We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gamma Campeche Malecon
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located, close to many attractions and sightseeing. Rooms are clean and the furniture updated. The price is just right for what you get.

I'll definitely come back again on my next visit to Campeche.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julio p, Director of Sales at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Sir:

Thank you for your comments, theya re very helpful for us, We hope see you soon again

My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Gamma Campeche Malecon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 418 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Best Western Del Mar. We arrived early, around 9 AM. We knew our room wouldn't be ready yet, but we decided to check in anyway. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we walked around the city. By the time we got back to the hotel, our bags were already in the room. All of the staff that I interacted with were extremely friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel is great. It is right on the waterfront. Our room had a great view of the pool and the water. It is also very close to the downtown area. You are a short walk from the main plaza and other historic attractions in the city.

The room was spacious and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area is also very nice.

My only complaint is that the Wi-Fi did not always work.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and would return here if I am in Campeche again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julio p, Director of Sales at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Sir:

Thank you for your comments, they are very helpful for us, we hope see you son

My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a complete disaster: -paid for a suite but was given a standard room; -the receptionist Armando Tapia had to give me back 2 US dollars (24 mexican pesos) but gave me only 12 pesos; -the airconditioner was ridiculous; -the bellboy ROMANO stole my GPS from a zipped bag as he brought my luggage upstairs. I am done with Best Western hotels. Shame on all you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Fulvio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Another great choice from my fellow travellers. My first trip to historic Campeche, this hotel served Rod and I well. I got a great room at a good price with a killer view. Rod got special parking out front where the doormen could watch him for me. Treated very well at the front desk, even though after 3 days on the road on a motorcycle I was really starting to look rough and being old man grumpy. Checked out my room first, which was very clean and well appointed with tile throughout. Good flat screen TV with 2 gringo channels, nice work area with great wifi ( no charge), lots of plugs and a great bathroom with lots of hot water and pressure ... along with the phone, again. Hmmmmm. This was a very nice, comfortable room. Two queen beds, both very comfortable. A/C unit worked like a charm.The business center was just down the hall and had a good selection of fast enough computers. Out back were two great pools in a well manicured by somewhat bare green space. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, although not included in the price of admission. This is a hotel that caters to the business traveller - which can be big and lacking in personality. They also tend to be more private and open to all kinds of travellers. The deciding factor is usually the staff and all were very friendly, helpful and of great service. Campeche is a very old and historic city, with a modern strip along the Gulf. This hotel sits right between the two distinct zones - a 3 min walk to the walled ancient city, a 2 min walk to the stroll along the seawall and modern restaurants. There was so much to see in this beautiful place, I would highly recommend renting a car and just touring - beautiful roads along the water, crazy chaos in the city itself. A history buff's town for sure. And this hotel was a perfect base to start your tour from.

As always I shot video of this hotel @

http://youtu.be/DJB5gsEpjQ8

location @ googlemap @ www.yolotraveller.com

Room Tip: Take a higher floor for the view, road noise not really a factor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliop01, Director of Sales at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Yolo:

Thank you for your comments, we were glad to have had with us.

My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a disgrace!!! An old hotel turned into a newer hotel with all the bad inheritance from the old one. On a business trip to Campeche, I decided to stay at this hotel (old Ramada). I had a fair experience before and not too long ago, reason why chose to stay there again. My reservation could not be found until another front desk clerk showed up and found it. The first front desk clerk was looking for a reservation made directly with the hotel, whereas I had done it through the Internet. Gave me and electronic key to a room where the nightmare started. Upon arriving to the room the air conditioner was off. The humidity in the room could´ve been very well over 85% and the moldy smell was having a picnic. I turned the air conditioner on and the switch knob turned out to be an "old radio" plastic knob. The switch had only one setting (low) and no way to control the room temperature. The hotel controls all the rooms temperature. So, if you´re hot and sweaty, stay put facing the air conditioner discharge and wait until you freshen up. Meanwhile, I took a shower. Luke warm water. No way to take a hot shower... only luke warm water was coming out of the shower. After the luke warm shower, I went back to the front desk and reported the problem I had with the air conditioner in my room. The avalanche of lies starting to fall... "I will ask the maintenance man to turn on that area air conditioning system", "You´re sweating and the cold air has not yet traveled from the machine room to your room, please be patient", "You don´t feel the air conditioning coming out?" "That´s strange...I will have the bellman go see what´s going on"said the front desk kid. Impossible... I went to School to learn HVAC and no way he could´ve been right. He was lying. I waited over 20 minutes in my room and no one showed up. Went back to the front desk and asked the front desk clerk if I could get another room. He checked availability, called a bellman and showed me three other rooms. Two of them had the same problem. The third one appeared to be in better shape and I slept there. The air conditioner fan speed was tricky. You had to play with the knob before you could find the HIGH setting (really MEDIUM speed). The hotel seems to spend money uselessly in bathroom amenities, instead of repairing, updated, modernizing or whatever it may be to offer good air conditioning to the guests. Will never stay there again. I was late for my business meeting... what a bummer.

Room Tip: Before checking in, make sure you go and check your air conditioner in the room you´ll be assigned t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliop01, Director of Sales at Gamma Campeche Malecon, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Rodriguez:

Me apena mucho los inconvenientes que tuvo durante su estancia y tenga por seguro que trabajaremos muy intensamente para solucionar todo lo que nos indicó en su comentario, le ofrezco una sincera disculpa y lo invito a que regrese y nos dé la oportunidad de demostrarle las mejoras

Reciba un cordial saludo

Atentamente
Julio M. Peña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Best Western Del Mar in Campeche was a great place to stay. It is located right on the waterfront of Campeche, off of the main road, so it is easy to find. From the hotel it is easy to walk into the historic center of the city. The old city walls are literally across the street. Once you pass through the gate, you will be in the central plaza of Campeche, with lots of restaurants and shops and the main Cathedral.
We ate breakfast in their restaurant – it was pretty good fare.
Our room was good sized, with a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with ample hot water and water pressure (not always available in Mexico). There were two free bottles of purified water. There was a powerful air conditioner.
We were in room 348. We paid $94 US for a room with a king sized bed. Our room faced inward, so our view was the cathedral.
If you do stay in Campeche, don’t miss a visit to the Mayan ruins at Edzna – they are spectacular!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel situated in a great place. The view is the Gulf of Mexico and the back entrance is one short block away from the old city. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and very comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor where they had a complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary snacks all day. The best part was the very affordable price--well below other hotels of the same quality. The only downsize was the hughbed was a little hard, although not enough to keep me awake.

Room Tip: get on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithandhelen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#3 of 25 in Campeche
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Campeche
Holiday Inn Campeche
#15 of 25 in Campeche
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#9 of 25 in Campeche
440 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Tucan Siho Playa
Hotel Tucan Siho Playa
#14 of 25 in Campeche
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Don Gustavo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamma Campeche Malecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamma Campeche Malecon

Address: Av. Ruiz Cortines No. 51 | Col Centro, Campeche 24000, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range: $60 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamma Campeche Malecon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and great location at the seaside, waterfront, just one block from historical downtown, comfortable and spacious rooms, with balcony, coffee shop with international and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamma Campeche Malecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Del Mar Hotel Campeche
Best Western Campeche
Best Western Hotel Campeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing