We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marganzo

Marganzo
Ranked #4 of 126 Restaurants in Campeche
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The place was charming. The food is decent but nothing special. Service was indifferent. It's good but nothing special.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sfmarkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    365
    177
    76
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We chose Marganzo after rejecting one or two places described as "legendary" by our guide book. It is bright and busy and the waitresses are relentlessly cheerful in spite of being worked off their feet. On the night we were there there were tourists from every nation under the sun. At the coast we tended to opt for fish and were not disappointed. There is a nice touch after the meal when diners are given a complimentary margarita. Portions were ample and prices more than reasonable. It all makes for an excellent evening

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Happy place with great seafood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was a great restaurant recommended by our hotel for local seafood. We were quite pleased, and visited a couple times on our stay in Campeche. It is right across from the sea gate. Waitresses dress traditionally and were very polite. The atmosphere was elegant, calm, and not too formal.

Food was excellent. Local spices and style of cooking really added to my enjoyment of dinner. Their tamarind virgin martini with crushed pepper rimmed glass was quite tastey. Their horchata con coco was my favorite of the trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Like a 5* resort a la carte restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I just spent 450 pesos (38.00 canadian) includes tip on dinner for two. The food was far better than the a la carte restaurants at the 4 and 5 star resorts I have visited. The dinner began with the typical bread, tortilla chips and salsa. However these where not typical; lime butter for the bread was amazing, mantarraya and a salsa mexicana absolutely delicious. I had camarone all gusto (shrimp in garlic sauce) and my wife had pechuga picata (chicken coated in parmessan cheese and covered with lemon sauce) both servings where ample and delicious. We were also given, gratis, a dessert margarita.
Just one word of caution, when I got the bill the tip was already added on (propina) we did not notice and tipped her again. I guess we made her day and the smile she gave us was worth the extra we paid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dennisdore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Have the Camarones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a very popular spot for expats, along the Main Street, but don't let this put you off. The food and service are excellent. The (Camerones) shrimps and octopus ceviche were very tasty. We ate here twice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelover02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marganzo also viewed

 
Campeche, Campeche
Campeche, Campeche
 
Campeche, Campeche
 

Been to Marganzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing