We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceans Restaurant & Bar”
Review of Wahi Restaurant

Wahi Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Tutukaka
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wahi means 'Place' in Maori. Our menu is dictated by season and we incorporate a mix of tapas style offerings and a la carte options. We have 3 function rooms to cater for 30, 60 or up to 120
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent food, great atmosphere and good service. Had three evening meals here and each of them were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndrewUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

The first day for breakfast was very good. General breakfast foods, plus muffins and crossants.
Day 2 and 3, just general breakfast food, cereal, yoghurt, etc, but no peaches, as on day 1, even though they were requested and no muffins or crossants. So food was average. Dinner was better. We had one meal there. The service was not great, as the waiter got our meal wrong, and did not have much confidence. I wonder if this was because we had a voucher for hotel and breakfast meal..........?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marilyn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Decided where to have dinner with my family based on there online menu.
Because there kids menu seemed the best we decided to ear here.
Unfortunately the menu presented to us at the restaurant was different and we're told that they would not honour their online menu.
Meal ended up costing us $30 more because if their indiscretion.
Would have gone somewhere else but not an option with 2 kids.
Food was nice.
Atmosphere nice.
Pity about the lack of understanding from the staff.
Average - will not go again, pity.

Thank JonBuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Jonathan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our little restaurant here in Tutukaka. Of course we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and the service. We really do try to make all of our guests feel as welcomed and relaxed as possible, when it comes to Children well we just Adour the fact that we are a family restaurant. Our Kids menu was written by kids for kids and our back office area is filled with pictures that the children have coloured for us. Children have a way of keeping things real.
We are of course disappointed that there is an old menu still circulating on our website and will be contacting our guys to find out why this is still loading.
I don't believe we didn't honour it because we didn't want to, we were unable to honour the old menu because we didn't have those items. Oceans prides itself on using only fresh ingredients in our menu, in fact our walk in freezer looks quite silly and way to big as we don't use it really.

If we had been able to we really would have done it. But as these items were not here and due to our location the ability to get the items was near impossible. It is a shame that since you did enjoy the food and the service that you say you won't come back. I hope that you change your mind and that we are able to welcome you back.

Our team appreciates all of our reviews and we appreciate that you took the time to write yours. We hope to have this online menu problem resolved as quickly as possible and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Warmest regards and much appreciation,

Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A lovely dinner out during our weekend at tutukaka. Enjoyed it and the staff were friendly, although the service was a bit disjointed.

Thank rob and julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Rob and Julie S,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant and taking the time to write it. All our reviews mean a lot to us here.

We are of course thrilled that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that one day you will pop in again and see us.

Our aim is to always provide a welcoming, friendly and safe environment for our guests and I am glad that this showed through. The disjointed service is of course a regret to all concerned, our team is young and very eager and sometimes this enthusiasm towards service can become our downfall. This is something that we can work on and we appreciate your comments. Anything we are able to do to improve we are going to try, we are very lucky in the fact that our team are always willing to improve and work together to create a better restaurant. Very much like a family.

Warmest regards and again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

...we decided to take a chance and eat; not that we needed any more food; it was truly an excellent place to shelter form the rain; seafood chowder of the highest quality and very good service..

Thank Trevor-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear TrevorTJ,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are of mixed feelings when it rains, YAY our personal water tanks will get filled and Tutukaka will end up all shiny after a good bit of rain. We also love the fact that we are able to light the fire in the restaurant, have some music playing and eat hearty food. These are all the positives of rain.

We are very lucky here to have our seafood arriving fresh and our chowder benefits from that! Big chunks of fresh seafood, a creamy base and homemade chunky bread.......on a rainy day it is the perfect choice. (Getting hungry just writing that)

We all hope that we are able to welcome you back here to our little slice of paradise and again thank you for your review, the reviews do mean a lot to our entire team.

Warmest regards,

Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahi Restaurant also viewed

Tutukaka, Northland Region
Tutukaka, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region
Northland Region, North Island
 

Been to Wahi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing