We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view with great vibe”
Review of Gigante Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gigante Bay
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with great vibe”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Can beat the location of this place. The only hotel right on the beach in this town...not that any of them are far. Stayed three night in a private room with private bath. Room was clean and bed was comfy, room was hot during the day but cooled off in the evening thanks to the breeze off the water. Only real complaint about room was it was right beside all the shared washroom so you got to listen to ppl do their business and the housekeeper did laundry right outside our window at 7am. We were in room #4. I brought ear plugs and other then the laundry slept well. As for the restaurant everything we ate was good but we did find the food expensive so ate most meals elsewhere. Drinks somewhat pricey as well but they had drink specials everyday that were priced better.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bailey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    25
    17
    20
    7
See reviews for
8
41
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's a bit of a walk to some of the best surf spots in the area but the walk is so beautiful and the waves are epic once you get there, the walk is really worth it! The hostel is really nice, simple but good. There are loads of things to do in the area and all of it can be arranged and/or advised through the hostel staff. Friendly and nice people! And free coffee in the mornings!

Negaitves
- no kitchen for guests and limited food menu at the bar.
- there was a few things on our tab we didn't order from the bar and a few things we did order were missing. Kinda evens out eh? But it was sorted out quickly and easily and the staff were very trusting of our opinions.

Overall it was amazing and definitely 5 stars! Location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were at the bar and asked about the tours and ended up doing an amazing rappel down Giant's foot. Jon was very accommodating and showed us an awesome time! He made us feel comfortable, safe and was very hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

It took me awhile to post my review, but let me tell you this was hands down the best trip I have been on. I have surfed a lot of places and have traveled to different locations, but Camino Del Gigante more than stands out!

The staff were great and always checked in to see how things were going. The owner is a stand up guy with all good intentions. He really cared about all the travelers and there experiences and made sure a buddy and I were happy. Good people all around. Every person I met was more than friendly and far exceeded my expectations for a trip to Central America.

The bar and restaurant have a great vibe with great music cycling all day long and beautiful sunsets. The sunsets are better than what you see in 'paradise magazines.' You name it this place has it- boating, fishing, kayaking, surfing, spearing, climbing, hiking, snorkeling, etc. The list goes on...

I surfed perfect head high waves, caught dorado offshore, kayaked around a beautiful cliff, met great friends, and shared many liters. AND that was just one day. Imagine spending a week here! I was supposed to travel other places, but fell in love with this little secret of paradise.

Stoked on Camino Del Gigante!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My sister, mum and I found this hostel in our lonely planet book and thought we would give it a try. Headed there originally to surf but the waves ended up being too small during the time we were there. Luckily this place is so awesome that it wasn't much of a worry. It is super chill and everyone is really friendly. We were able to do a rock repelling trip offered by camino which we all had a blast doing and would definitely recommended it. It was a sad goodbye for this place and I would love to head back one day!! The trek to get here is well worth it and you won't regret going.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sroseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good times spent in the lounge/bar/patio at Gigante Bay. Such a pleasant place to wake up, hop in the peaceful sandy ocean, rinse off, pour yourself a hot cup of coffee, and sit in the rocking chairs reading until you feel like jumping in again. The beach itself has the most enjoyable little waveswells that oscillate between rowdy body surf to floating on your back rocking. Cheapish beer and a fun staff make for long nights and new friends. Cant get the sunset over the bay out of my mind. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was my second trip to Camino Del Gigante. From my first trip I remembered blissful paradise without a single negative thought. My second visit surpassed the first. The owner John was as gracious and welcoming as any family member I've ever had and the atmosphere radiated good vibes and friendly conversation. When I bought a liter of beer it was shared with new friends who would buy the next. I enjoyed a world-class sunset every evening at one of the most beautiful untainted beaches I've ever seen. I'm writing this review so others can enjoy the experience, but secretly hope it remains a secret for my own selfish love that I don't want it to change.

The rooms were simple and clean, the price was lower than anywhere else, and there were plenty of activities run out of Camino that kept my buddy and I more than occupied. We caught a huge mahi, kayaked, surfed, and were too chicken to rappel (but I do recommend it from the pictures). We were supposed to stay a few days and bail but ended up spending our entire vacation there with no regrets. It's a black hole of everything you want in a trip in one place.

This is my experience, if anyone wants any other tips on getting there or has any questions, I'd be glad to help you out: colganallen@gmail.com (Surfer, tourist, freedom fighter, friend to all animals)

Room Tip: Just talk to the friendly folks at the bar and they'll set you right up. Also ask about single f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
372 reviews
11.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
9.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigante Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigante Bay

Property: Gigante Bay
Address: South Side of the Beach, Playa Gigante 48500, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, eat, play- The Gigante Bay family consists of a variety of beachside lodging options, great food and funky fun vibe at our restaurant/bar, and plenty of outdoor activities to choose from. Situated in the small and tranquil fishing village, Playa Gigante, we offer a home away from home with everything at you need at your fingertips. At Gigante Bay we're friends before anything, either you'd like to be social staying at our hostel, joining our sail trips, or enjoy the calm of our private rooms, feel free to contact us. All our lodging alternatives and activity operations are located on the Southside of the beach of Playa Gigante, Nicaragua Gigante Bay Accommodation Options: Camino del Gigante Hostel- rooms, dorms, hammocks and camping. Colorline Lodge- Double and single rooms. Casa Amarilla- Apartment & Suites Gigante Bay Activities & Amenities Beachside Restaurant and Bar Massage service Free morning yoga Sail boat cruises Rappelling Horseback riding tours Surf lessons and board rentals Fishing trips Hiking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gigante Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigante Bay Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing