We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful home from home”

Review of Marlowe Cottage

Marlowe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Small Bedroom
Bathroom 1
Living Room
Rear Garden
View from rear Garden
Front of House
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
laurenncf
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed June 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a wonderful cottage! The location is perfect - nestled in a little village, in beautiful countryside, with walks on the doorstep. The off road parking for 2 cars made unpacking and repacking very easy - no lugging stuff for miles! We arrived to a cream tea, chocolate cake, milk in the fridge and plenty of tea bags and coffee. A welcome treat after a long journey. We’ve stayed in holiday lets before where they are no extras so it was really very nice to be able to come straight in for a cuppa! And the extras didn’t stop there - ice, washing up liquid, hand soap, iron, ironing board, pegs for the washing line, airer, toilet rolls, bbq stuff - all of this sounds very mundane but having all these little extras meant that we didn’t have to worry about buying them. The cottage was so well equipped - all the usual kitchen bits and a coffee machine including pods, loads of books and DVDs, ideas of places to go. In addition to this is was clean...I’ve been to places before and had to wash stuff up before starting our holiday. Not here - everything was clean and useable straight away. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and very comfortable. The water for showers and baths was hot - again, sounds silly but these things are important. The garden was a very relaxing place to be - helped by the beautiful weather of course but it was quiet and comfortable with the patio furniture and parasol. Our children enjoyed exploring the cottage - the single room with the ‘den’ above was a particular highlight! My husband is a bit upset we didn’t get chance to use the log burner...not often that you want the weather to cool down a bit!!! We enjoyed seeing the local farm animals in the fields around the cottage and I even got a selfie with a local hedgehog! All our correspondence with Peter and Anne has been very good - clear, with quick responses and friendly. The cottage provided the perfect base for our adventures - canoeing, kyacking, horse riding, walking, running (we had to drive to places - didn’t look into public transport- but it was a lovely place to return to). I would have no hesitation to recommending Marlowe Cottage to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2018
Dear Lauren

Thanks you for your very kind review it is much appreciated.

We hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Pete & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B
1 review
“Quaint, cozy and very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our group of four found the village of Caldbeck and Marlowe Cottage absolutely delightful! We appreciated the welcoming spread that was provided, especially the scones, clotted cream & strawberry jam -- such a treat for us Americans! We made several stops into Oddfellows Pub (had a good lunch there); had a delightful visit with the owners of The Old Crown pub in Hesket Newmarket; and watched the royal wedding LIVE with a group in Kingshead pub in Carlisle. We did do other things besides visit pubs! The poppy display at Carlisle castle was awesome as well as the Cathedral. We enjoyed The Lakes Distillery tour; Cockermouth; Keswick; Dumfries, Scotland; Caerlaverock Castle; Penrith - Lowther Castle; Brougham Hall; Shap Abbey; Hadrian's Wall, just to mention a few. A bonus was the perfect weather -- sunshine the entire time we were in the lovely Lake District!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Hi Nancy & Bob

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Hope to see you both again in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacatione...
2 reviews
“Best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The pictures don't do justice to Marlowe Cottage. It's not only large enough for two couples plus one, it's also equipped with everything we could have wished for. There's even a pair of scales and a rolling pin to make pastry and a cake tin too!
Peter and Ann had decorated the lounge beautifully with a Christmas Tree & decorations and left festive goodies too. It really did feel like home from home for myself, husband, daughter and son-in-law.
There were loads of books, games and DVDs and enough logs for the whole week along with plenty of toilet rolls, tea bags, coffee, toiletries. We couldn't get over how much detail had been put into providing so many staples. Thank you so much.
The garden is private and, again, has everything to provide a comfortable summer holiday.
The Oddfellow Arms is a short walk away and under new management so expect further good changes from the new team (the meal we had there was lovely) and the locals in the village were very helpful too.
We suggest not to use a SatNav as ours took us up and down many narrow lanes - that was OK as we had a 4X4 but others might find them quite worrying. Both roads out of Caldbeck led to main roads which take you to Carlisle, Keswick or Penrith and the Motorway so we found it best to stick to those.
It must be surely be the best cottage we've ever stayed in and down to the care taken by the owners themselves. Many thanks to you both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Dear Jackie & Family

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the summer in the future when the garden really comes to life.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCrabt...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the extras were included!”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fully agree with all the other reviewers and not a whole lot to add; fantastically well-equipped and it was so nice that all the things which are usually extra at holiday cottages were included, particularly a generous supply of dry logs for the wood-burning stove.
We stayed here for a fairly wet week in October because we needed a base to the north of Skiddaw from which to mop-up the northern Wainwright fells. The cottage provides easy access to the start of the walks for all of these, and we particularly enjoyed a 13 mile circuit up Skiddaw going up Bakestall and down via Little Man and Lonscale Fell.
Only thing to note is that the one single room is completely separate from the rest of the sleeping accommodation. This was fine for our 15-year-old but we wouldn't have been comfortable being so far away from a younger child.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S
1 review
“Comfortable, cosy, well equipped in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Marlowe Cottage is in the lovely village of Caldbeck, with great local pub, tea shops and Priests Mill for unique gifts. Plenty of walks on the door step or easy drive into Keswick and the lakes. The cottage is comfortable and spacious, warm and cosy with plenty of hot water for a soak in the spar bath after a long walk. Will definitely visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Dear Sally

Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back to Marlowe Cottage in the future

Kind Regards
Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger W
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Set in a very pleasant village, this is excellent accommodation in first class order.
Two delightful bedrooms and a third single. Great having both a bathroom and an en suite so for us it was ideal. Separate kitchen with all amenities, a warm and cozy lounge and dining area. Very easy access to Carlisle and Hadrian's wall sites. Quiet lanes to the outskirts of Keswick and the rest of the lakes. Local pubs offer good food at reasonable prices. Happy to recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Dear Roger

Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back to Marlowe Cottage in the future

Kind Regards
Peter & Anne Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canoeberr...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect cottage”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at Marlowe Cottage. Scones and flowers greeted us upon arrival and the accommodations were lovely.
From the outside the cottage appears to be ordinary, but once inside you find a house with original details but every modern convenience in excellent condition.
House is well stocked with books and toys for children of all ages, kitchen well stocked for the cook. Beds were very comfortable and the linens of the highest quality. We had fine weather and enjoyed the beautiful back garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing