We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
12
47
15
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
47
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneymodern thaiwithin walking distancebooked deluxe roomsbudget hotelwet marketstandard roomfood stallsstrategic locationlive bandconvenient storeroom servicecounter staffreasonable pricetownliftshop
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 81 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room is clean and comfortable. Location is great, convenient to go anywhere. Staff also very friendly. I always stay there when i go betong

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank candlelilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Till now i would i like to choose this hotel for my priority if i go to Betong .

The room spacious and very clean indeed . Hence it's quite comfortable and good value for money. However , it's would be better if Modern Thai Hotel's management took some actions toward the staffs ( cleaner ) because i felt they were annoying during early morning and talk very loudly during early morning .

The location just nice , and there's a stall during evening time just located outside the hotel selling desserts . Must try

The staffs are quite helpful , they could speak Malay , Thai , English , Cantonese or even Mandarin . No language barriers of course.

Will be back end of the year . * I managed to get a FREE cake for my birthday provided by the hotel . Well thanks again .

Your Happy Customer
Franzcys ( Malaysia )

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FranZCyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modern_Thai_Hotel, Manager at Modern Thai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks for your valuable feedback. We will let all staffs (cleaner) to do their work on focusing the guest privacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel overall is very good and the only issue is WIFI connection not good and diiffcult to get connected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaluRenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modern_Thai_Hotel, Manager at Modern Thai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks for your valuable feedback. Noted the WIFI issue when we running full guest in-house, and this August '12 we will add another high-speed internet provider to separate the CCTV, Lobby + Modern Cafe' area from the existing WIFI in all rooms. Hope this will solve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I will come back this hotel.
The hotel atmosphere is also wonderful.
Settled feeling.
Hotel where the staff's consideration is
wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnesh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Clean rooms and friendly staffs. Good coffee and green tea at the cafe and the best dim sum breakfast place in the opposite side. Good value for money. Downside is you can't get away from the noise in the hallway. Unfortunately the room's doors are very thin and there are many guest with no manners! We stayed 3 nights. First night people were shouting and laughing outside in the hallway until 1am. Next night different groups arrived (older bunch) and they became quiet after 10pm but they were talking loudly at 6am heading for their breakfast. 3rd night was the worst! We were about to sleep around 11:30 pm, the group arrived with children and again they were talking loudly, knocking the doors, and the kids running and screaming in the hallway. The adults went out and came back after 3 am, in spite of the time of the night (3 am!!) they were talking loudly and arguing in the hallway for a while. Very unpleasant. Betong itself is a lovely little place with a surprisingly beautiful temple in a walking distance but travelers go there for other activities (you know what) rather than sightseeing. Fortunately they built the room walls thick enough you won't hear next room but they forgot about the room doors!
If I go there again, I definitely take ear plugs or even ear muffs!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Chika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modern_Thai_Hotel, Manager at Modern Thai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks for your valuable feedback. This month, we will put a sign to ask for keep quite in the hallway. This action we can do it immediately and hope it could do better for all guest privacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews