We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cottages and strongly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monkhouse Hill Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caldbeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkhouse Hill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
bradford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottages and strongly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Myself and 18 ladies came up from Leeds for my hen do and stayed at the Brae Fell and Great Calva cottages in July. The owners could not be more helpful and made us feel really welcome, with wine and home made cakes and biscuits upon arrival.
I would highley recomend any of these beautiful and well looked after properities especially are there you have temporary membership of the North Lakes Spa which is a nice bonus.
Enjoy your trip....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjyardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in the Round Knott cottage which is very nice, however, it is a lot smaller than I had anticipated and therefore not as luxurious as I had imagined. Anybody over 6' like me will struggle with the low beams and small bed. That aside the hot tub and view from it are fantastic. The owners are unobtrusive but very helpful if required. If I could have 'supervised' the cottage it would have been 5 stars all round. The cottages are no more than 80 minutes drive from any of the Lake Districts many attractions, the closest 'big' town would be Penrith about 20 mins drive, there you have temporary membership of the North Lakes Spa which is a nice bonus. I have stayed in equally nice cottages for less money in other areas of the UK which would put me off a return, however that may just be down to the Lakes being more expensive generally.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naepace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Chapel Beck cottage. It was absolutely amazing, The staff were very warm and welcoming. On arrival you are greeted with a selection of gorgeous cakes and a bottle of wine. It had a lovely spa room with a Sauna and steam room. The cottage itself was very homely and welcoming. The kitchen is very well equipped. The location is stunning. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My girlfiend and I have recently spent a week in the fisher gil cottage. We have a six month old baby and were very happy with the cottage. The people that run it could not be more helpful and made us feel really welcome. Cottage was well stocked especially the kitchen and had a really nice log burning stove in it which kept the place nice and warm. We did have a slight problem with the heating one day but as soon as we mentioned it it was fixed immediately. Location wise the cottages are right at the top of the lakes however it is easy to get round and you are near the m6 as well which is handy, we were able to go to Carlisle Penrith Keswick Windermere and Scotland. Well worth a stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed as 2 couples in Cloven Stone in May. Superb accommodation overlooking fields. Plenty of room and lovely and comfortable. Very clean and tidy. After a days walking it was just bliss to get into the lovely hot tub on the private balcany and just relax, certainly helped all the aching muscles! Lovely tray of cakes, afternoon tea and a bottle of wine as a welcome when we arrived and hosts very friendly. We had a really nice time and would go there again. Good pub about mile and half away, just about walking distance but take a torch!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev_J1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Monkhouse Hill and found both the accommodation, amenities and location to be excellent. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with little treats on our arrival. The hot-tub on the balcony, a popular luxury. The kids playground would have been well used, had the weather been better. The buildings are right on the main road, which we didn't expect from the photos on their website but, despite our initial reservations, it didn't have any affect on us. We would certainly recommend this place and will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were two couples staying in Cloven Stone, a lovely cottage with all amenities and a hot tub on the balcony overlooking the fields at the back, the decor was very nice, very clean and the welcome pack was great - bottle of red wine, tea, coffee, milk, plate of homemade traditional cumbrian cakes. Excellent. The cottage itself had lots of info on the surrounding area, board games, books, stereo, dvd player etc and onsite there'a a games room with pool table, ping pong, etc, a laundry room and ample parking.

if I had to be very picky (and this is really picky) it would be nice to be able to turn up and use the hot tub straight away (after all it's not everyday you get your own personal hot tub) but you have to ask for it to be turned on, go to the main cottage, fill out some health and safety forms, read some literature and then someone will pop over and get it ready for you, the process doesn't take too long but if the whole procedure could be made easier for the guests this would be better.
Also, another very picky note but we only had one bath and one hand towel each to last for three nights so it would have been better to have had separate towels for the hot tub and others for use in our bathrooms, or to have had the towels changed every couple of days or something.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deansgate, Owner at Monkhouse Hill Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thanks for the review, please note that if we didn't have a 'Health & Safety' process which is understood before the hot tub is used, we would be operating illegally!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldbeck
10.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
8.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkhouse Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkhouse Hill Cottages

Property: Monkhouse Hill Cottages
Address: Monkhouse Hill Farm Sebergham, Caldbeck CA5 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Caldbeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Caldbeck
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkhouse Hill Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Monkhouse Hill Cottages Hotel Caldbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing