We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resturant. Fantastic location ”
Review of Wahi Restaurant

Wahi Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Tutukaka
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wahi means 'Place' in Maori. Our menu is dictated by season and we incorporate a mix of tapas style offerings and a la carte options. We have 3 function rooms to cater for 30, 60 or up to 120
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great resturant. Fantastic location ”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Tutukaka is something of an undiscovered gem in northland. This resturant is in the sleepy little marina of Tutukaka associated with the only hotel in the port. Given that one would not expect superior service or food but quite the opposite. Each was fantastic. We had server all meals here as a family in early April this year and really enjoyed them. The calm warm April evenings and eating outside added to the experience. If in Tutukaka plan a meal here. Worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meals - generous servings”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very good quality meals and lovely staff make your Oceans restaurant & hotel experience very enjoyable and relaxing.
The food generally in the north is so good and my risotto was amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ihunt4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Oceans Restaurant & Bar”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent food, great atmosphere and good service. Had three evening meals here and each of them were excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food average”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The first day for breakfast was very good. General breakfast foods, plus muffins and crossants.
Day 2 and 3, just general breakfast food, cereal, yoghurt, etc, but no peaches, as on day 1, even though they were requested and no muffins or crossants. So food was average. Dinner was better. We had one meal there. The service was not great, as the waiter got our meal wrong, and did not have much confidence. I wonder if this was because we had a voucher for hotel and breakfast meal..........?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected ”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Decided where to have dinner with my family based on there online menu.
Because there kids menu seemed the best we decided to ear here.
Unfortunately the menu presented to us at the restaurant was different and we're told that they would not honour their online menu.
Meal ended up costing us $30 more because if their indiscretion.
Would have gone somewhere else but not an option with 2 kids.
Food was nice.
Atmosphere nice.
Pity about the lack of understanding from the staff.
Average - will not go again, pity.

Helpful?
Thank JonBuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jonathan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our little restaurant here in Tutukaka. Of course we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and the service. We really do try to make all of our guests feel as welcomed and relaxed as possible, when it comes to Children well we just Adour the fact that we are a family restaurant. Our Kids menu was written by kids for kids and our back office area is filled with pictures that the children have coloured for us. Children have a way of keeping things real.
We are of course disappointed that there is an old menu still circulating on our website and will be contacting our guys to find out why this is still loading.
I don't believe we didn't honour it because we didn't want to, we were unable to honour the old menu because we didn't have those items. Oceans prides itself on using only fresh ingredients in our menu, in fact our walk in freezer looks quite silly and way to big as we don't use it really.

If we had been able to we really would have done it. But as these items were not here and due to our location the ability to get the items was near impossible. It is a shame that since you did enjoy the food and the service that you say you won't come back. I hope that you change your mind and that we are able to welcome you back.

Our team appreciates all of our reviews and we appreciate that you took the time to write yours. We hope to have this online menu problem resolved as quickly as possible and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Warmest regards and much appreciation,

Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahi Restaurant also viewed

Tutukaka, Northland Region
Tutukaka, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region
Northland Region, North Island
 
Ngunguru, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Wahi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing