We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for!”
Review of Giant's Foot Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Gigante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giant's Foot Surf
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We were looking for a spot to stop for a while as we are driving through Central America with a tiny pickup camper - we needed facilities, possibly a room - were hoping to find a secluded beautiful beach with an opportunity to chase one of my dreams - To SURF!

The staff and amazing - friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating - It felt like we were hanging out with good friends at a cottage in Canada. Except this is the coast of Nicaragua!

We've driven down most of the Pacific coast of Mexico and Central America - this is one of our favorite spots so far. We liked it so much that we are heading back to possibly spend as much as a month there starting this Monday.

If you are looking for a secluded beautiful secluded beach spot in Nicaragua this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trollmessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2009

From the moment I arrived at the airport in Managua and was greeted by the owner's of GFS, (Bryce and Elisa) I was treated as a VIP. The GFS staff was very professional, friendly, and informative during my 12 day stay. The rooms were very clean, air conditioned, and the bed was comfortable. One of many highlights was sleeping in the hammocks at anytime during the day, listening to the melodic rhythm of the waves crash upon the beach but only 50 yards away. Pure bliss. A delicious breakfast and lunch was provided daily and the large kitchen was open to allow guests to cook as they desired. Chapin, the onsite Surf Pro was very knowledgeable about the hot spots to surf and where the big breaks could be found. Another highlight was going out on the Sunset boat rides around Gigante with some beers and fishing along the way. We ended up catching a large Mackerel even before we got out of the bay! That night Bryce made some amazing Ceviche using the Mackerel we caught. Other notable highlights were the beach bon-fires, watching the sunset each evening on the beach, climbing up to see the view from atop Giant's Foot, Roman candle fights on the beach, and lest I forget the GFS bar with some of the best original drinks I've ever tasted! Hands down this is the place you should stay if you come to Nicaragua! Just be warned, once you visit GFS it is extremely difficult to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calhounjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Transfer clean and easily fit 6. The owners Bryce and Elisa are totally friendly and super accomodating. The guides, Chapin, Chanone, and David are all super friendly and will help you score more waves than your arms can handle. We surfed all the big breaks, Colorado, Panga Drops, Rancho Santana, Gspot (all quick boat rides away from camp). I don't think that this part of Nicaragua is necessarily the best for total beginners because being dropped into a break from a boat may be a little overwhelming for some but my buddies handled it. Also, most of the bigger breaks drop significantly in size just a couple hundred yards down the beach.
Food is all taken care of and great. The drink fridge is AWESOME.
Accomodations are nice and no frills. The bathrooms could be nicer and the water pressure is spotty but for some reason all this doesn't seem to matter as much when you are there. All have AC.
Nightlife is almost nonexistent.
BOTTOMLINE: This was a great experience. Bryce, Elisa and the boys showed us a great time with really fantastic attitudes and took care of our every need. Other than tip, you really don't have to spend any money once you get here. Awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Hi Guys,

As always, it is such a blast staying at Giants Foot. This was my 5th year in a row staying with GFS and every year it gets better and better. From the first class service to all of the great surf spots, the 6-8 hours a day of surfing offshore waves, the insane 3 solid meals with plenty of variety and flare, to the large tonas, rum, and tranquil vibes your staff always provide, you cant really beat it for an 8-10 day strategic surf strike. I hear a rumor that you now have internet service as well, so that rocks if you need to check back home!! Please keep up the good vibes, the hospitality, and the great service! Looking forward to seeing you all in 2010!!!

peace out,
Devin
Carlsbad Ca

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBCarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Great surf in Nicaragua, great spot beautiful etc...the surf although hugely consistent is out of your control, and the beauty although stunning is in the eye of the beholder. Regards what you can know for certain - the GFS bunch and their place are fantastic - v welcoming, great atmosphere, always friendly, great food...they're all having a great time and you will too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larks789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Gigante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#2 of 2 in Tola
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
Hacienda Amarilla del Mar
#1 of 7 in Playa Gigante
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gigante Bay
Gigante Bay
#2 of 8 in Playa Gigante
151 reviews
0 mi away
Amarillo Surf Camp
Amarillo Surf Camp
#3 of 8 in Playa Gigante
4 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas de Gigante
Cabanas de Gigante
#4 of 7 in Playa Gigante
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giant's Foot Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giant's Foot Surf

Address: Tercera Casa del Estero Sur, Playa Gigante, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Gigante
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Gigante
Price Range: $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giant's Foot Surf is a cozy surf lodge nestled on the beach in Playa Gigante. We have 3 guest rooms with private bathrooms, a living room with lots of books, movies galore, and a flatscreen TV, and an outdoor dining area. Our sandy backyard is strewn with hammocks to relax in after your surf sessions. Our boat, Vale, waits in the bay to take you to the nearby breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giant`s Foot Surf Hotel Playa Gigante
Giant's Foot Surf Nicaragua/Playa Gigante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing