We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mision Campeche(Campeche)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Castelmar(Campeche)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Regis(Campeche)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baluartes Hotel(Campeche)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Socaire(Campeche)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H177(Campeche)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
167
50
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
50
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrian streetantique furnitureold townworld heritageyummy foodrestaurant offersjunior suitesold world charmexcellent hotelmodern amenitieslounge areawonderful cityplace to stayour room was spaciousperfect locationcentral courtyardbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 236 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

As a particular luxury to ourselves we booked this hotel in Campeche for two nights - of which we only stayed one. To be honest and fair the service and the hotelmanager were correct and nice, so when we arrived, the hotelmanager warned us, that previous guests had complained about the noise of the bar in front of the hotel. We had booked the master suite, which is nicely decorated and after seeing the room (and hearing the bar noise) nevertheless asked if we could be transferred to another room. As the hotel was booked out and to the regret of the manager we could not change rooms and had to stay there. We then decided to try for one night if it was possible to stay in that room - remember, it was an anticipated luxury hotel and we had been very much been looking forward to this.The night was absolutely horrible - drunken tourists and a mariachi band till 3 am, we got no sleep and left the hotel the next morning. We got a discount of 20% on the room but still - we felt, that it was highly overpriced and would have actually have hoped for better compensation, for example a nice breakfast. But we had to pay the breakfast extra and unfortunately, it was not even good. Others here on tripadvisor have highly recommended this place and the team as well as the manager did try the best to soothe us - but seriously: this place is overpriced and overrated. Which I think is most likely due to the owner who is not willing to invest in better isolation for the rooms close to the bar. Another small thing of dismay: When we wanted to use the whirlpool we were told that it needs at least an hour till we can use it and that it is too late today. We moved out the next day and found a very nice hotel two streets away (Castelmar) where we had a very good and quiet sleep and could rescue our stay in Campeche - for a much better price!

Room Tip: Do not book the expensive master suite!!! The In-bar of Campeche is located directly outside and you will not get any sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Marie,

We appreciate your comments and apologize for the inconvience during your stay. Bar outside the street recently opened and didn´t have a chance to make those rooms suitable against noice, but be sure that it is our priority.

We did try our best to make it better for you and regret the fact that we failed since it was a situtation out of our hands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have had good experiences with this hotel, specially as it is one of my favorite destinations for having quiet romantic dinners.

Once we had a family reunion in the antique dining room, and it was a wonderful experience. The decor is fantastic, with very nice antiques and a lot of character. The food was very good. My only complain was that the service staff, albeit very friendly, seemed to be a little bit new on the job. Also the wine list was relatively limited.

On another occasion I had dinner with my wife in the jacuzzi area and it was wonderful, absolutely no complains. Excellent service and a romantic view of the cathedral at night. We had some very good regional touches with a gourmet touch.

My wife and I payed for a short stay to my parents in law, and unfortunately there were some problems with the hot water supply. Besides that, they had a great time as the location of the hotel is fantastic and they also enjoyed some nice tea on the living room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mario_Ortegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Mario, thank you for sharing your experience with us and for being a loyal costumer. Make sure that your opinion it´s been taking seriously and will be shared with the departments involved in order to improve our service.
Hope to see you soon in Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel & Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in and old big house, it only has a few rooms but they are big and perfectly clean. The staff is really nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is top! Right to the Puerta del Mar on the 59th street. Meals were not included in the price but they offer excellent food.
We were really happy with our stay at Casa Don Gustavo.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ara-alcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDonGustavo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Vielen Danke für Ihren Besuch
We appreciate your comments and we´re glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your visit in the near future. Campeche and Casa Don Gustavo we´ll be always happy to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Casa Don Gustavo deserves to do well. We stayed for 4 nights in August and were very impressed. An old building has been converted with style and the use of high standard antique furniture. The staff are extremely attentive and it is not difficult to get replies in english. I do not recognise the negative comments in a couple of recent postings. The only drawback is the close proximity of a very noisy bar and the noise carries to the rooms overlooking the street. As these are beautiful rooms that is a great shame. I hope when we come back next year this will have been sorted out.

John

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDonGustavo, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear John,

We appreciate your comments and enjoyed having you as guests in Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel. It is always a pleasure to be part of unforgetable experiences in Campeche!

We share your opinion about the bar, hopefully new regulations will be enforced in order to keep this beautiful city enjoyable for all our visitors.

Hope to have you visiting us soon,
Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was very well positioned ,within walking distance of Town Square , the Sea , restaurants & bars .
Elegantly furnished with quiet courtyard & swimming pool .
Unfortunately , as seems the custom in Mexico the Hotels are high priced but breakfast is not always included .

The staff are very friendly and helpful & would recommend as a nice stop over if Campeche is on your route .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzurriblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDonGustavo, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are glad we had the opportunity to host you during your last visit to Campeche. We hope you felt in love it this beautiful city.

We also thank you for comments regarding breakfast not being included; make sure we´ll take them in consideration.

Hope to have you visiting us back soon!
Casa Don Gustavo Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews