We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Campeche
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went here for a baptism and absolutely loved our stay. They had a great dinner party set up for us at night with an over the top friendly staff. And again the next day for the celebration of the baptism everything was wonderful. Great food, great room, and great staff! The room was clean and comfortable. Only thing was at check in, things went a little slow because one of the girls at the desk kept picking up her phone and texting while we were all standing right there. But overall it was a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    60
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
33
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

POSITIVES

 Breakfast was excellent - omelettes cooked to order, a large range of savoury items, a large selection of prepared fruit. The quality was very high and the standard of cooking was way above what one expects of a Holiday Inn. Good waiters – lots of coffee refills. There was a price tag to go with it – MEX$168.
 My room was on the 4th (top) floor with a sea view.
 The room was good – large, king bed, usual Holiday Inn amenities, internet fast, good shower, balcony, TV with moderate range of channels some in English with Spanish sub-titles.
 Front desk staff helpful and chatty. Some pleasant places to sit in the reception area.
 Air conditioning effective and quiet.

NEGATIVES

 The hotel is 2.5km out of the centre. A taxi from the first class bus station was MEX$35 and all the taxis accepted that as the fare. It took me 30 minutes to walk to or from the centre – very nice at night – a perfect temperature and the Malecon felt very safe with evening strollers. It was a very hot walk in the day. There are buses into the centre: they run inland by about 400m and are very frequent. Taxis usually turn off the Malecon just before the hotel so walking out of town increases your chance of getting one. Front desk were happy to call taxis.
 Few restaurants nearby: some along the Malecon on the way to the centre, many more in the centre of town. There was an Italian restaurant very close but no one ever in it.

CONCLUSION

This was a good place to stay. It provided a very comfortable and relaxing Christmas break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Campeche, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Joe_33:

Thank you very much for your complete feedback about your stay in Holiday Inn Campeche. We appreciate that guests write about how was your visit to the city. All this kind comments help us to know what we can do to be better day by day. Don't doubt we'll be waiting for you on your next trip around the Yucatan Peninsula. Again, thank you for taking the time to write us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The people of the Yucatan seem to go out of their way to make your visit very pleasant as they did so at this hotel however it did lack the charm of Mexico itself. Perhaps a few more decorations would help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Campeche, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Carl L:

thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay at Holiday Inn Campeche. We appreciate all your comments, it let us know what can we do better for our guests. We are glad you have had a nice trip around the Yucatan peninsula.
If you ever come to visit us again, don't doubt we'll be waiting for you here.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent one night in Campeche, and appreciated the ocean-front location of the Holiday Inn, only one block from the main gate to the Old City gates. Our room was a suite, with a King bed and sitting room as well as bedroom, and a large, clean bathroom. We faced the old city, and found it quiet even with the windows open. We don't speak Spanish, but still found the staff helpful and friendly. Our van was washed in the parking lot when we returned in the morning (much appreciated after our dusty jungle trip!) and the front desk was eager to help us place phone calls and give directions. The pool area was very large, with towel and bar service. Great value here.

Room Tip: If you'd like a bit more space, upgrade to a suite. Back side rooms are quiet, with night view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Campeche, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank your for all your nice comments about Holiday Inn in Campeche. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay and appreciate you allowing us to be apart of your experience in this beautiful city. Don't doubt we will wait for you here on your next trip to Mexico.

Best Regards
Holiday Inn Campeche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is not a Holiday Inn standard hotel. The carpets are really dirty, one of the elevators didn't work so it took forever to get to your room, the staff at the front desk wasn't helpful and worst of all the windows are not well sealed so you can hear the wind noise all night when there's little wind outside.
The food was ok, nothing memorable, but it is kind of expensive for the area.
The worst part of my stay was that I had to wait 20 minutes for a taxi, because the hotel does not have any taxi and you have to wait until a taxi company answers the phone and goes there to pick you up. If you are in a hurry like I was this is not good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajerapornegocios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Campeche, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear viajerapornegocios,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the hotel conditions that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments about the carpets and the elevator have been documented and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campeche hotels

Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

While this hotel is quite new and did have excellent water pressure for showers, it was not a great stay for us. Our room was noisy as it overlooked the main drag, there we no curtains to block the streetlight outside and the restaurant was the worst food we were served on our 2 week trip in the Yucatan. Ii would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Campeche, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Per D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you found our location to be suitable for your needs. I deeply apologize for that you were inconvenienced by the noise levels that you experienced. I understand the discomfort that this caused you and I appreciate you letting us know about this unsatisfactory circumstance as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Once again, many thanks for your review.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had stayed at the hotel a few years ago. This visit was to insure that the stay was comfortable. It was close to my friends home and convienient to everything. The hotel was very clean...the restaurant was very good . The Breakfast Buffet was worth repeating. The beds were very nice and the pillows good. (I hate lumpy hard pillows!). I have been visting Campeche for over 30 years. I would recommend the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: For the cautious traveler..you can feel safe and the water is pure. When asked for ice, as the ice m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campeche hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Socaire
Hotel Socaire
#1 of 25 in Campeche
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Campeche
Hotel Plaza Campeche
#12 of 25 in Campeche
422 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 25 in Campeche
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel H177
Hotel H177
#8 of 25 in Campeche
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Castelmar
Hotel Castelmar
#3 of 25 in Campeche
575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plaza Colonial Hotel Campeche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Campeche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Campeche

Property: Holiday Inn Campeche
Address: Avenida Resurgimiento S/N, Campeche 24044, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Campeche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Campeche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Campeche 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located oceanfront on Campeche s boardwalk , offers a great place to relax after a hard working or adventure day. The hotel has a contemporaneum design with comfortable and spacious guest rooms, half of them with an amazing ocean view. We are conveniently located near shopping, commercial, financial, historical and convention centers. In our ANTARA Restaurant you can enjoy an excellent variety of international, local and regional cuisine, have a refreshing cocktail in our Bar AQUA or take a dip in our beautiful pool enjoying the ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Campeche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing