We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Rivas”
Review of Hotel La Mision

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rivas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Mision
Ranked #4 of 8 Rivas B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed 4 times now and haven't left a "review". For that I'm ashamed. This quaint little Hotel is far and away the best place to stay in Rivas. They did a remarkable restoration of a once family estate, although it does look like it could be a "Mission". The decor and plants make the ambience work. It is a very clean and beautiful setting. I do baseball both in Rivas and in the rural areas of Tola. I love the serene setting at La Mision to come back to. Rivas is the gateway to activities in the south of Nicaragua to include the Pacific Beaches, Ometepe (Island) and a short distance to Costa Rica. La Mision is in a perfect position for all that is and will happen there. Allian and his staff make me feel like "family" with Breakfast included with a large room with AC for 1/3 the cost of places in Managua. I'll be there in November and booking my room right now!! Look forward to morning Coffee and a lovely breakfast with guests and staff.

Room Tip: There are only 3 (I believe) suite rooms and I always ask for "MY room"...#3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redsoxsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is without question the best hotel in Rivas. Don't stay anywhere else!! Lovely Colonial building in great shape & a true home from home. I've stayed all over the world & love this place. Welcoming & very hospitable owner and whilst a Nicaraguan National, speaks perfect English & with loads of local knowledge to pass on. Nice rooms, clean & tidy & very friendly all round. Great breakfast (not the usual rice & beans stuff, try the egg florentine) & within a very short walk of the town centre. The owner is a first class chap & Rivas is a nice little town so convenient to the Costa Rican border. I'll be back soon

Room Tip: All rooms great, for a bargain, the room by the kitchen, for privacy, the room with a balcony &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller10538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We made a reservation via email at hotel la Mision. Since we did not get confirmation, we called and asked about the small suite. The receptionist on the phone said that it was 20 to 25 USD, and the large suite for 40usd. We said that the small suite was fine for as long as we had TV,hot water and AC. On the same day of our arrival, the owner called and said that he had a nice suite ready for us. Upon arrival, they showed us a suite with a queen and 2 single beds for a price of 60 usd, but the owner said that because it was "us", he was going to let us have it for 50usd.
When we said that we have reserved the small suite for 20 to 25 usd, she explained that it was already taken. It did not matter that we have made a reservation over the phone and via e mail, now the price was 50usd. Although other people on Trip Advisor complimented the great customer service they got at La Mision, that was not our experience, and we walked away.
The place was cleaned and tiddy, and the suite they showed us had a huge bathroom and AC, but we were unhappy with the way they managed our booking and felt that they price their rooms by the face of the customer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara93108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We found La mision through tripadvisor and were glad for it. It is located in a beautiful colonial building in the centre of Rivas and the rooms are very nicely decorated. We had the room closest to the reception area, which was a great room with a more than huge bed, nice tv and airco.

The owner is very nice and tries to make you feel right at home. He even drove us to the busstop himself when our taxi didn't show up on time! He also had an excellent restaurant recommendation. A bit on the expensive site, but the T-bone steak house was absolutely worth it. We had a nicely cooked smooth steak and a very nice thai chicken on sugarcane.

It was a bit of a challenge finding contactinformation for the hotel in the internet, but you will be able to reach the hotel at misionmiranda@gmail.com or through telnr 25630384/84902072, the owner speaks perfect English.

Room Tip: room next to receptionarea was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marieke_KMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at la Mision for 3 days and want to recomend it. It was a wonderfult stay. The owner and the staff wre very helpful and friendly. La Mision is on a quiet street and easy walkig to town. We enjoyed very much the breakfast in the morning. The rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nefertiti54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Mision. This cozy place has only 5 rooms, a beautiful courtyard a small bar area and dining room. It is located in Rivas, which is very close to the two volcanoes, the lake and many other tourism attractions. The owner of the hotel spent some time in Miami studying Hospitality, speaks English very well and knows what great hospitality looks like.

The staff was great, rooms were clean and an excellent breakfast was provided in the morning. We look forward to going back. We know that the team at La Mision will take care of us and make sure we see all the beautiful sites in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
Thank Kaskante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rivas hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Julieta
Hotel Julieta
#7 of 8 in Rivas
19 reviews
0 mi away
Melting Elefante
Melting Elefante
#1 of 8 in Rivas
57 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Dalinky
Hotel Dalinky
#2 of 8 in Rivas
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Suenos del Mar
Hostal Suenos del Mar
#4 of 10 in Rivas
28 reviews
0 mi away
The Surf Sanctuary
The Surf Sanctuary
#1 of 10 in Rivas
46 reviews
0 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#7 of 10 in Rivas
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mision? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mision

Address: Esquina Opesta Casa Cural Ig. Sn. Francisco, Rivas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Rivas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rivas
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel La Mision Nicaragua/Rivas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing