We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caldbeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkhouse Hill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed with our seven-month old daughter in the Mickle Rigg cottage in early June for three nights and enjoyed it very much. A car is needed, but the place is simply charming and in an ideal country setting. We had some difficulties with hot water in the shower (available only for a short time), but it wasn't a big problem. There is firewood at hand for a small price and a fireplace in the cottage just gives that feeling one would hope for from a cottage in the Lake District. Most area attractions are easily reached by car and there is a town nearby for amenities, as well as a service station on the M6. Highly recommended, deserving of its awards, and we'd definitely stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    24
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just had a lovely stay in Chapel Beck cottage at Monkhouse Hill. We had a welcoming tea tray in the cottage which provided us with fresh milk , mince pies and mulled wine .The cottage was very cosy and clean, it was well quipped and the large bed very comfy. We particularly enjoyed the sauna and log burning fire .A real treat away .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked to stay at the Fisher Gill cottage at Monkhouse Hill based on the good reviews and great amenities offered; we were thrilled to find that it lived up to every expectation. The cottage was clean, warm and welcoming, the cakes provided on arrival very tasty and the wood burner a real hit. Lots of information provided in the cottage, the local walk guide was really useful and the general facilities on site were all of high quality. As well as the local walks from the door the cottage was a great base to explore the Caldbeck Fells (although we may need to return as we never made it to the hut on Great Lingy Hill to sign the guest book!) We also made use of the complimentary access to the North Lakes Spa in Penrith (20-30 min drive away) a couple of times (gym and wet spa) which was a real treat on wet days! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent a weekend in Raven Howe cottage which was lovely. It was a very spacious cottage with excellent facilities. Personal favourite was the hot tub on the balcony with a beautiful view. Great location for exploring the Lake District. The grounds were well kept with a nice lake and were very peaceful, perfect for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattCumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just recently had my Hen Weekend here and I can't speak more highly of this place. It was perfect. The views are stunning and the facilities are great. We stayed in Great Calva. The rooms were all very well furnished, it had a lovely living room and lots of room around a big dining tables for the late night wine drinkers! We will definitely be coming back in the future. Well worth a visit. Penrith and Carlisle are also in easy driving distance for the complimentary spa trip and shopping!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monie534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great child friendly place to stay. Warm welcome. Free use of kids equipment (cot, highchair, box of toys) a big bonus. Beautifully kept, quiet grounds. Great place to base yourself to explore the lakes. Handy that tesco are happy to deliver groceries there. Look forward to returning and staying in one of the houses that has a hot tub!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wobblybot35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Tyrone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Cloven Stone Cottage for 1 week. The facilities were excellent, the Hot Tub being a bonus. We have 2 young children who were well pleased with the toy boxes provided. Both bedrooms were en-suite including a bath in each. The ability to borrow 'Baby Equipment' was an excellent extra, in that we had less equipment to bring with us. On arrival there was wine and milk in the fridge and a lovely plate of home made cakes and biscuits. The cottage was very cosy and warm and fully carpeted throughout. The bedrooms are on the ground floor, leaving the kitchen/dining/living area upstairs where you have a beautiful view from the verandah. The cottage is situated in a quiet country location with some very nice villages nearby. Would highly recommend a stay at Cloven Stone.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are on ground floor and are very quiet at night. Good size with lots of storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrobCoTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldbeck
8.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
13.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
454 reviews
10.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
11.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkhouse Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkhouse Hill Cottages

Property: Monkhouse Hill Cottages
Address: Monkhouse Hill Farm Sebergham, Caldbeck CA5 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Caldbeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Caldbeck
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkhouse Hill Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Monkhouse Hill Cottages Hotel Caldbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing