We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
12
47
15
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
47
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneymodern thaiwithin walking distancebooked deluxe roomsbudget hotelwet marketstandard roomfood stallsstrategic locationlive bandconvenient storeroom servicecounter staffreasonable pricetownliftshop
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 81 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had been to Betong for several times in a year.Almost every hotel i been stays example Mandarin Hotel,Merlin Hotel,New renovation Kong Ka Hotel,Betong Inn,Holiday villa,River Inn View Hotel etc.But i still prefer Modern Thai Hotel for a stay went i in Betong.For the record on the 6th/10/2012(1 night) Stay at Betong Inn(Rate:Poor)On the 13/10/2012 - 16/10/2012(3 night at Kong Ka Hotel top floor(Rate:Average).On the 21/10/2012 - 23/10/2012(1 night at Kong Ka Hotel then change to Modern Thai Hotel).Just for a night at VIP suites room.It was excellent.Later next week i decided to come again to Betong for 7days/6 nights from 29/10/2012 - 04/11/2012.My first choice hotel to stay now in Betong is Modern Thai Hotel.I stay for 3 nights at VIP suites room(Excellent) and I night at deluxe room(V.Good).Had to change hotel for 2 nights coz my big boss is coming down to Betong.Later check-in 2 nights stay at VIP suites Merlin(Average)carpet and furnishings are old.But it was so convenience to go shopping and dine as well as entertainment.Just a walking distances.Lastly my visit to Betong is on the 9/11/2012 - 11/11/2012(3days/2nights).Definitely my stay is Modern Thai Hotel.
The only problem i like to highlight here is a parking problem and wi-fi in the room.V poor signal.The staffs very friendly and helpful.The room service also very good.I surely recommend my friends to stay at this hotel.Plan my next visit is in Dec 2012.Already made a reservation coz the rooms are limited.

Regular Betong Visitor; Mohd Fauzi Ab. Rashid
Cheras/KL/Malaysia.

Room Tip: Prefer VIP suites rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D0n59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modern_Thai_Hotel, General Manager at Modern Thai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks for your valuable feedback and comment. We have noted Wifi signal problem and will add another internet hub from the telecom operator in Betong on November '12. We are pretty sure the signal will much better when you visit us again. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Been there at the hotel in 2011. It was good back then. Checked in back there just recently. The noise just unbearable, those cleaners giggling sound, those other guests bang on the door at 3 am at the hallway. Wifi poor signal. The shower water temperature just could not be adjusted to the right temperature. My friends stayed next room also complaint the same. Next time if i should drive my car to Betong again, i should stay away from this hotel, very limited parking space unless if i got a big bike, my bike parking will be on top priority. Most things were not right during this stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jerfree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modern_Thai_Hotel, General Manager at Modern Thai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Sorry for an inconvenience occur to you about the parking space. All guests are equally important to us, the staff try to re-arrange the parking to serve all in once as the hotel located at center of city where parking is on public area. We apologize for some noise during your stay, it was fully booked and the Wifi issue will be solve by adding more hub from another operator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just came back 2 days ago, have a great stay at modern thai hotel their room & bathroom is spacious & clean, the bed are soft, great value in price, very helpful staffs & specially thank you to Ms.Rose for all the info and direction, also thank you for the new addition to the room the 2 packets snack, just love it.

Modern Cafe is just right at the lobby with nice food & coffee, next door is a sundries shop, opposite hv good wantan noodle & next to it hv dim sum restaurant.
Walking distance to various shops & restaurants etc. 7eleven, betong plaza, central market & wet market which is a good place to do shopping too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I go thear last year ogos n My first stay in the hotel very2 helpful staff great price n great room some more the hotel in the city all the shop n restaurant walking disten only.I like the room coz veri2 clean n the bath room super clean i feel like stay in 5 star hotel.whenever i go betong i will stay thear.Thanks for the hotel staff for good service

Room Tip: no comment
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Segar Krishnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My first stay in this hotel. very helpful staff especially rose. Great price, great bed, great facilities. Overall a good choice for tourist who prefer simple, affordable yet modern hotel. Great location & there is a good wantan noodle stall opposite this hotel. next to it is a dim sum restaurant & the porridge is great! Would definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: just tell the hotel staff your preferences. room at 5th floor was great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thaifreak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews