We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet alternative to hectic Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingston Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Kingston B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“quiet alternative to hectic Queenstown”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We decided to depart from Queenstown due to commercializations, traffic and hectics. Though Queenstown worths a visit, if you prefer traffic, noise, shops & shops, etc. It turned out to be a good choice when we stopped in Kingston. Since our goal was motorcycling & tenting, we spent 1 night at Hector's. It is a nice, cozy and friendly camp with a good mix of locals and tourists. Tent sites are in good setting, on grass, with flowers/hedges and a brooks flowing through. Kitchen is small but has everything you need, with good outdoor seatings as well. Hosts were very friendly and is himself a biker.

Room Tip: Amazing drive from Queenstown to Kingston
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hector's at the beginning of February on our long journey from Fjordland to Fox Glacier. We had had a tiring day of adventure and driving the day we arrived and were thankful to be able to check in so late. We had the #6 "crib" cottage and found it to be very cute and homey. It reminded me of my grandmother's "camp" here in Pennsylvania, filled with a mix of home items and furnishings.

Getting in so late, we pretty much showered and crashed! What was nice about the sleep is that the windows were all open, and the sound of the babbling creek was so pleasant (again, like my grandmother's "camp"). The bed was comfortable enough and clean, all we needed.

I wish we had the time to spend more time in the area and enjoy the outdoor communal barbecue area, but alas, the itinerary was just too tight! We did not go into Kingston or to any of the restaurants, but it looked like a quaint lakeside town.

The only recommendation I would make would be to have your own towel, as the ones provided were sufficient, but a little rustic. For one night, I found it part of the charm of the cottage, but for a week, I would want something a little softer.

I definitely recommend Hector's as a great value and a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel Loving L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We had the crib..I'm glad we were all gd friends-sleeping in one room was cosy to say the least. But it was wonderfully done as a 50s crib felt very authentic. Great location across the best view in the s island in my opinion! "lock" on the bathroom needs to be updated I think though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stopped at Kingston on our journey north from Fiordland to Westland; it much more pleasant than Queenstown, being on highway 6 yet very quiet. There are motel units and a holiday park, with laundry. We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit which was fine, and very cheap(though we did have to pay on booking). It is handy for the Kingston Flyer (recently re-opened), and the Station Cafe does excellent meals.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
21.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
21.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
21.5 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
24.6 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
21.8 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#75 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Holiday Park

Property: Kingston Holiday Park
Address: 16 Kent Street, Kingston 9748, New Zealand (Formerly Hectors in Kingston)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia Ora everyone! Welcome to the Kingston Holiday Park, located just a stunning 35 minute drive South of Queenstown's International Airport. We are the perfect stopover between your journey to or from Queenstown, Te Anau, Milford Sound and Invercargill. At the Kingston Holiday Park we offer: Modern and clean self-contained motel suites and studio cabins, budget/backpacker cabins and luxurious glamping tents! We also offer 43 powered/unpowered RV, Campervan, Bus or Caravan sites and powered/unpowered tent sites. We certainly have accommodation to suit every travelers budget. Facilities: Full camp kitchen with all cups, plates, utensils and cookware provided, microwave, a small pizza oven, women's and men's separate showers and toilets, coin operated laundry/dryer, a BBQ area with free gas for all guests, a dump station and fresh water station and we have WIFI vouchers available to purchase from reception. We look forward to having you come & stay with us at the Kingston Holiday Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kingston Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing