We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super chill with a fab view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gigante Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gigante Bay
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super chill with a fab view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Watching the sunset from the funky patio area right on the beach with a Tona in hand is amazing. Staff was really friendly, the beachfront location is fantastic, and food was tasty. The hostel could have been cleaner and the rooms were a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a private room make sure you stay on the second floor as the rooms on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    16
    17
    6
See reviews for
8
38
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Playa Gigante is a little out of the way and off the beaten track, which is what we loved about the place and Camino del Gigante was a favourite place we stayed. Funky, cool common area, right on the beach. Large rooms, comfy beds. Helpful, friendly staff. Everything we ate there was excellent, although it is a little overpriced - but you can always go into 'town' and eat elsewhere if you want cheaper. We loved the place so much we stayed on longer than planned. i'd definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for something like 10 nights along with a friend(although once u stay here, everyone in the hostel becomes your friends pretty much right away).
Excellent surf at the two beaches to the north, with the breaks; amarillo for the "beginners" and colorado and panga drops for the more eperienced dudes.
The staff at the place are just amazing, actually the whole town is on pretty much first name basis after a week or so :)

Really comfy beds, good ventilation in the rooms and good shared baths and showers.
Would recommend to anyone going to pacific coast of nica whom wants to avoid the more "touristy" places like san juan and pop.

High five to Charlie and Bonni at the bar who kept our tequila-shots comin :)

See u guys again next year guys!

Chris and Esa

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hostel was very disappointing and we were quite happy to leave this morning.
Why?

* Prices that were listed on the website were not honored upon our arrival stating that "the prices just went up".

* The small double room with 2 single beds and no bathroom ended up costing $26.45/night.
* The overhead fan was so filthy that we couldn't turn it on if we wanted to.
* Equipment for rent was outrageously priced.
* Food that was not ours was added to our final bill. (Change was made with no problem though).
* A friend staying here as well was "accidentally" charged for 6 meals when she actually only had 3.
* Walls are paper thin which allowed for the whole hostel to hear each bed squeak and moan.
* At the entrance to the hostel is a lovely collection of driftwood which could qualify to be an episode of Hoarders.
* To the beautiful toucan kept in a cage, karma will serve you in your next life.
Heartbreaking.
* Chatter of the female workers will be your wake up call around 620am followed by
rap music at 7am. Swears included. And I LIKE rap music!

There are some positives!!

* Pancakes were awesome! Had them every morning.
* Free coffee with breakfast. Not the best coffee but not the worst either.
* Every meal we had was quite good.
* When rap is blaring at 7am, the deck and seating area can be muy tranquillo with an area
for your yoga practice, balancing training, reading or soaking up the sun.
* Friendly staff.
* Good showers.
* Beautiful sunsets and wicked location. Steps to the beach.
* a few magazines, books and board games available.

Wouldn't stay there again but it could be the right fit for some people.
Nonetheless, the beaches and rock formations are absolutely beautiful and worth the trip to this area.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Camino del Gigante is a very cool hostel, situated on a spectacularly beautiful beach with all the amenities you could possibly need for a chilled out holiday- restaurant, bar, surf boards to rent, yoga lessons and boat tours. The food is delicious- I especially recommend the pancakes, granola and yoghurt and homemade gourmet burgers! There is a very relaxed, friendly and sociable vibe and the staff are welcoming and make you feel at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janefeighery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place is a lot of fun and right on the beach. The bar serves nice cold drinks, they have a chef that cooks up mean dishes using local products. You can also take your own catch and either use the grills available for guests. Rooms range from $ 10 bunks with shared bathrooms to $ 50-60 AC rooms. Fun to hang out at night and peaceful at the same time, best spot in Gigante.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paccelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinotepe, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I visited Gigante this month and I hear the Word in town about the excellent cuisine from Pilli’s, our curiosity got us there, and we got the best friendly service ever, not to mention the Fantastic food, it was fabulous, everything we ordered was superb, the salad, the panchetos, the pasta, and the chess cakes, just out of this world!! Great prices too!! I have come back twice since then, and every time I visit my palate indulge, not only in the flavor of the kitchen, but my senses as well, with the incredible view of the ocean bay, the pelicans diving onto the ocean, the tranquility of the place, and the friendliness of the staff. Definitely a place you should visit if you are in Nica!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RACHEl1590602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
11.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigante Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigante Bay

Property: Gigante Bay
Address: South Side of the Beach, Playa Gigante 48500, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, eat, play- The Gigante Bay family consists of a variety of beachside lodging options, great food and funky fun vibe at our restaurant/bar, and plenty of outdoor activities to choose from. Situated in the small and tranquil fishing village, Playa Gigante, we offer a home away from home with everything at you need at your fingertips. At Gigante Bay we're friends before anything, either you'd like to be social staying at our hostel, joining our sail trips, or enjoy the calm of our private rooms, feel free to contact us. All our lodging alternatives and activity operations are located on the Southside of the beach of Playa Gigante, Nicaragua Gigante Bay Accommodation Options: Camino del Gigante Hostel- rooms, dorms, hammocks and camping. Colorline Lodge- Double and single rooms. Casa Amarilla- Apartment & Suites Gigante Bay Activities & Amenities Beachside Restaurant and Bar Massage service Free morning yoga Sail boat cruises Rappelling Horseback riding tours Surf lessons and board rentals Fishing trips Hiking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gigante Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigante Bay Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing