We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brice and co. go out of their way to get you surfing until you drop”
Review of Giant's Foot Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Gigante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giant's Foot Surf
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brice and co. go out of their way to get you surfing until you drop”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

New owners are terrific. Probably the biggest differentiation between these guys and others is their professionalism and service oriented attitude. They care. Their boat and captain are extremely available and will take you surfing MORE than you want.

The owners also understand the environment they are in and are extremely welcomed by the locals.

Someone visiting should go here to surf--not much around. The beach is gorgeous and tranquil.

While it is the middle of nowhere, the location is ideal for surfing--on the beach. The price is fair and all the employees work hard.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdtravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Do you want to surf uncrowded,world-class breaks 3 times a day? Do you want to be in a beautiful, remote location that's off the beaten path and free from rampant tourism? Do you want stay at a small casual lodge right on the beach that feels like home and where all your needs are catered to by really friendly, cool, laid-back and fun staff? Then Giant's Foot is the place for you! It was so awesome I extended my trip from 7 days to 12 days. For what you get (which is pretty much everything you want!), its a great value. I plan to return again and again. Its hard to imagine a better surf vacation. I highly recommend Giant's Foot. PS: we went into San Juan del Sur one afternoon, and let me say I'm really glad I didn't stay there -- its entirely overrated and there's no surfing there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obduckdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Long ride from the airport, but the AC makes it okay. Picked up on time, with a full amount of energy. Camp is right on the beach. The food is excellent.. Fresh fruit everyday. Surf guides are helpful and ensure that you go to the best spot for the day. Transportation is by boat, extremely convenient. Staff is great, and are more then willing to accommodate your request.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonCrazyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I'm hesitant to write this as a semi-greedy surfer who wants this little gem all to myself, but the crew at GFS was so great that it's well worth a small gesture to pump their business.

Went down with 4 friends to surf. We'd been surfing Costa for a few years and wanted a change. GFS delivered. Never a down moment with as much surf as you can handle. Chapin and the guides were up at 400am every morning rallying the troops with positive attitudes. These guys were never bummed and always promoted getting after more waves. If you wanted to take the boat out for a surf/fish they were right on it. If you wanted to rest....well.....not a bad crew to have a beer with either.

Food was awesome, lodging was cool, location great. Go enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RagingPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Man, I had a very good time down there. In addition to the waves going off, the whole crew was smart, funny and professional. If you are looking for a major resort experience then you've come to the wrong place, but if you like decent comfort in an off-the-beaten track environment, then GFS might be your place. Only thing is that I'd rec maybe going earlier in the season to avoid the growing crowds in the lineup. I've heard it breaks pretty much all years down there.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAjamespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This small beachfront hotel, while decidedly not luxurious, and definitely off the beaten path, is perfect for those who are looking to have an authentic, laid back vacation at the beach without all the usual annoyances of a big resort. Since it is in such a remote village, the electricity, cell phone reception, and the internet access are often spotty, and there is no hot water, though when we were there, there was talk of putting in a solar water heater in the future. Rooms are pretty basic, but they are cleaned daily and there is AC if you need it (we only used it one night). But you don't miss these things when the weather is warm and sunny year-round and there is always something to do. What it lacks in amenities is more than made up for by the amazing location and the entertaining owners, Bryce & Elisa, the surf guide, Chapin, and the rest of their accommodating staff.
Days can be lazy or action-packed depending on what you want to do. You can have an enjoyable vacation, whether that means surfing several different spots each day, taking a sunset hike up to the top of Giant's Foot, going sightseeing, snorkeling, kayaking, or simply relaxing in a hammock and taking a swim at the gorgeous, empty beach. We were there during the low season when the surf is not as big, but there were still some spots that were big enough to surf.
The food is simple, plentiful and good, ranging from local favorites like home-made tortillas filled with fresh-caught fish to more American style cuisine. In addition to their kitchen, there are a few small restaurants down the beach. They all have small menus but the food is fresh and plentiful, and we never got sick.
In the evenings, people go to bed fairly early most nights, but there were a few parties with some of the other ex-pats from neighboring hotels on a few nights while we were there. They had a beer pong tournament one night, a pig roast another night and a fire on the beach another night. The fridge is always stocked with the local beers (Victoria and Tona), and someone will always fix you one of their specialty drinks. Overall, we had a great, relaxing time and felt very at home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

GFS is a surf camp. I'm not a surfer, but I went down because I was in need of simple sand and sun, and I had some friends who were in the area. I didn't know what to expect when I got there, but got more than I was hoping.
Elisa and Bryce run a great place. They're relaxed and chill, and made me feel very welcome in their home.
The never-ending beer fridge was cool. The hammocks were great. The selection of DVDs and books was surprisingly good.
The beach was amazing. Safe, clean, used by both locals and the few travellers in the area.
If you're a low-maintenance traveller, and looking to avoid a tourist-infested locale, this is an awesome spot. 2 thumbs up. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
#1 of 6 in Playa Gigante
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giant's Foot Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giant's Foot Surf

Property: Giant's Foot Surf
Address: Tercera Casa del Estero Sur, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Gigante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giant's Foot Surf is a cozy surf lodge nestled on the beach in Playa Gigante. We have 3 guest rooms with private bathrooms, a living room with lots of books, movies galore, and a flatscreen TV, and an outdoor dining area. Our sandy backyard is strewn with hammocks to relax in after your surf sessions. Our boat, Vale, waits in the bay to take you to the nearby breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giant`s Foot Surf Hotel Playa Gigante
Giant's Foot Surf Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing