We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice hotel, close to city center. Nice swimming pool, wifi. Staff could be a little bit more friendly, but who cares. Need a Taxi (35 $) from the ADO bus station. We did not make use of bar or restaurant, but there is plenty of opportunity in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vakantiegangers010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We Got two rooms at the second floor. Nothing to Worry about until we opened the door.
It look like they have made the building behind the facade one floor larger than if you look at the building from the front side in ordre to fit the colonian style. So we were actually looking into a wall from our balcony. (Picture Will follow)
Hotel restaurant was in the other hotel, the Campeche Plaza just 50 meters away.
Despite from that everything was ok.

Room Tip: Check if the room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

this hotel works as an annex to the 200 metres away hotel campeche plaza, and there is no bar or restaurant, you need to walk to the other hotel. not even a small bar for a beer or water, not even a water dispenser in a corridor.

room service must also come from that hotel. in my experience you should rather walk out to the street and buy somewhere since after two hours waiting for my coffee kit (junoir suites have a coffee machine but no coffee / cream / sugar kit, that must be paid as room service) for two hours and finally i had my coffee outside.

the price for a standard room is 1.000 pesos, where you'll find a wall less than a meter away from your window. junior suites (which are not such, but just a larger room) cost 1.200 pesos and face a busy street, the windows have one of the poorest noise isolation i have suffered, therefore be ready to be awaken as from 8 am. size of standard rooms and junior siutes is satisfactory.

the receptionist was not willing to asist at all, she behaved like a "half star hostel" receptionist; she only said "good afternoon", "how will you pay?" and that was it. bellboys were at least polite, but unproffessional as well (only when i asked him to comment theroom facilities he did it).

the room had a big flat tv with a variety of mexican, u.s. and one spanish channel, pressing facilities and no minibar. another problem are the plugs: one available plug in the entire room plus another plug at the toilet. the toilet tissue is too far from the place where it should be, so you need to stand up from the place where you are to get it when you need it.

the lights switches concept does not correspond to the a 4 stars hotel either. you can only switch light from one side of the bed and there are no small lamps close to the bed, but a big triple light at the wall on top of the bed.

the hotel is in an excellent location at historical campeche, has a nice small swimming pool and a free carpark suitable for big cars (however not too big, so you can find it full if you arrive late). free internet was very good and fast. rooms were clean in what you see, but not so much in otherplaces (spiderwebs under a table and soon).the bed was average, but the pillows were awfull.

i cannot recomend this hotel. for this price there are better options in campeche (not the same management campeche plaza hotel where i stayed years ago, so i guess there is big management problem).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I have some difficulties rating this hotel that would be otherwise excellent in all aspects with the exception of one problem. The hotel is luxurious and well decorated with very clean rooms that are spacious. However, the way we were greeted, me and my family, made us shortened our stay at this hotel to only one night.
We arrived on July 30, after a 16 hours bus ride ride from Puebla. The 4 of us were a bit exausted when we arrived and waited in the lobby for several minutes while the clerk at the desk chose to ignore us while on the phone (he spent a good five minutes talking without making a simple gesture to tell he would answer us in a while). We have travelled a lot before and have rarely seen that behaviour in a good hotel. We would have left if not for the fact that we were very tired. Another employee (a groom) arrived and the clerk finally decided to answer us. When we asked for a room to accomodate 4 people (2 adults and 2 teenagers), they consulted each other and replied that a municipal regulation was prohibiting the hotel to allow 4 person in the same room. As a consequence, we had to rent 2 rooms including one suite for the total cost of 2,080.00 pesos for the night. At that time, the hotel had plenty of vacant rooms with 2 large beds in each that could have accomodated us.
Later, we discovered the other hotels in Campeche didn't have this "municipal regulation" ! The Plaza Colonial Hotel even had a chart clearly stating the price to pay for additional person in a room! We decided to change hotel for the next day and found out the staff was more helpful than we arrived.
I feel the Plaza Colonial Hotel doesn't like to host families and try to make it dificult in order to discourage them from coming. We had arrived on foot with travel bags. Perhaps, we were not seen as the expected customer for this fancy hotel. We have been in other similar hotel in Mexico City and Puebla and we have never been treated in this fashion that doesn't reflect the usual hospitality of the Mexican peiople. This is a sad situation because this hotel would have been a great place to stay otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martineco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

good location (City centre), good staff. Rooms large and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leogriffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

It was hard to find by car, it was not listed on the maps and calle 10 is quite long and it's a one way (just like all small streets in the old centre). The hotel is actually at the very beginning of Calle 10 (in the East), next to the Plaza hotel. The hotel has a small parking lot (free parking). I actually thought we were at the Plaza hotel, which looks wonderful. However, the "Colonial" part is a separate hotel part just across the street. The quality of the hotel and the rooms seems the same though, it was a wonderful big room with comfortable beds and all the amenities. It's within walking distance of all the nice buildings in the centre of Campeche (a World Heritage site), close to shops and restaurants etc. Only thing: dont go there for the swimming pool; it's small and unappealing. All and all, a good choice for Campeche.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank HamitGunesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#11 of 25 in Campeche
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#3 of 25 in Campeche
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#5 of 25 in Campeche
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Campeche
Holiday Inn Campeche
#15 of 25 in Campeche
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#8 of 25 in Campeche
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche

Address: Calle 10 Num 15 | Centro Historico, Campeche 24000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range: $43 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing