool towels too. The pool was a bonus despite being hemmed in by walls and losing the sun in the afternoon. There's nowhere to sit in the room and no chairs in the courtyard which would have been nice. There's a small cafe attached which offers breakfast (extra cost) but we didn't use it. They offer free coffee to guests but you may have to ask for it. one day there was a pot of coffee and cups on a trolley by the cafe. Overall this is very good value for money and perfectly fine for a night or two.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room - ours was quite small but i think others were a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Hotel Socaire is a brand new restoration of what had been an abandoned house. (Ask to see the photos of the work.) It is about 2 blocks from the main square. Because it is brand new, the rooms are in great repair, and the systems (plumbing, air conditioning, etc.) all work very well. My only complaint about the rooms is that because they open onto the main courtyard, you can't really open your window, and, even if you could, there is no window on the opposite side of the room, so no cross ventilation.

Service was cheerful and attentive, but a little disorganized (perhaps due to the place being new, and lack of experience?) We were initially checked into the wrong room; we had to switch because the room had been committed to someone else. The watchman across the street happened to notice that our car had a nail stuck in the tire and left word with the desk, but they never got the message to us. These are not a big deal, just examples of a slight lack of organization.

I would recommend the place.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms are all of similar design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schrodingers_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of the historic center, two blocks from the charming central parque, complete with bandstand, tourist office, and ladies playing Yucatecan bingo. One block from an excellent family restaurant, La Parroquia, which is open 24 hours - unusual for Mexico.

Hotel is small and intimate, with a handful of rooms around a tranquil central courtyard. I wondered if, at night, it would look as gorgeous as the pictures posted online. It was! The historic center isn't noisy, there's very little traffic, so this hotel is very quiet.

The hotel is new, euro-style with a lovely bath (shower only), Italian toiletries, luxurious towels. It has abundant hot water, but be sure to ask them to show you how to get it - there's a little trick to the faucets and I had to be shown twice (OK, slow study) -- but don't think there isn't hot water, just because you're turning it on wrong.

Room lighting is a little dim because the ceilings are so high. Also, you can't open the windows, so ventilation comes from ceiling fan. There is A/C, which in March wasn't needed.

Price was exceptionally good for the amenities and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#3 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Campeche, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#10 of 25 in Campeche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
11.1 mi away
Hacienda Uayamon, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#5 of 25 in Campeche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Socaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Socaire

Property: Hotel Socaire
Address: Calle 12 Y 14 | Calle 57 #19 Entre 12 y 14 Colonia Centro, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Socaire 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Socaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing