We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the County” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best in the County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The BPH is set in one of the most historic areas of the country. Beamish Museum is passed to get here and the Causey Arch is minutes walk away. The Tanfield railway at the bottom of the drive. The hotel looks out onto the Durham Moors and gives the impression of isolation from the hussle and bussle of Newcastle which is only a few miles away.The staff are the friendliest I have ever met. From checking in to leaving I did not find anybody who was not courteous or helpful. The rooms are excellent and the restaurant is superb. Overall, although only there for the night, it deserves a 5 star plus rating. I would recommend the BPH to everyone who is looking for high quality when visiting the North East.

Room Tip: The first floor room I stayed in was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return soon.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    77
    30
    9
    1
See reviews for
74
135
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner and I booked a late deal for this hotel. It was easy to find and is in a great location. The room was very clean and nicely decorated.
The rooms were really quiet and the bed really comfy.
We ate at the restaurant on the evening and both enjoyed our meals (especially the desserts)
All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
We would definitely return to this hotel for a short break and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted with your commentsand thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends. Recommendations are the way forward for an Independant Hotel such as ours.

We look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned following an overnight stay to celebrate my wife's birthday, the room was excellent with two LCD TV's leather sofa's and a super king bed, the welcome was warm and friendly and there was doubt that customer service was the priority. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent and the staff were clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant is excellent and only exceeded by the level of service which is attentive but not over the top, the views of local countryside are stunning and there is ample free parking. Thank you for a memorable stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with all your comments regarding our Hotel. The surrounding views of our fabulous countryside is an added bonus as you rightly have noticed and yet still located only 10 minutes from the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've just returned from a short break in County Durham and we wanted a hotel in close proximity to the Beamish Museum, the Beamish Park Hotel was just perfect, the warm friendly welcome was just the start of a memorable break, The room was spacious and very well equipped and the meals produced by the chef were outstanding, the food was full of flavour and the attention to detail in the presentation would not be out of place in a Michelin starred establishment.

All the staff we encountered from the receptionists through to the table staff and the management were very friendly, polite and very competent in their roles.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, we will definitely be returning there when we next visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and certainly look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent sunday lunch, Service is fantastic...Always a good lunch, great location. very good for families.
Plenty of parking, Nice facilities. Good choice of menu.
Food is very fresh and well prepared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your feedback regarding our Sunday lunch menu, food, service and location.

We certainly look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our local gem. Only live 10 mins away but regularly stay over in an executive room at the end of a lovely evening of fine dining. Youngest daughter had her wedding reception here and we could not have asked for anything finer. Hotel smart, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who are all great, and we haven't found any other consistently fine cooking in the north east as yet (sorella sorella has just become a close second for us). Chef Chris has published his own cook book so you can try to replicate his cooking in your own home but as regular diners unfortunately we havent found any time to try any of these yet. Look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with all your comments and we look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant (for sunday lunch) has to be the best in County Durham. Mothers Day lunch was superb, beautiful starters all round, the tempura prawns were so tasty! As was the terrine of chicken, main course was perfect, I love the rib of beef, and the chef catered perfectly for a gluten free request. Dessert was fab and coffees unhurried.

The staff are wonderful here, polite, friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: This is a restaurant review only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suegibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on nTripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed 'Mothers Day Lunch' and we are immensley proud of your comments regarding our food and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming your return.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#41 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing