We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melting Elefante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melting Elefante
Ranked #1 of 9 Rivas B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I did not sleep here, however, I came here for drinks and dinner a few times while I was in Nicaragua. The food is great. The beachfront view is amazing. The location is great. The people who work there are very friendly. When I was there, every Friday was sushi night and the sushi was yummy! The architecture of the building is amazing down to every last detail. Finally, they have wi-fi you can purchase for use on your own device, and they take credit cards here. I saw one of the rooms, and it is truly awesome, down to every last detail. Very clean and very comfortable looking. I would stay here next time if I return to this part of Nicaragua.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trusty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Melting Elefante for a surf trip. The location was perfect for us as it is right on the beach and only a short walk to other restaurants etc. We stayed in one of the 'suites' which were $45 p/n but we were kindly offered a better price as the room we had originally enquired about was taken. The room was big and had some nice extras that you don't normally get like a wardrobe, storage areas and dimmer lights. The room was clean upon arrival but wasn't serviced at all for the 5 days we were there. It would have been nice just to have the rubbish emptied at least every few days, but it's not a massive problem. You can order food from the bar area there. We had a few breakfasts and lunches. The food was pretty good but we kind of felt as though we were inconveniencing the staff when we ordered food, especially when the Marcos wasn't around so we tended to eat out most of the time. There is a good comedor next door and a few cheap places at the end of the street. The only gripe that we had was the TV. We often wanted to sit in the bar area to use the wi-fi but the TV was really loud and the owners had their baby in there so people would be talking loudly over the top of the TV and sometimes it was just wayyyy to overwhelming. A little disappointing because Popoyo is such a chilled out place and this kind of took away from the atmosphere. Overall though, good room, hot shower, beach at your door, you can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Melting Elefante during a surf trip to the Popoyo area. We immediately fell in love with the design as soon as we saw it while we were walking down the beach one afternoon. The first night we arrived at the "Elephant" it was sushi night (friday nights), super cool crowd and great tunes, convinced us that this was going to be our base for the next couple of weeks.
The staff are amazing, the food was 5 star, and Marcos the owner is the ultimate host! There's a few different room options. We stayed in "The Water Tower room" which was amazing, it has a King sized work bench fitted with super soft Egyptian Cotton Sheets, nice touch.

While we were there, we ended up finishing the last 2 shots of Jack Daniel's, which we later found out was Marcos's personal bottle. It can be a bit tricky to find JD in Nicaragua, so if you're going through Duty Free at the airport, please pick up a bottle and share it with Marcos while watching one of the amazing sunsets...

Room Tip: Water Tower Room is awesome and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tundra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The owner Marcos and all employees and friends of the hotel were like a welcoming family. I enjoyed every moment I was there. The food was good, drinks cold, service great and the overall prices could only be considered GREAT VALUE. I will be back amny times in the future!

Room Tip: Every room in the hotel is great and an awesome value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott83616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

just spent a week with my seventeen year old son, great place, honour bar lets you have cold drinks day and night, big portions of food, cold ac, marcos the owner is very accommodating and a fine host........we will be back! terry and trevor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waverider0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I planned a very last minute trip to Nica and a friend of friend told us to check out the Melting Elefante as it was "quite an experience." He was right, just an overall great feel here.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was incredible- huge room, amazing design with a double shower and fantastic balcony. You could pay $20 for air conditioning, but there are so many windows that we were comfortable with just the ocean breeze.

Marcos and his staff of more than accommodating. We arrived on a Saturday to hear about how much fun everyone had at sushi night the night before. I was bummed we missed it so he arranged to repeat the whole ordeal for us the following night. While there are only 3 rooms at this place there is a great little community with the neighboring places on the beach making for some fun evenings! This was our first stop on our Nica trip and we seriously considered extending our stay. It was definitely our favorite of the 3 places we stayed, check it out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great time here with our kids. It's an easy walk to the big surf break, but the surf right in front of the hotel was perfect for kids. Even e sand is perfect for sand castles. It's in a friendly neighborhood of small hotels with a mix of surfers and young families, with a mix of foreign and native folks. They have a great sushi night, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivas
7.8 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
68 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
8.3 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ola Verde
Hotel Ola Verde
#4 of 5 in Popoyo
24 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gigante Bay
Gigante Bay
#2 of 6 in Playa Gigante
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melting Elefante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melting Elefante

Property: Melting Elefante
Address: Guasacate, Rivas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Rivas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rivas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront 3 suite hotel/house with AC, Hot water and free high speed WiFi. Located on playa Guasacate which is a 2.5 hrs taxi ride from Managua, Nicaragua. Overlooks Popoyo surf break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melting Elefante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melting Elefante Nicaragua/Rivas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing