We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
45
10
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
10
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner other places a tiny bit long story shared kitchen hot water community board balcony house surfers nicaragua hostel country
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

A few things we wish we would have known:

1) The single bed occupancy/ dorm price DOES NOT INCLUDE air conditioning!!!!!! We were very mis-led by this. There are fans in the room and an air conditioner but it costs $10 per night to turn on.
2) The tower and the dorms do not have a private shower. The shower is a common shower in the patio for washing off from the beach and open for all to see.
3) You get a better deal by NOT booking online. We checked in with girls who walked in w/o reservations and they were charged $5 less for a dorm bed than we were (we booked in advance with booking.com)
4) Though this made the guesthouse even more appealing......It is FAR from most places and can be expensive to get to ($40 from San Juan del Sur and $100 from Managua).
5) This is definitely a guesthouse not a hostel. The managers were only on the property for about 4 hours a day popping in and out. They were not there when we arrived leading to confusion in cost per night when we checked out. Most of the recommendations for dinner and arrangements for surfing happened because we asked them as soon as they got there or we talked to other guests.

Best part of our stay though...
- Steps away from an amazing and untouched beach
- Watching the surfers from the many hammocks
- Incredible community of guests staying at the house
- Pizza down the road at Club Surf
- Nightly bonfires on the beach
- Gorgeous sunsets
- Tranquilo vibe that surrounds this place

Would totally recommend Melting Elefante, just know before you go :)

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
5  Thank CBri_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Can't fault this place or the management. Amazing spot on the beach, clean and very well run. Mike goes out of his way to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible, and it was! Originally meant to stay 3 nights but ended up staying 7. Even for the budget conscious such as ourselves this can be made affordable.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DavidH2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Let's just say the location was great and the owner (fill in for real owner) is super generous, nice and has incredible knowledge about the town! The place is funky and the kitchen is very useful and majority of the time, clean! Room four is incredibly hot and does not offer air con so we moved to room five and the owner made is private for us which was great! Highly recommend staying here and relaxing in the hammocks and watching the surf! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't pick room four!
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Wonderful - there is nothing more to say about this hotel !!!
Hotel is right on the romantic beach. Nicaragua is an amazing and wonderful place to get away from the running life.
Hotel managers are amazing :)

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jūratė P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

We booked this place because of the price as we found a very affordable rate for a beachfront place! We were pleasantly surprised! We could use their fridge, their kitchen, bottled water... very unique house... very beachfront! Quiet at night- not a party house! Next door their is a hostal that is a bit more noisy at night but it wasn't too bad as the house is very well built and solid. Hot water in the shower as we had a room with a private bathroom. Boogie board rental for $5 the day. Awesome and beautifully clean beach! Will definitely return. Just a FYI, not all room rates include Air Conditioning... we were there at a time when the fan was enough... but I am sure certain months you should pay the extra fee for some AC. We at at Nica Vida down the street which was an awesome spot and really good food! Also a FYI is that about the last 10 or so KM is a dirt road... so be prepared for a bit slower drive till the end. Can't wait for this to be paved till the end!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank motogrlmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews