We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good B&B "Back O' Skidda"”
Review of Swaledale Watch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caldbeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swaledale Watch
Ranked #2 of 2 Caldbeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The owners met us on the road so that we wouldn't go astray, and took us by their car to the pub in Caldbeck for our evening meal, fetching us back after a couple of hours. A very pleasant 'down to Earth' no nonsense couple who have obviously put a great deal of effort into making their house a haven for folk brave enough to look at the outer edges of the Lake District. We are happy that we found this place - and only because the first B&B we phoned to had their answer-machine on so we phoned to the next. We would be more than happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hamish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Swaledale Watch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here recently and we had a strong feeling throughout our stay that we were not particularly welcome. I appreciate that the other people writing reviews on this page seemed to have had a very different experience but we can only speak to our own experience and that was that there was the people running this B&B were not particularly friendly or welcoming. I appreciate that is a slightly vague criticism, but for a B&B I think a hospitable atmosphere is essential since you have the feeling that you are staying in someone else's home. Lots of small but significant details and incidents contributed to this impression. To mention a few: when we arrived I introduced myself but the lady answering the door did not give me her name; in fact she made us stand at the door for a couple of minutes without inviting us in. We were staying in an annex and she obviously did not want us coming into the main house. We asked about wi-fi and she seemed annoyed that we wanted the pass-code and started complaining about guests who took away the small slips of paper with the code on it. There was zero reception in the annex we stayed in on any of the devises we brought with us - I'm not complaining about that in itself, I appreciate we are staying in the countryside, but the host must have known there is no reception in the annex and I would have rather she was just honest with us and told us that rather than pretend there was. We asked for breakfast early and she said that she could do breakfast from 7.30, but when we turned up at that time the following morning she was clearly irritated (again if she had just been up front and told us that she could not do breakfast until a later time that would have been fine). During breakfast I asked for some advice about ways we could shorten the walk by using buses and her response was extremely curt and un-expansive. She mentioned the name of a town we might be able to get a bus from. When I asked for more details she pointed to a large pile of papers and said that somewhere within them was a bus timetable. I walked over and asked if she could show me where the timetable was and she was clearly annoyed (there was no one else at breakfast at the time so she could not have been that busy). Finally, just as we were leaving she told us we had to bring our luggage (which was being picked up) from the annex to the living room. It is a small point but I think that luggage being delivered and picked up should be delivered to the room the guest is staying and picked up from there. Some other minor points about the accommodation and location: the shower did not work properly (it seemed to revert from extreme cold to extreme hot). The B&B advertises itself as a 'busy working sheep farm' but that is really just the profession of the people running it and no effort is taken to show you around the farm - it is just a B&B (and not a particularly good one). And finally the accommodation is very isolated, there is no pub or shop in the near vicinity so we ended up not having dinner (we booked dinner at the pub in Caldbeck but that is a mile away along an undefined, rough and at times steep path and we did not fancy walking back along it after a couple of drinks). All in all a very bad experience. Caldbeck itself is a very pretty and pleasant village a mile down the road, I would recommend staying somewhere in the village itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids-ages 8,11,15) had a lovely time staying at Swaledale Watch with Nan and Arnold. We stayed in the Annex which was a small cottage that included two rooms with full baths, living room with TV, as well as a small kitchenette with microwave,fridge and sink. Perfect space for a family and we were very comfortable there. The beds were very luxurious with excellent linens and everything was super clean. Breakfast was full English as well as additional choices of cereals, yogurt and fruit. Nan is a perfect hostess and we enjoyed teaching our children how to use a full place setting of silverware and use proper table manners at the beautifully set table. We especially enjoyed watching the birds, feeding the ponies and watching Arnold and his collies herd sheep. The short hike to Caldebeck along the creek is not to be missed and was a highlight of the trip. The area is convenient to many things and we enjoyed Rookin House Activity Center for outdoor activities such as horseback riding and air gun shooting, keswick for boating,The Puzzle Place(kids loved this place)and shopping and muncaster castle for the owl world. We also attended a very sweet and friendly church with lots of kids in Hesket Newmarket. The Oddfellow Pub in Caldebeck also had good food and we enjoyed trying the Yorkshire pudding. Wonderful time and would stay there again!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danagalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night while walking the Cumbria Way. A very warm welcome awaited us after a day of walking. The room was large and very comfortable and the breakfast very tasty. Definitely a place to return to if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a two day break cycling from Cockermouth to silloth then Calbeck and an overnight stop. Tis is a working sheep farm and is truly delightful.
We were in the annexe which consisted of a delightful lounge , a small kitchen if needed. A lovely bedroom tasefully decorated, towels beautifully soft and tied with a bow! complimentary toiletries in a very nice bathroom. The view from our window was lovely vof the surrounding countryside. It was so so quiet you couldn't hear a sound
The breakfast was more than adequate and was truly a hearty one. Pineapple to start followed by a choice of over 10m cerals all good well known brands, full english if you wanted it I didn't but husband di, followed by toast and croissants! there was jam , honey and marmalde and also a choice of yoghurts and juices.
Very secure lock up for bikes and the owners were so kind the nearest place to eat an evening meal was the oddfellows just over a half a mile away and as we had no car they dropped us off in the village and we walked back through a lovely scenic route!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed only one night in "Georgina" (that’s the room with the four poster bed). Everything we needed was in that room. It was decorated to high standard and lots of extras where available.
The wifi didn't have coverage in the room but it was usable in the breakfast room.
Breakfast was large and to a high standard, and if you were lucky you could see a red squirrel at the bird feeder by the window.
All in all a very enjoyable stay. We intend to return.
Later I intend to upload some photos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The farmhouse is a mile or so west of Caldbeck and we reached it along a riverside footpath that passed the ruins of a watermill at the Howk. Swaledale Watch is just opposite where a bridge crosses the beck. We were made very welcome by Nan and she drove us into Caldbeck where we had an excellent dinner at the Oddfellows' Arms. Nan picked us up again and we settled in a spacious and sumptuous twin room (a double and a single bed in the room. The farmhouse is charmingly decorated in a chintzy style reminiscent of the 80's, and spotlessly clean. Everything in the bathroom worked faultlessly. Nan cooked us a sustaining and tasty full English breakfast and there was a wide choice of cereals and fruit. This was the best value of all the places we stayed along the Cumbria Way. I would be very happy to stay here again. The countryside is interesting and beautiful around Caldbeck.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swaledale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swaledale Watch

Address: Swaledale Watch Walpo, Caldbeck CA7 8HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Caldbeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caldbeck
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing