We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable experience”
Review of Dive Tutukaka

Dive Tutukaka
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Tutukaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The longest standing family-run dive company around; with a number of boats, professional crew, and every day all year round trips to the Poor Knights Islands. Passionate about the environment, conservation, for divers, snorkellers, and sightseers.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unmissable experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was lucky enough to have two days of diving with the Dive Tutukaka team. It was my first experience of diving in 'cooler' water (only tropical waters before), but the team did their utmost to explain how the diving here differs. The sealife is extraordinary - the sheer quantity and size. The groups that go out can be quite large (up to 18 divers on the days i was there) so everyone getting kitted up at the same time on the boats can be quite chaotic and awkward, but at all other times there is plenty of room on the boats - whatever you choose to do. I would definitely dive with them again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    58
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great first-time dive!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a great day with the Dive team. We were both first time divers. Renee, our guide, spent a lot of time both instructing us aboard the vessel towards Poor Knights and guiding us under water. My girlfriend was quite anxious to get in and after trying decided to get out of the water. The team were very supportive and helpful to her, and I was directly able to continue with a private lesson which was brilliant. The morning snorkeling (with kayaking and paddle boarding being other options, realistically expect two activities in your day trip) and great stories by our skipper completed an excellent day. We did a lot of cool activities during our New Zealand holiday, and this just might be top of the list. I would definately recommend this trip for other first time divers who would like to try diving in the beautiful Poor Knights region.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great dive!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our day diving with Dive Tutukaka. It's a really well run operation, clearly highly experienced and well managed. The staff were really friendly - especially skipper Sam - all very informative about the area etc. Given the number of people diving that day we felt the group was split down into good size groups (4) based on experience which was nice as we're novices and hadn't dived in a while so it really helped put us at ease. In particular we also appreciated that the dive doesn't end when the first diver runs out of air - something that's happened on all our other dives and is really annoying because one of us uses air really quickly (dive times of 25-35 mins on average) and the other exceptionally slowly (one of the dives that day was an hour long and only ended due to cold). We really enjoyed our day and would add our voices to all the others recommending this company, and Poor Knights as a location to dive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Dive and free dive.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The poor knight are beautifull. I have been able to free dive while my wife was diving. This would never apen in europe because of bureaucracy. So bye this way, she was able to go as deep as I go. It have been a great adventure. We dive in caves, we have seen snaples, sting ray, king fish...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thibault S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“World Class Diving”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had just an amazing day! Luke and his crew, especially our guide Maria, were brilliant from start to finish - we aren't that experienced and were made to feel completely comfortable and supported at every step. In terms of the dives themselves, it was breath-taking. Literally thousands of fish along with lichens and kelps that were far more colourful than I had expected in a non-coral area. I would imagine that this dive site and company would impress even the most experienced of divers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kath_Sewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Tutukaka also viewed

Tutukaka, Northland Region
Tutukaka, Northland Region
 
Northland Region, North Island
 

Been to Dive Tutukaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing