We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to be back”
Review of Pacific Rendezvous

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Rendezvous
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Happy to be back”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We never go out to the Tutakaka Coast without a stop over at the Pacific Rendezvous Motel. The setting is nothing short of amazing, atop a peninsula with water views to die for. Even though it was a rainy night, we were cosy, warm and happy as clams. We rented a dvd from the wee shop for $2, pulled back into the old fashioned lazy-boy chairs and watched a bad movie! Contented and delighted and so happy to be there. The owners are what New Zealanders are famous for: friendly, kind, helpful and as easy going as is possible. There was a lot of noise from the neighbouring kids when we first arrived, because the next unit was crammed with kids. The shower plumbing fixtures may be a bit difficult to negotiate for visitors from overseas, (slightly 70's) but that is to quibble. Peaceful and recommended.

Room Tip: facing the ocean, not the bay, though more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dibbyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    121
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
221
289
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

There must be few places like Pacific Rendezvous with affordable accommodation in an exquisite location. We picked this place by chance but have already booked a return visit with family and friends and would highly recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful getaway with brilliant facilities. Clean, well kept pool and spa, easily accessible access to private beaches. Thank you Pacific Rendezvous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We discovered this place by chance after having to change our itinerary due to illness and what a stroke of good fortune it was! I cannot think of anywhere I have stayed that could improve on the natural beauty of Pacific Rendezvous. We stayed (one night only, sadly) in one of the two storey units with the most glorious views of land, sky and Pacific ocean. The unit was comfortable, clean and well equipped and the owners/managers friendly and helpful. Nice pool and spa too. We were so sorry to leave and would definitely stay again if we come back to NZ.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I live in Whangarei but always love staying at this place, it has some of the most stunning views of any motel I have ever staying in, in New Zealand and around the world, great facilties, friendly staff and fishing and diving right on their doorstep, very reasonable rates also

Room Tip: The rooms facing South, East and North are the pick of the lot
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was my first trip to Tutukaka and unfortunately we could only stay one night but we wish we could have stayed for a week. It is such an amazing place and Pacific Rendezvous is such a great place to stay. The units had all we needed for our stay and the views from our unit and our other parties unit was amazing - we will definitely book a longer stay next time

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupiri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in unit 18, it had an incredible view which the master bedroom looked out over. You can see the poor knights islands from here and the lounge and deck. The deck was cool for meals with table and chairs and open plan to the lounge so you can hang out well after the kids have gone inside. The rooms were spacious and really tidy, A large kitchen and bathroom. The pool and spas and games room were a great addition as well. I would definitely go back. I thought the price was incredibly reasonable and the managers were really helpful and friendly. It's a two minute walk down to a private beach and a two minute drive into Tutukaka as well. The view is soo worth it!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CraigTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have stayed in many beautiful places but the unit we stayed in had the best view I have ever encountered. The unit (10) was spotless and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this motel for anyone who wants a special getaway. They have their own private beach which is only for those staying at the motel. The surrounding area is just so beautiful. Also very convenient for anyone wanting to dive the Poor Knights Islands.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view if you want to have the best. Units 9 - 12 are identical. The sunrise comes dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutukaka
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
13.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
14.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Light House Lookout
The Light House Lookout
#2 of 3 in Tutukaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Rendezvous

Property: Pacific Rendezvous
Address: 73 Motel Road, Tutukaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Rendezvous 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Rendezvous is located in the heart of an exciting stretch of Northland coastline - just 30 minutes drive from Whangarei City. Sited in a comanding position on a peninsula jutting out into the blue Pacific, the Resort overlooks the whole of Tutukaka Harbour with a breathtaking ocean panorama across the deep sea fishing grounds from the historic Poor Knights Islands to the Hen & Chicken Islands. A coastal area where man and nature combine to provide a whole host of things to do - swimming - boating - fishing - surfing - scuba diving - sightseeing and trips to the Poor Knights Islands marine reserve. Deep sea fishing, exciting beaches to discover and explore. Something for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Rendezvous Hotel Tutukaka
Pacific Rendezvous Whangarei
Pacific Rendezvous Hotel Whangarei
Pacific Rendezvous Tutukaka, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing