We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Geumosan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Geumosan
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Gumi
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Really enjoyed a three day stay in this hotel. Room was lovely, quite spacious. The grounds of this hotel are exceptionally beautiful, close to the mountains, streams, temples and the beautiful lake. It is definitely one of the most scenic spots I have stayed in. Its quite obvious that the hotel is well taken care of. It very quiet here at night.
Check in was no problem. We had breakfast two mornings and found it quite good.
Also had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights. Excellent service.
The hotel also runs a cable car to the mountain so ask about tickets in the lobby.
5 minutes away from the hotel is a small area with some convenience stores, restaurants and bars which stay open as late as you want!
A walk around the lake is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMoo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel - Lovely up to date rooms - ours had a great view of the stream and trees.

Hotel staff spoke English. Suitable for Western Travellers.

Breakfast was very good - plenty of choices across all cultures. Coffee was not too good. Brought my own French Press down from my room with coffee made - no hassles - just raised eyebrows.

Worth walking the paths and take some photos by the Lake. Paddle boats for family outings and plenty of tables for picnics.

At night - there is Karaoke downstairs in the attached lounge. We had a blast there. English not so good with the staff. Hand signals, smiles and plenty of attention from them made it a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: View of the woods and stream over the restaurant is a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerarddunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good quality hotel, location quiet and up near the mountain. No fitness centre but lots of places to go out for an early morning run. Average breakfast. I also tried the hotel's chinese restaurant which was quite good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have spent several nights here on 5+ business trips to Gumi. If you like to go for a morning run/hike before work this is the place for you. The temples on the mtn and around the lake are worth the stay. Unfortunately like many places in the area all the rooms smell like Raid bug spray. I suppose this may be preferable to the bugs, but in the winter when you can't open the windows it is a quite overpowering.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

States for only one night as part of a business trip. Good welcome from staff with no language issues. Room a little small compared to some but provided everything necessary.

Good location for a western traveller. Choice if restaurants with a good selection at breakfasts to suit the wide range of nationalities that must use this location.

Hotel has an on site convention centre and facilities to meet this. Built in 2009, hotel is very new and set in beautiful surroundings. Local area has a wide range of bars and restaurants.

Unfortunately we did not have time to explore greatly or try out the leisure facilities but perhaps the next time we pass through.

Overall a good choice for both business and leisure traveller. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed here three times for two weeks each time. In January, February and March 2011

It's one of the most expensive hotels in Gumi, but I got a good deal through LG Display, the company I was visiting at the time.
Rooms are big enough and well equipped with a big TV, airco, bathroom. Basically everything you can expect from a hotel. Rooms are kept clean.
The hotel has two dining options: a Chinese restaurant and a western buffet restaurant. I prefer the Chinese restaurant, but the western restaurant is okay as long has you go there early. The hotel bar was a bit empty during all the my three visits, but the staff is very friendly. But during my first visit they had ABBA on repeat. During my next two visits there was live music from time to time.
Anyway, for the nightlife you have to get a taxi and go to the town. Taxi's are very cheap: 10 dollars get you all the way to the other side of Gumi, across the river and east of the industrial area, where you find a new/modern outgoing area.

The area next to the hotel, Geumosan Mountain has some interesting features: monasteries, waterfalls, statues and caves. But mind you, it's long way up, even if you take the cable car.

One big shortcoming: the ATM in the hotel lobby only accepts domestic cards.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpauli71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Hotel Geumosan is located by the Geumo Mountain.
It is good for people who want a peace or for those who want to climb the Geumo Mountain. It is quite far from the city center, on the other hand you can get there very fast by a car or taxi.

I stayed there only for one night. Unfortunately there are no fitness facilities so the only thing to do was to go jogging outside.

Rooms are very modern and comfortable. They include LCD TV, refrigator, hair-dryer, internet. There are also a coffe/tea facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumi
1.1 mi away
Hotel Park Business
Hotel Park Business
#10 of 23 in Gumi
4 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gumi Century Hotel
Gumi Century Hotel
#3 of 23 in Gumi
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#7 of 23 in Gumi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Gumi
12 reviews
23.1 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Daegu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Logenir
Hotel Logenir
#1 of 2 in Gimcheon
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geumosan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geumosan

Address: 400, Geumosan-ro, Gumi, Gyeongsangbuk-do 39309, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gumi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Gumi
Price Range: $83 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geumosan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Geumosan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing