We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, nice setting”
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice setting”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

For my wife's birthday I booked a meal at Close House golf club, in the No.19 restaurant. We had " the soon to be famous " Braised beef with dumplings.
It was to put it bluntly, awful! the braised beef was rare with blood in the middle, and the dumplings were so salty they were almost indelible!
When the waitress informed the female chef about this, apparently the reply was " well that is how I cook my food "! We were offered free sweets, we declined! The waitress knocked the price of our ginger beers off the substantial bill!
I was really annoyed and upset because it spoilt my wife's day.
The day after we tried here ( I wanted to put things right! ). We had white vegetable soup with crusty brown bread, my wife had steak and mushroom with Guinness pie, I had salmon fish cakes, we finished with a coffee. Everything was lovely, the service was very good and the place has a really warm feel about it. What a difference!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I was sad to hear of the bad experience you had at another Hotel but delighted you were able to rectify this and enjoyed your meal at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming your return soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    89
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
83
162
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. Wanted a peaceful break so took a chance booking this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Receptionist was very welcoming and willing to help including extending our check out time so we could have a longer lie in. Hotel looked like it had recently been decorated, very clean and fresh looking. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed, was also able to park car outside our room. Slept very well curtains kept the room dark even in the morning. Bed was very comfortable and large. Didn't eat at hotel as we had a meal out in the evening and opted for a lie in instead of breakfast. Had a drink in the bar great atmosphere. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted with your comments and next time you stay we look forward to your feedback regarding our award winning Bistro.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and myself booked into the Beamish Park Hotel last minute as a treat through laterooms.com for only £75 and could not have been happier.
Firstly, a mistake on my part as I thought I was booking for Beamish Hall but I couldn't have been more pleased with my mistake.
On arrival we were greeted by a polite and friendly receptionist that have us all the information we needed.
The walk to our room was a joy itself as we saw the lovely layout of the hotel and the beautiful decor. First look at our room for the night, we were more than happy. Clean, spacious, fresh smell, nice bathroom and a love n comfy king sized bed. After getting settled in, we headed to the restaurant for our booking and were quickly seated by another friendly member of staff.
Now this is my only negative with our stay, as much as we both enjoyed our meal (we both had steak) I felt the menu was very limited and over priced for what actually came on the plate.
After our meal we had another quick drink in the bar area before heading to bed for a lovely nights sleep.
We would both definitely come back again but would think about dining else where if the menu was the same.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor,

We are delighted with your overall comments and duly noted your comment regarding our Bistro and Head Chef has been informed.

We look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked at the very last minute due to a bad experience the night before at a different hotel which we had booked to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Beamish Park Hotel basically bent over backwards to accommodate us. The excellent receptionist did everything she could to make our stay pleasurable including early check-in, free upgrade, price match and complimentary breakfast. Our room was faultless and exceeded our expectations in every way. All staff were professional yet friendly and the meals to a very high standard. Overall an excellent experience, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and it was lovely to hear how we went the extra mile to make your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming your return soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've visited the Durham area a few times of late and stayed at some good places (but this time they were fully booked) and some that weren't (and I wasn't that desperate to need to go back) and then I chanced on Beamish Park Hotel.

Unfortunately I can't comment on the food as the call of Yo Sushi at the nearby Metro Centre on a "blue Monday" was far too strong but having sampled the delights of a hearty breakfast with smiling service, next time I may just forgo my "treat" to give evening dining here a try.

The arrival was warm and courteous and efficient and when given my keys I was given a key card and a normal key. What's these for I enquired to find out one was for the patio window that allowed me to move my car around to the rear and unpack my car straight into the room. Brilliant for someone who carries so much with him on business trips.

The room was "mammoth" and the bed so comfortable too.

I would thoroughly (and genuinely) recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting the area for one night or for a base to travel around the locality. Oh and yes, I will be returning and keeping my fingers crossed that the evening meal matches the rest of my recent experience.

Room Tip: Try room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and happy you found us.

We certainly look forward to your return very soon and eating in our Bistro.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A party of 6 of us booked for Sunday lunch for a special family occasion. All of us enjoyed the main course, although the two who had pork felt it was rather on the tough side. The vegetables were plentiful and lovely. However, when it came to choosing a sweet, one member asked for a small or half portion of cheese and biscuits (full portion cost £6 and would be rather too much). This was refused. How mean was that? Rather spoilt the occasion as the other sweets were thoroughly enjoyed. Don't know if we will want to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apoIogies for your disappointment on your special occassion. As you are aware this is certainly not our usual standard and the issues have been addressed.

Please contact me direct to make future bookings as we look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We used 2 interconnecting rooms as were 2 adults traveling with 2 teenage sons. When commented on there being no fridge a small one was bought to our room immediately. One of the toilets became inoperable but the staff were very very sincere in their apologies and did have it adhered to as soon as was practical. The beds were great and the rooms quiet. Our boys made great use of the golf course and range, this is what attracted us to the hotel. The staff were really really pleasant, helping with restaurants, and made a booking for us at an Italian in Sunniside with fantastic food. The bus for Newcastle and the Metrocentre stops right outside and a visit just across the road to the historic railway is really pleasant and a lovely bush walk. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

It was good to hear that your request for a fridge was delivered to your room immediately and sincere apologies for the problem with your toilet.

However, it was good to hear that overall you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming your return soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#40 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
266 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
462 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
271 reviews
3.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing