We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Fantastic views, staff were very attentive and welcoming”
Review of Sands Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tutukaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Tutukaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I could not fault The Sands. I stayed there with my husband for our wedding anniversary and it was magic. The staff were very attentive and met our needs while also repecting our privacy. I would go so far to stay that I wish we had discovered this place before our wedding as it would be an ideal wedding venue. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaliRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

The magic of the view (only barely tempered the sub-par furnishings, limp and lumpy mattresses, and stained towels) was cruelly shattered when the we were ordered to leave well before checkout time. We vacated the room and, while waiting for our cab outside on the deck, we were unceremoniously booted off the property without even the tiniest attempt at civility.

By far the rudest we have ever been treated anywhere in the world.

PS. The Internet is slow and only works if you sit outside the office door.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraPutt, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

When these guests arrived the night before they asked for a late check out and were informed that we had a full house the next day so couldn't do. They were reminded at 9.50 that check out time was 10am as it was obvious that they were in no hurry to leave. They continued to ignore us and finally left the premises at 1pm. We feel that this review is just a case of these guests not getting their own way as they were just killing time waiting for members of their party to return from a diving trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

we stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Furnishings were basic, but more than acceptable. location was amazing. Few feet from the sea. Be warned it is a few miles awa from Tutukaka. We got a taxi as we fancied a drink, but you really need a car to stay here. A thoroughly enjoyable two night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank apokalyptika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tutukaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
665 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
1.3 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Light House Lookout
The Light House Lookout
#2 of 3 in Tutukaka
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 48 Whangaumu Street | Tutukaka, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tutukaka
Price Range: $89 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sands Motel Tutukaka, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing