We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
45
10
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
10
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner other places a tiny bit long story shared kitchen hot water balcony surfers community hostel nicaragua country
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 60 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Bad Place, Bad staff.
Rent a Surfboard with many nouns, after bringing back, they said, i made a new noun, so I had to pay 20$.
You should rent your board at another place! This is so unfriendly, bad and very unwelcome!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 964colind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017

No doubt that you are going to enjoy this place, people are friendly, the quality-price is good, the view and the shape of this hostel reminds me of Gaudi and if you are a surfer this is the place for you.

Room tip: Private room is great much better than dorms because they can be too hot.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pelopinchazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

I stayed at the Melting Elefante for three days, Michael was the host because Marco was out of the country. The pictures seemed a bit odd but they're far from representative of the actual place. The rooms are wonderful, the people are friendly, and the sound of the waves are incredible. Every afternoon all of the surfers gather right in front of the hotel to surf since it literally has the best waves directly in front.

Room tip: rent a 4x4 to get here if possible, cars are OK too but the roads are dirt.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jessebkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

A few things we wish we would have known:

1) The single bed occupancy/ dorm price DOES NOT INCLUDE air conditioning!!!!!! We were very mis-led by this. There are fans in the room and an air conditioner but it costs $10 per night to turn on.
2) The tower and the dorms do not have a private shower. The shower is a common shower in the patio for washing off from the beach and open for all to see.
3) You get a better deal by NOT booking online. We checked in with girls who walked in w/o reservations and they were charged $5 less for a dorm bed than we were (we booked in advance with booking.com)
4) Though this made the guesthouse even more appealing......It is FAR from most places and can be expensive to get to ($40 from San Juan del Sur and $100 from Managua).
5) This is definitely a guesthouse not a hostel. The managers were only on the property for about 4 hours a day popping in and out. They were not there when we arrived leading to confusion in cost per night when we checked out. Most of the recommendations for dinner and arrangements for surfing happened because we asked them as soon as they got there or we talked to other guests.

Best part of our stay though...
- Steps away from an amazing and untouched beach
- Watching the surfers from the many hammocks
- Incredible community of guests staying at the house
- Pizza down the road at Club Surf
- Nightly bonfires on the beach
- Gorgeous sunsets
- Tranquilo vibe that surrounds this place

Would totally recommend Melting Elefante, just know before you go :)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5  Thank CBri_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Can't fault this place or the management. Amazing spot on the beach, clean and very well run. Mike goes out of his way to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible, and it was! Originally meant to stay 3 nights but ended up staying 7. Even for the budget conscious such as ourselves this can be made affordable.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank DavidH2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews