We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely dinner”
Review of Wahi Restaurant

Wahi Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Tutukaka
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wahi means 'Place' in Maori. Our menu is dictated by season and we incorporate a mix of tapas style offerings and a la carte options. We have 3 function rooms to cater for 30, 60 or up to 120
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A lovely dinner out during our weekend at tutukaka. Enjoyed it and the staff were friendly, although the service was a bit disjointed.

Thank rob and julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Rob and Julie S,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant and taking the time to write it. All our reviews mean a lot to us here.

We are of course thrilled that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that one day you will pop in again and see us.

Our aim is to always provide a welcoming, friendly and safe environment for our guests and I am glad that this showed through. The disjointed service is of course a regret to all concerned, our team is young and very eager and sometimes this enthusiasm towards service can become our downfall. This is something that we can work on and we appreciate your comments. Anything we are able to do to improve we are going to try, we are very lucky in the fact that our team are always willing to improve and work together to create a better restaurant. Very much like a family.

Warmest regards and again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

...we decided to take a chance and eat; not that we needed any more food; it was truly an excellent place to shelter form the rain; seafood chowder of the highest quality and very good service..

Thank Trevor-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear TrevorTJ,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are of mixed feelings when it rains, YAY our personal water tanks will get filled and Tutukaka will end up all shiny after a good bit of rain. We also love the fact that we are able to light the fire in the restaurant, have some music playing and eat hearty food. These are all the positives of rain.

We are very lucky here to have our seafood arriving fresh and our chowder benefits from that! Big chunks of fresh seafood, a creamy base and homemade chunky bread.......on a rainy day it is the perfect choice. (Getting hungry just writing that)

We all hope that we are able to welcome you back here to our little slice of paradise and again thank you for your review, the reviews do mean a lot to our entire team.

Warmest regards,

Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Surprisingly good. Fish of the day excellent. Ditto steak, blue cheese and leek crumble, burger and kids fish & chips. 'Pumpkin and mushroom' risotto edible but no visible sign of pumpkin and though pleasantly edible, it was disappointing. Caramelised peaches for pudding seemed to be enjoyed by children of 10&13. Adults in our party all had the delicious fig and walnut tart, though it was very rich and only the greedy amongst us finished a whole one. Service friendly. Atmosphere adequate, not as good as Schnappa down the road, but the food more than made up for it.

Thank FamilyRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear FamilyRLondon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our little restaurant here in Tutukaka. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope that one day we are able to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise.
We really do love what we do and we love our food so to know that you also enjoyed your meal was fantastic to read. Our kids menu was actually written by kids for kids, then we threw some green stuff in. It was strange that of all the children that submitted their ideas for our menu not one had green salad.........

Again thank you for taking the time to write your review


Warmest regards

Sarah Shields
General Manager
Oceans Restaurant and Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've just had dinner at Oceans, Tutukaka. Amazing food (perfectly cooked lamb loin chops and eye fillet steak, accompanied by excellent fresh seasonal vegetables) - compliments to the chef. Excellent wait staff too, very pleasant and helpful. The meal arrived promptly and was beautifully presented. Highly recommended. (And the rice pudding for dessert, OMG, absolutely sensational)!! Will definitely come again.
Update: We returned two nights later - I had the lamb chops / rice pudding meal again, it was just so good it was worthy of the repetition and did not disappoint second time round. My husband had fresh fish (apparently caught that day and just delivered 20 mins prior) and was very happy with it. Again, staff very friendly and on their game, meals delivered with perfect timing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j12k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of Oceans Restaurant j12k and of course the entire team were thrilled to have read it! Made us keep our shoulders back for the entire day so thank you!

We are very lucky to have John and Alana provide us with our fresh fish here at Oceans, there are some days when we are all on tender hooks (please excuse the pun) waiting for it to arrive, but it is ALWAYS worth it!!!! You can't beat fresh fish, that is one of the reasons why you come to Tutukaka.

I too am fond of the Lamb dish and will admit to having more than my fair share of it at times, but continue to tell myself that it is a requirement of my job:)

We hope that we are able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future.


Warmest regards and again much appreciation for taking the time to review our restaurant.


Sarah Shields
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I had an early dinner here. The staff were polite, and seated us promptly. The food was good, but we didn't stay long.
We returned a few days later for lunch with our family. We all ordered burgers which were great. The only downside was my chicken burger seemed a little undercooked to me. It may have been cooked enough, but I didn't want to risk it so I asked for it to be cooked more. The waitress was really polite and apologetic and had it recooked without any more problems.
Seems a little pricey, but it is a nice looking restaurant in a nice looking marina.

Thank CookieM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Wahi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear CookieMOnster (LOVE the name!!!)

Thank you for coming to Oceans Restaurant and Bar whilst you were here in our little slice of paradise. We hope you enjoyed your stay and judging from the date you wrote this you had some magic weather whilst here. (Not unusual for this area)
The team and I were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your burgers, they are one of my personal favourites. I am also happy to read that you concerns regarding the chicken were remedied quickly and without fuss by our team. Our guests are the reason that we open our doors everyday so whatever we are able to do to make your experience a good one, we are going to do our best to do.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, (We have ordered the weather as well:) ) I also want to thank you for taking the time to write your review, it means a lot to all of the team.

Kindest regards,

Sarah Shields
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahi Restaurant also viewed

Tutukaka, Northland Region
Tutukaka, Northland Region
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region
Northland Region, North Island
 

Been to Wahi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing