We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage, super feel to it”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carolearl...
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, super feel to it”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I and our dog stayed at Ellwood House in September. We really enjoyed the experience, and the cottage is very well equiped. Lovely garden, and area. Caldbeck is a true gem. We will definetly be back. Thank You

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted you really enjoyed your stay in this fantastic cottage and found Caldbeck to be a true gem. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumski201...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and garden”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Inside the cottage was nicely furnished and decorated. It was cosy and warm throughout wiwith a good shower and comfortable bed. It was very pleasant sitting in the garden - we were very lucky with the weather.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful cottage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Ellwood house is a beautiful spacious cottage , with everything you could possibly need. Like home from home really .With lots of extras added too.such a beautiful garden to sit out in with plenty of seating and a big bbq.i would recommend ellwood house to everybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House, Caldbeck. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful cottage and were able to enjoy it's beautiful garden. It is great to hear that you would recommend Ellwood House and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartycr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a one week stay at Elwood House. The cottage is situated on a quiet country road. We were a little concerned when we read another review which said that there was traffic noise throughout the night which wakened them. We didn't experience any noise during the night - in fact it was birdsong we wakened to every morning! The cottage is well appointed with everything you would need for a self catering stay - wifi worked brilliantly and laundry facilities also great. As others have mentioned, the kitchen is a little dated, but is perfectly adequate. 4 out of the 5 beds were slept in and were all comfortable. The back garden is lovely and a little sun trap, we enjoyed a bbq while our kids played safely in the gated driveway. The garden is well enclosed and safe for dogs too. A lovely cottage in a fab village - we'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location and found the cottage to be well appointed with everything you needed for your stay. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clappedou...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Lakes”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location of Caldbeck is a beautiful quaint village with a few little shops, local pub and tea room. There are plenty of walks locally without having to drive but, a visit to Aira Force is highly recommended and if possible, the walk up Gowbarrow Fell.

The actual house is spacious and very clean but the kitchen is tired however, saying that, it had most things that we needed. Do note, the house is on a main road and vehicles and tractors pass literally right past your window. This meant we were woken a few times (11pm a tractor passing and it returned at 0300 in the early hours). If you live in a quiet location then this is probably not the place for you as it is loud when vehicles pass. We left a day early due to tiredness simply because of the noise but also the mattresses (see below).

A few points ..., it would have been nice to have a coffee on arrival. We found the coffee was rock hard and stuck to the bottom of the coffee jar. We were only given 1 toilet roll and ran out (not good). The hoover isn't too good as the attachment did not fit and we had to get on crouch down to hand hoover the carpet. The single beds are in a terrible state, I had to sleep in one of them one night was husband snoring. The springs are jutting through all of the single beds in the house so I had to use a bench seat cushion that I found in the cupboard to lay on the bed. If I had children then I would not be happy about them sleeping on these mattresses - they need replacing.

If you do stay then you literally need to take everything you need with you (towels, cooking oil, condiments, toilet roll etc). It is a lovely house and has a good size garden that you can let your dogs out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Village of Caldbeck
Liked least: The noise from the road and the mattresses
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Ellwood House. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the house in the beautiful village of Caldbeck. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding supplies at the property but as Ellwood House is advertised as a self catering property we state on our website that only electric, oil and bed linen are included in the cost. We have forwarded your comments regarding the kitchen and the mattresses to the owner. Again, we are sorry that you had issues with the mattresses, however, if you had brought these issues to our attention during your stay we would have had an opportunity to address these issues.

We do hope to welcome you to one of our cottages in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grim72
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great base to explore the Lakes”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this accomodation for the Easter week as it was the only accomodation we could find available to suit our needs for 3 bedrooms and 2 dogs so were a little nervous. We needn't have been - it turned out to be perfect for us. 3 good sized bedrooms (1 double and 2 twins), a sitting room/dining area more than adequate in size to comfortably sit 5 of us and the 2 dogs - and beautifully appointed. We didnt need to light the wood burner as we were blessed with great weather. The bathroom is also modern with a good power shower. The only thing needing a bit of a spruce up is the kitchen but having said that it was still clean and had everything you need (just needs modernising a little) - would also benefit from a bigger fridge/freezer. The washing machine/drier is located in the adjoining barn where there are also bikes (no hellmets though), fishing nets etc - all a useful addition.

All in all the propert is great, we even had a BBQ in the back garden which wa snice to sit in after a day of walking and exploring the surrounding area.

The village of Caldbeck is lovely with plenty of walks to discover along the river and countryside. As you head down the hill to the village, take a left before you reach the village (towards the duckpond) and you'll see a signpost for a walk to Howk. This is a great little walk (only about half a mile) where you will discover an abandoned Bobbin Mill and spectacular waterfalls - our son (9) loved exploring along here and enjoyed getting his feet in the water. You can then cross a bridge over the waterfall and up steps into a farmers field - cross this and you end up more or less back at the cottage.

On an evening we enjoyed the boardgames provided in the dresser and just chilling out with a bit of tv.

You are probably between 30mins to an hour drive away from the main tourist spots of Keswick, Cockermouth etc which are worth a trip to and we'd recommend just parking up along the way when you see a spare parking spot alongside the Lakes. Try Grange, do the Borrowdale drive and take in the spectacular views/driving experinece of the Honiston Pass (not a drive for the faint hearted).

Our SatNav got us more or less to the front door - just take the next left around the back of the property for a great dedicated parking area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Ellwood House.

We are delighted you found Ellwood House beautifully appointed, the kitchen well equipped for your stay and used the property as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back to Ellwood House in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c689
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the property for 3 nights at the end of November 2014 and we had a wonderful time away. The cottage was a great size both inside an out, with plenty of private parking to the rear.
Internally the cottage was very well appointed with everything that we needed for the weekend. The cottage was also very clean and tidy on arrival.
The village of Caldbeck was very nice and quiet - the cottage is in a quiet spot too with very little traffic going along the road in front.
It is located quite far from the lakes but it was a lovely drive down to them, and there is plenty of walks/cycle routes around the cottage to enjoy.
Overall a fantastic stay and we would definitely recommend to friends and family alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire, wifi access.
Liked least: Location was a little far from lakes although plenty of other stuff to do/see in Caldbeck and surrounding villages.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Ellwood House.

Thank you for recommending Ellwood House to others!

We are pleased to hear you found the property well appointed for your stay and enjoyed the size of the property inside and out.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back to Ellwood House or another Lakes Cottage Holiday property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing