We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location - Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - Great hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 3 times at Oceans now and each time for some local diving. The staff are fun, friendly and go out of their way to cater for your individual needs. The rooms are very comfortable and have beautiful views. The restaurant menu has good variety and the meals are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihunt4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    74
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
27
125
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
338 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A three day stay at this hotel where you can only get a choice of full cooked breakfast at the weekend other than that it is continental or egg and bacon with toast.
The hotel had just been taken over by quality and the staff seemed to be in some disarray though were very helpful.
The curtains on one window in the room were right by the heater which I felt was dangerous and no hand towels were provided simply a facecloth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or one at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueeyesnz, General Manager at Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear AndrewUK2013,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write you review of our hotel, it is really appreciated by all of our small team here.
I do understand that you felt the curtain and heater thing is dangerous, however I can assure you this is not the case at all. I wish that you had spoken with us regarding your concern about it as we would have been able to relieve this and you would have been more relaxed about your stay. The type of heating we use here (on the few days that it is required) is very, very safe but remains very effective.
In regard to the Quality Hotel. This isn't a take over at all. We are still the same little team working in paradise. Nothing has changed in the way we do things apart from our name. As you would have witnessed when here, Tutukaka (though magical) is a small little place. By aligning ourselves with the Quality Marketing brand we are opening up our advertising to ensure more and more people learn about Tutukaka and Oceans.
Our breakfast during the winter months is different to that of summer. During the weekend we are open fully. However during the week days we offer our guests Bacon and Eggs, cooked to their liking for only $10.00 (we have yet to find an establishment doing it cheaper), our guests also can decide on the buffet continental breakfast, again only $10.00. We have really tried hard to keep this as low as possible in cost for our guests.
Of course we are disappointed that you found disarray with our team members but are thrilled that you found them helpful. Our guests mean a lot to us.
We are also disappointed to read that you thought you didn't receive value during your stay. Our room rates are $99 to $149 during this time of year and breakfast is only $10, we believe we are by far one of the most cheaper options for staying in Northland. Our rates are lower than many of the camp grounds.

As for the handtowels, I apologize for this. We have no record of your request for one either so this is something that we will look into. On the occasions that none have been provided by our supplier, we will ensure that extra towels are put into each room. Sometime being out here on the coast has it draw backs, (like when we don't receive things), but we believe it is a small price to pay for the view and place we get to be a part of.

Again I thank you for your review and I hope that the rest of your travels were a fabulous and safe one.


Warmest regards,

Sarah Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend while doing a dive course. Rooms were large and well heated. Breakfast was cheap and plentiful, decent meal for dinner and wine not too expensive.

Only sight grumbles were that the pillows were those flat ones where one is too low and two is too many. Also the bathroom supplies are not replaced, so for anything more than a night you need to bring your own.

Staff were friendly and the service was good. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Marina side has a better view but all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great value hotel right on a beautiful marina. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious. Very cheap! Staff were lovely and friendly. We ate from the restaurant downstairs and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend Oceans

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here on Friday night just gone, my Mum and I and my baby and had room 308.
Good points: Easy to find, great sized room, upgraded to a marina room (paid for a hill side room) and so very grateful for that as the view was fantastic! Thank you, chef heated up our baby food without hesitation, thank you!, love that the windows in the room open up bi-fold, staff that we saw were friendly and well priced.

Improvement points: No help or offer of help with our bags, no mention of wifi?, no compendium in room (first time I've ever had this), no shower cap on offer (and nothing avail when I rang reception) and hallways a bit bland.

Otherwise very warm and room was extremely suitable to our needs.

Thank you Oceans!

Room Tip: Room 308 has a great view of the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My stay at oceans was one night in preparation to heading out to the Poor Knights to scuba dive.
We took one of the 2 bedroom appartments.Frankly the place is huge.2 bedrooms,two bathrooms kitchen laundry and lounge. room. the patio is as big as a back garden in most city houses nowadays. Frankly you could easilly live there
i got the impression it had been recently refurbished but we were assured that wasn't the case.That shows how well looked after the place is.
Rooms were warm on a cold winter night and the beds were comfortable.Plenty of extra bedding too.
breakfast in the morning was exactly what we needed -well presented and perfectly cooked.
Service was a bit casual -almost like "island time" in Fiji but everything happened as we requested so no complaints.
I wouldn't stay here if I wanted to be pampered and fussed over But as a comfortable base to explore the area i give it 10 out of 10
We stayed in room 106 which gave easy access out to the waterfront
just one point-make sure every key has the swipe card on it.or you'll be having a big walk to get back in

Room Tip: if with kids -sacrificing the view in exchange for the huge patio is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

While the room facilities are modern and clean, the lack of air-conditioning made for a stifling sleepless night, even during rainy April autumn weather.

However the thing that really spoilt our stay was the appalling rudeness and arrogance of one of the staff. After our early evening arrival we sat down with two other couples for a very pleasant dinner and drinks in the hotel restaurant. To finish off, around 9.45pm we ordered cups of tea and a couple of beers, only to be told that no alcohol would be served as the bar was now closed. Not only was this 75 minutes before the licensed closing time, but we had been given no warning or any chance for last orders.

The so-called Bar Manager said it was a slow night and her decision and hers alone to close early. The fact that we were guests of the hotel was "your problem, not mine." Even when the General Manager appeared and agreed that we should have been given prior notice, there was no attempt to make amends, nor even a hint of an apology.

All six of us were appalled at the lack of customer service and contemptuous attitude displayed and we definitely won't be recommending the Oceans Resort to anybody else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogjoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutukaka
1.0 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
13.6 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Light House Lookout
The Light House Lookout
#2 of 3 in Tutukaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka

Property: Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
Address: Marina Road, Tutukaka 0173, New Zealand (Formerly Oceans Resort & Hotel Tutukaka)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Tutukaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tutukaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Northland's Tutukaka Coast, our friendly, relaxed hotel has well-appointed rooms and apartments with sunny terraces, salt water pool, a light, airy bar overlooking the marina and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel has free Wi-Fi, Sky TV Guest Select, free parking, BBQ, tour desk and luggage storage. Rooms include coffee and tea making facilities, modem connection, satellite TV, bathtub and shower. Just 90 minutes from the Bay of Islands, Tutukaka is the gateway to the Poor Knights Islands Marine Reserve, rated as one of the world's top 10 dive sites. Other activities include kayaking, sailing, fishing, day cruises, snorkeling, horse riding and golf. A unique, private setting for a special wedding ceremony, event or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort And Hotel Tutukaka
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing