We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal better than anticipated, would return.”
Review of Beamish Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beamish Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A great deal better than anticipated, would return.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I attended as part of a conference for the day and I have to say I was pleasantly suprised by the hotel. Having never been there before I didnt think the photo's of the hotel did it justice. Very nice place to stay. Rooms very clean, spacious and neat. I had a room which had a patio door which opened out on to the back which would be very nice in the summer. Big test for the kitchen on the night as around 50 people sat and ate a combination of couverts on the evening. Personnally I had soup, beef dinner and a cheescake. All were very good, soup incredibly tasty and smooth, some good herby notes in there and sometimes difficult to edeliver on time when theres so many tables to cover. The beef was tender, gravy, tasty and the dessert was the icing on the cake!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments.

As a busy Hotel its good that our standards are maintained throughout and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    91
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
87
163
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north-east england
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for a single night while attending a wedding elsewhere.

We thought the room was pretty expensive (especially with breakfast on top) but the staff were lovely.

Our room was really cold (but we were having extreme weather at the time) and the staff really tried to find us a heater. They weren't successful but they were most concerned that we were OK and offered us extra duvets and blankets. They also managed to find us some bags to carry our posh stuff to the wedding in as we had to travel in winter gear given the weather.

We also really liked the patio area our room had and the fact that we could come in and out this way too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your comments regarding our helpful staff and how you liked your room, but as you say the weather was extremely cold.

We look forward to your return in warmer times so you can take in the breathtaking views.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked interconnecting rooms for family of four, for one night, as visiting relatives. Quoted £150 on phone, but turned out it was £160.00. i thought this would have included breakfast but this was on top. For this reason we both agreed it was overpriced. Good clean and quiet room, nice decor. Poor water pressure for loo and shower, and no fridge to put our wine. There needs to be an offer/gesture made for breakfast - half price for children or something, as price needs to be reviewed...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We have a selection of different bedroom styles to suit individual guests needs, some with and some without Fridges.

We also believe our rates reflex the standard of our Hotel and are great value for money.

Families with children are very welcome and we do have discounted rates on childrens food.

Please contact me direct when you are next visiting the area and I will personally make your reservation.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My best friend had his wedding reception here, the food was lovely, the function room was huge and the staff were amazing. I did love the decoration, it wasn't too impersonal and I am sure that my friends wife had discussed the wedding favours with the staff because each table was decorated lovely. I had a wonderful time and it was just a really nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara-Eos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed the whole 'Beamish Park' experience and the wedding is one you will not forget. Thank you also for the lovely comments regarding our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming your return very soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamish
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Didn't stay here as I live nearby but they are not listed as a restaurant and that's a major ommission! I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants that are nowhere near as good as this. They get two AA rosettes year after year and it shows. Absolutely delicious and innovative food, attentive staff, lovely dining rooms - all wonderful. Not too expensive either so good value for this level of dining experience. If this restaurant was in Newcastle City Centre you would wait weeks for a table.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here but friends have. The rooms are all good with plenty of parking near. One nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your 'Fabulous' comments as feedback such as yours truely motivates our Team and each and everyone of us has read your review!

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return to our Bistro.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the BPH on several occasions.....having read a previous review , I'm baffled by the 'time warp' Comment.. @the beamish park you get modern facilities great food friendly staff....in fact you get the ultimate package , this hotel should be top of anyone's list wishing for a great hotel and overall experience ....keep up the good work ! ! !

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DurhamNorthcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments and feedback such as yours truely inspires our Team.

We will certainly continue to deliver the 'ultimate' package in hospitality to our guests.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Did not stay at this hotel, but came to eat in the restaurant. The standard and quality of the food, and the imagination of the chef was excellent and far superior to many higher rated restaurants in Durham and Newcastle. The service received from the staff was also very good.

Recomendations - Ham and cheese bread and butter pudding, lamb wellington and chocolate marquise with popping candy sorbet.

Superb, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBP020, Director of Sales at Beamish Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted with your comments regarding the quality and standard of food served in our Bistro.

Head Chef has a fabulous imagination regarding food, one of the reasons he published his very own Cook Book.

Once again many thanks and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Sandra Devlin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marley Hill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#34 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
260 reviews
3.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamish Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamish Park Hotel

Property: Beamish Park Hotel
Address: Beamish Burn Road, Marley Hill, Gateshead NE16 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Marley Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beamish Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Beamish Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beamish Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing